Skipjack Wind
Located ~33 km off Delmarva Peninsula (Maryland/Delaware coast). OCS-A 0519. Combined 966 MW (Skipjack 1 + Skipjack 2).
Status
On Holdlifecycle stage
FragileHafrok completion outlook
Ownership
Ørsted — 100% ◆Location
Northwest Atlantic
Technology
Capacity
966 MW ◇
Turbines
—
Foundation
Monopile ◇
Site & conditions
Site rights
Exploration right Seabed lease · Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM) · 2012-11 ◆
Water depth
16–28 m ≈
Wind speed
9.8 m/s @ 150 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
OREC withdrawn ◆
Grid
—
Schedule
FID
Not taken
COD · Hafrok
—
Delivery outlook modelled by Hafrok · calibrated on delivered projects
—
on hold — no credible date; the chart shows when a restarted project might complete
Chance of delivery
≈7%
estimated chance this project reaches commercial operation
Projects put on hold complete ≈15% of the time on Hafrok's record. This one sits well below that: a market with a thinner delivery record, its size, technical complexity and no offtake contract yet. Only a restart would change that — there is no dated schedule to judge against. That figure is then halved while Hafrok reads the United States route as closed: a route that has to be won again is less likely to be won.
COD outlook
If it completes, when — Hafrok’s probability by year (teal) · the developer’s COD guidance, by date stated (ink)
| Year | Probability |
|---|---|
| 2033 | 20.0% |
| 2034 | 20.0% |
| 2035 | 20.0% |
| 2036 | 20.0% |
| 2037 | 20.0% |
| Stated | Announced COD |
|---|---|
| 2017-05-11 | 2022 |
| 2020-04 | 2023 |
How Hafrok got this date
1
On hold — no dated schedule
The project is recorded as On Hold, so no sequence of milestones can be trusted. Hafrok publishes no expected year; the chart instead spreads the remaining chance of completion over the years a restarted project might finish in.
2
Route closed until 2029
Hafrok believes a held project in the United States is unlikely to resume before a route to build exists again, and does not expect one before
January 2029. On that reading the years the chart spreads the remaining chance over begin after 2029, not after today. This is Hafrok's judgment, not a fact on the record — what it rests on: United States market page.3
Chance of delivery — separate from timing
Start from the share of On Hold projects that went on to complete — ≈15%, measured on Hafrok's record of delivered and abandoned projects, with an allowance held back where that record cannot yet speak (projects still unresolved, changed market conditions). Historically only a minority of projects put on hold returned to delivery — the estimate reflects that. Then adjust for this project's own evidence — offtake, market, size, technical complexity — and halve the result while Hafrok reads the United States route as closed (a route that has to be won again is less likely to be won) — to ≈7%, which rates it
Fragile on Hafrok's four-step delivery scale (Delivering · Expected · Prospective · Fragile).Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Portfolio sale · 2018-10
D.E. Shaw Group (via Deepwater Wind LLC) → Ørsted 100%
- Stake
- 100%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2018-10
- Closed
- 2018-11
- Project stage
- early development
Ørsted acquired 100% of Deepwater Wind LLC from D.E. Shaw Group for USD 510 million (announced 8 October 2018, closed November 2018). Deepwater Wind's portfolio included Block Island Wind Farm (30 MW operational), Revolution Wind (~700 MW), South Fork Wind (~130 MW), and the early-stage Skipjack project (then 120 MW) offshore Maryland. Skipjack held OREC approval from the Maryland Public Service Commission (2017). USD 510m × 0.85 = EUR 433m at portfolio level (noted for reference only). At the time of acquisition, Skipjack was still at 120 MW; later expanded to 966 MW in the 2021 Maryland OREC award. Eversource subsequently acquired a 50% stake in parts of the Deepwater portfolio (Revolution Wind, South Fork, and uncontracted Massachusetts acreage) for USD 225m in 2019, but Skipjack (a Maryland project) was NOT included in that Eversource partnership — Ørsted retained 100% of Skipjack.
Evidence
- orsted.com — Ørsted acquires Deepwater Wind and creates leading US offshore wind platform ↗ 2018-10 ◆ held
- orsted.com — Ørsted completes acquisition of Deepwater Wind ↗ 2018-10 ◆ held
- nawindpower.com — Ørsted Completes $510 Million Deepwater Wind Acquisition - North American Windpower ↗ 2018-10 ◆ held
- boem.gov — Skipjack Wind | Bureau of Ocean Energy Management ↗ 2018-10 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). Ownership lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced COD: slipped so far +1.0 yr (first announced 2022) · the full guidance history is in the delivery chart above
Revenue & offtake route to market — open
No offtake secured — route to market open
OREC · Maryland PSC Offshore Wind OREC Round 1 awarded 2017-05, withdrawn; OREC · Maryland PSC Offshore Wind OREC Round 2 (Clean Energy Jobs Act 2019) awarded 2021-12, withdrawn. No live offtake on record. ◇
The routes describe what exists in this market — not a prediction of which the project will take. Timing math for the auction gate lives in the delivery outlook above.
Next visible round · from the auction calendar
NYSERDA Offshore Wind Solicitation 6 (NY6) ◇
design/RFI stage only; no timetable, conditioned on the federal market improving
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Installation not started
nothing to count yet: the satellite tracker begins when offshore construction does
Installation · on record
StageOn Hold
Offshore constructionnot started
Expected start of operationnot stated
Sources & verification
4/12 fields verified · rests on 12 sources (4 primary) · ◆ 7 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator3
[5]
[11]
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM)2026-08-23◆ US BOEM offshore-wind register (FR docum…
“Lease row OCS-A 0519: companies ['Skipjack Offshore Energy, LLC']; lease_dates ['12/01/2012']; lease_terms ['25 Years']; states ['Delaware']; block_count 44.”
supportsRegister entry
[12]
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM)2025◆ Skipjack Wind - BOEM state activities pa…
“On April 12, 2011, BOEM published a Notice of Determination of No Competitive Interest (DNCI) [...] On Nov. 16, 2012, the lease (OCS-A 0482) was executed. [...] On June 12, 2018, BOEM approved the ass…”
supportsConsentSite rightsConsent applied
Operator1
[2]
Auction results1
[13]
Maryland PSC2017◆ us-md-order-88192
MD PSC Order 88192 (Case 9431) - OREC Round 1 award rules (US Wind MarWin + Skipjack).
supportsOfftake history
Auction pipeline1
[14]
Offshore Wind (offshorewind.biz)2026-02◆ ny-ny5-ended-2026
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsNYSERDA Offshore Wind Solicitation 6 (NY6)
Trade press4
[3]
[6]
[7]
[9]
Utility Dive2020-04-23◆ Skipjack offshore wind announces 1 year …
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsCOD history
Unverified import1
[1]
unknown◆ Skipjack Wind to be Repositioned for Fut…
supportsTotal capacityFoundationWater depthCoordinates
Encyclopaedic1
[4]