Courseulles-sur-Mer (Calvados)
AO1 Round 1 project. Originally scheduled for 2024/2025 commissioning, now late 2027. Located off the Bessin coast in Normandy (Calvados).
Status
Under Constructionlifecycle stage
DeliveringHafrok completion outlook
Ownership
Location
English Channel
Technology
Capacity
448 MW ◆
Turbines
64 × 7 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Swt 7-0-154 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
France Offshore Wind Round 1 (AO1) · 2012 ·
Water depth
22–31 m ◆
Distance from shore
10 km ◆
Wind speed
8.5 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
PPA ◆
Grid
Secured · 2024-01 ◆
Connection
RTE Ranville substation (24km underground link from … ◆
Schedule
FID
Feb 2021 ◆
COD · announced
2027 ◆
COD · Hafrok
2027 expected
Delivery outlook modelled by Hafrok · calibrated on delivered projects
2027
expected year of commercial operation
Chance of delivery
≈98%
estimated chance this project reaches commercial operation
Under Construction projects complete ≈97% of the time on Hafrok's record. A secured offtake contract lifts this one slightly; a market with a thinner delivery record and technical complexity pull a little the other way.
COD outlook
If it completes, when — Hafrok’s probability by year (teal) · the developer’s COD guidance, by date stated (ink)
| Year | Probability |
|---|---|
| 2027 (expected) | 86.7% |
| 2028 | 13.3% |
| Stated | Announced COD |
|---|---|
| 2021-02-22 | 2024 |
| 2023-07-31 | 2025-Q3 |
| 2025-07-09 | 2027 |
How Hafrok got this date
1
Starting point: the last dated milestone
Construction start in
2021. From there Hafrok adds how long similar projects (in developing offshore-wind markets) took to reach commercial operation, measured on projects that have delivered.2
Typical timing
Starting point plus the typical remaining time gives a middle estimate of
2024; the faster quarter of similar projects would be done by 2023, the slower quarter not until 2024 Q3. Dates already in the past are moved up to today — this project has run beyond the typical timing.3
Result
Expected commercial operation
2027, likely range 2025–2027 (the middle half of outcomes for similar projects). The developer's announced date falls inside that likely range, so the announced date is adopted.4
Year-by-year chart
The bars spread that estimate across years using how similar projects actually slipped against their dates — more often late than early, which is why the bars lean right.
5
Chance of delivery — separate from timing
Start from the share of Under Construction projects that went on to complete — ≈97%, measured on Hafrok's record of delivered and abandoned projects, with an allowance held back where that record cannot yet speak (projects still unresolved, changed market conditions). Based on the measured record — all 257 construction starts with a final outcome reached operation — adjusted down for projects still mid-build and for legal-challenge risk. Then adjust for this project's own evidence — offtake, market, size, technical complexity — to ≈98%, which rates it
Delivering on Hafrok's four-step delivery scale (Delivering · Expected · Prospective · Fragile).Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2012-04
France Offshore Wind Round 1 (AO1)
- Awarded to
- EDF Renouvelables + Enbridge + wpd
- Basis
- integrated tender
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
JV entry · 2016-05
EDF Renewables → Enbridge 42.5%
- Stake
- 42.5%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2016-05
- Project stage
- consented
Enbridge acquired a 50% stake in Éolien Maritime France SAS (EMF), which held 85% of Courseulles-sur-Mer (the remaining 15% being held by wpd as original co-developer). Post-transaction, Enbridge's effective stake in Courseulles was ~42.5% (50% of EMF's 85%). The total EMF consideration was CAD 282 million (~EUR 191m) for all three EMF projects. The combined payment was undifferentiated; individual project allocation is not possible. See Saint-Nazaire and Fécamp companion records. All three projects held 20-year PPAs from the French state at the time of this transaction.
Evidence
- edf.fr — EDF Group signs a strategic partnership with Enbridge for the three first offshore wind farms projects off the French coast - 2016/05/10 | Groupe EDF ↗ 2016-05 ◆ held
- enbridge.com — Calvados Offshore Wind Project ↗ 2020-05 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Farmdown · 2020-05
Enbridge → CPP Investments 20.8%
- Stake
- 20.8%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2020-05
- Closed
- 2020-Q4
- Project stage
- pre-FID
As part of the multi-project EMF transaction, Enbridge sold 49% of its effective 42.5% stake in Courseulles-sur-Mer to CPP Investments (49% of 42.5% ≈ 20.8%), reducing Enbridge's direct share to ~21.7%. Total consideration for all three EMF projects was approximately EUR 80m upfront plus EUR 120m follow-on; deal value cannot be disaggregated by project. FID for Courseulles-sur-Mer was taken in February 2021, after this transaction closed (announced May 2020, closed Q4 2020). Courseulles remains under construction as of 2026 with COD expected late 2027, delayed from 2025 due to a faulty Saipem drilling tool. Ownership post-transaction: EDF Renewables 42.5%, Enbridge 21.7%, CPP Investments 20.8%, wpd 15%.
Evidence
- offshoreWIND.biz — Enbridge Selling Part of Stake in French Offshore Wind Projects ↗ 2020-05 ◆ held
- enbridge.com — Calvados Offshore Wind Project ↗ 2020-05 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The ▲ below the spine is the developer-announced COD. The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced COD: slipped so far +3.0 yr (first announced 2024) · the full guidance history is in the delivery chart above
Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day
448 MW contracted — tender award
● Tender award · France Offshore Wind Round 1 (AO1)
Price€138.7/MWh ·Capacity448 MWAwardedApr 2012Term20 yrs
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite installation tracker
counted from satellite radar images · a structure standing in the sea on a given date, not a turbine producing power · a guide, not a sourced fact
Installation · counted from satellite
Foundations26 of 64≈41% · first seen 2023-03-22 · 1 seen recently, not yet confirmed
Turbines13 of 64≈20% · first seen 2023-03-29
Latest count2026-08-31from 628 satellite passes · 1 substation platform left out so the counts compare with the turbine number · anything first seen in the last 60 days is not yet confirmed
Hafrok counts foundations and turbines from satellite radar images (≈): a structure is counted once it is seen standing in the sea, which is not the same as producing power. A structure first seen in the last 60 days is not yet confirmed, because on a single image a freshly set foundation and a ship holding position look alike. Substation platforms are left out so the counts compare with the number of turbines. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers; a supplier or contract appears only where a source states it — everything else reads “not recorded”, never guessed.
Structures standing over time · count
strong line = confirmed · light line = seen in the last 60 days, not yet confirmed · the chart counts every structure (64 turbines + 1 platform); the table counts turbines only
foundationsturbines up (a substation top being set in place counts here too)
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-06≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed26 confirmed · 1 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-08-31 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortLe Havre ◆·assembly · quay 400 m · draft 12 m
PortCaen-Ouistreham ◆o and m
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-06
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (26)seen recently, not yet confirmed (1)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationCalvados / Courseulles-sur-Mer offshore substation (poste électrique en mer)·under construction · owner unknown
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) and the year Hafrok expects (teal band) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
Sources & verification
18/19 fields verified · rests on 16 sources (12 primary) · ◆ 8 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator9
[2]
EDF Renewables / Enbridge / wpd (via PR Newswire)2021-02-22
“EDF Renewables, a subsidiary of the EDF Group, EIH S.à r.l, a subsidiary of Enbridge Inc., and wpd, a European renewable energies company, are announcing the launch of construction activity on the Cal…”
supportsFinal investment decisionOnshore constructionOffshore constructionMechanismDetail+3 more
[3]
Enbridge Inc.2025
“Enbridge and its partners, EDF Renewables and Skyborn, are developing the Courseulles (Calvados) Offshore Wind Project… 448 megawatts… 64 turbines (7-MW Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy units)… 10 kilo…”
supportsTurbinesUnit capacityTotal capacityDistance from shore
[7]
Parc Eolien en Mer du Calvados (EDF Renewables operator site)2025
“The electrical substation was successfully installed in March 2023. Complete commissioning of the park is planned for end of 2027. Foundation installation began from end of 2024.”
supportsStatusConnection point
[8]
Parc Eolien en Mer du Calvados (EDF Renewables operator site)2025
“April 2012: EDF Power Solutions consortium selected via competitive bid… June 2018: Presidential confirmation of three offshore wind projects… July 2019: State Council validated final administrative a…”
supportsBackground
[9]
Batinfo (citing EDF Power Solutions / AFP)2025-07-09◆ Two-year postponement for the commission…
“EDF stated the delay is 'not due to unforeseen seabed conditions.' The commissioning of the Calvados offshore wind farm has been pushed back to end of 2027, a delay of just over two years… 64 wind tur…”
supportsCommercial operationCOD history
[13]
Enbridge2025
“Enbridge has a 21.7% ownership stake in the Courseulles (Calvados) Offshore Wind Project, which is expected to enter service in 2027.”
supportssponsor
[16]
EDF2025-07-24◆ EDF Renewables — half year results trans…
“Finally, in terms of renewable energy projects, the half-year was marked by several significant events. The resumption of work on the Calvados offshore wind farm, where we were running a little over 2…”
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore construction
[17]
Parc éolien en mer du Calvados2026-07-07◆ Point detape sur le chantier du parc eol…
“Depuis le mois de juin, le navire Seaway Strashnov est arrivé sur la zone du chantier pour poursuivre l'installation des fondations des éoliennes. Il a rejoint le Bold Tern qui réalise les forages dep…”
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore constructionBold Tern — foundation installationSeaway Strashnov — foundation installation
[18]
DGEC — Ministère de la Transition écologique (eoliennesenmer.fr)2026-08-25◆ French Eoliennes en mer register (DGEC),…
“Register node 851 (node--type-project) at /facades-maritimes-en-france/facade-manche-mer-du-nord/courseulles-sur-mer — title 'Courseulles-sur-mer'; page text 2668 chars, hash b8cb4fc9759d80d3…. Identi…”
supportsRegister entry
Financier1
[5]
European Investment Bank2021
“FRENCH OFFSHORE ROUND 1 - COURSEULLES-SUR-MER… design, build, maintain and operate a 450 MW offshore windfarm 10 kilometres off the French coast… permits issued in the first half of 2016… EIB loan: €3…”
supportsConsentWater depthConsent granted
OEM1
[1]
Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy2021-02-22◆ French connection strengthened: Siemens …
“French connection strengthened: Siemens Gamesa receives firm order from EDF Renewables-Enbridge-wpd consortium for 448 MW Courseulles-sur-Mer offshore wind project ... Installation and commissioning o…”
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacityTotal capacity
Auction results1
[19]
CRE (Commission de regulation de l'energie)2011◆ fr-ao1-tender-page
AO1 (first French round, 2011) tender page on the CRE site - the appel d'offres for 4 sites (Saint-Nazaire, Fecamp, Courseulles, Saint-Brieuc), offtake = a 20-year purchase obligation (pre-CfD).
supportsTender award · France Offshore Wind Round 1 (AO1)
Record source1
[20]
Parc éolien en mer du Calvados2026-04-07◆ calvados-progress-2026-04
Après l'installation de la quinzième fondation du parc, le navire Saipem 7000, mobilisé sur un autre projet, a temporairement quitté la zone du chantier en mer... Au 1er avril 2026, 21 forages ont été…
supportsSaipem 7000 — foundation installation
Trade press3
[10]
Offshore Wind (offshorewind.biz)2023-07-31◆ Final Monopiles Delivered for 450 MW Fre…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFoundationCoordinates
[14]
Power Technology (GlobalData)2025
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsoperatorfinancialsponsor
[15]


