Atlantic Shores South (Projects 1 and 2)
Atlantic Shores lease areas ~10-20 miles off Jersey Shore between Atlantic City and Barnegat Light. EDF Renewables remaining committed developer.
Status
On Holdlifecycle stage
FragileHafrok completion outlook
Ownership
EDF Renewables — 100% ◇Location
Northwest Atlantic
Technology
Capacity
2,800 MW ◇
Turbines
— ◇
Foundation
Monopile ◇
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
BOEM Lease Sale 5 · 2015 ·
Water depth
17–33 m ≈
Wind speed
9.6 m/s @ 150 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
OREC abandoned ◇
Grid
—
Schedule
FID
Not taken
COD · Hafrok
—
Delivery outlook modelled by Hafrok · calibrated on delivered projects
—
on hold — no credible date; the chart shows when a restarted project might complete
Chance of delivery
≈6%
estimated chance this project reaches commercial operation
Projects put on hold complete ≈15% of the time on Hafrok's record. This one sits well below that: a market with a thinner delivery record, a very large build, technical complexity and no offtake contract yet. Only a restart would change that — there is no dated schedule to judge against. That figure is then halved while Hafrok reads the United States route as closed: a route that has to be won again is less likely to be won.
COD outlook
If it completes, when — Hafrok’s probability by year (teal)
| Year | Probability |
|---|---|
| 2033 | 20.0% |
| 2034 | 20.0% |
| 2035 | 20.0% |
| 2036 | 20.0% |
| 2037 | 20.0% |
How Hafrok got this date
1
On hold — no dated schedule
The project is recorded as On Hold, so no sequence of milestones can be trusted. Hafrok publishes no expected year; the chart instead spreads the remaining chance of completion over the years a restarted project might finish in.
2
Route closed until 2029
Hafrok believes a held project in the United States is unlikely to resume before a route to build exists again, and does not expect one before
January 2029. On that reading the years the chart spreads the remaining chance over begin after 2029, not after today. This is Hafrok's judgment, not a fact on the record — what it rests on: United States market page.3
Chance of delivery — separate from timing
Start from the share of On Hold projects that went on to complete — ≈15%, measured on Hafrok's record of delivered and abandoned projects, with an allowance held back where that record cannot yet speak (projects still unresolved, changed market conditions). Historically only a minority of projects put on hold returned to delivery — the estimate reflects that. Then adjust for this project's own evidence — offtake, market, size, technical complexity — and halve the result while Hafrok reads the United States route as closed (a route that has to be won again is less likely to be won) — to ≈6%, which rates it
Fragile on Hafrok's four-step delivery scale (Delivering · Expected · Prospective · Fragile).Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2015-11
BOEM Lease Sale 5
- Awarded to
- US Wind Inc.
- Lease
- OCS-A 0499
- Basis
- seabed award
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
Acquisition · 2018-12
US Wind Inc. → EDF Renewables / Shell New Energies US 100%
- Stake
- 100%
- Consideration
- €183m
- Implied 100% value
- €183m
- Announced
- 2018-12
- Project stage
- early development
In December 2018, US Wind Inc. assigned 100% of commercial lease OCS-A 0499 (183,353 acres, ~2.5 GW potential, ~8 miles off Atlantic City, NJ) to EDF Renewables Development Inc. BOEM approved the assignment on 4 December 2018. The reported purchase price was USD 215 million (per Bloomberg Law), plus a deferred variable payment. This reflects the price paid by EDF (as acquirer of the lease from US Wind) before Shell joined as 50% JV partner. This record captures the lease acquisition by the EDF/Shell JV from US Wind.
Evidence
- offshoreWIND.biz — Shell, EDF Acquire US Wind's New Jersey Lease Area ↗ 2018-12 ◆ held
- news.bloomberglaw.com — EDF Paying $215 Million for New Jersey Offshore Wind-Farm Lease ↗ 2018-12 ◆ held
- edf-re.com — EDF Renewables and Shell Invest in New Jersey Offshore Wind - EDF power solutions North America ↗ 2018-12 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
JV entry · 2022-02
Atlantic Shores Offshore Wind LLC (EDF Renewables + Shell, 50 / 50) stake not disclosed
- Stake
- not disclosed
- Consideration
- €741m
- Announced
- 2022-02
- Project stage
- early development
The OCS-A 0541 lease forms part of the broader Atlantic Shores South development area. The NJ BOEM (NJ BPU) awarded an OREC for Atlantic Shores Project 1 (1.5 GW) in 2021; this was later terminated by NJ BPU in August 2025.
Evidence
- edf-re.com — EDF Renewables Joint Venture Atlantic Shores Offshore Wind Wins Lease in New York Bight Auction - EDF power solutions North America ↗ 2022-02 ◆ held
- shell.us — Shell joint venture Atlantic Shores wins acreage in New York Bight, expanding offshore wind market share | About Us ↗ 2022-02 ◆ held
- boem.gov — Atlantic Shores Offshore Wind Bight (OCS-A 0541) | Bureau of Ocean Energy Management ↗ 2022-02 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Divestment · 2025-11
Shell → EDF Renewables 50%
- Stake
- 50%
- Consideration
- €0.0m
- Announced
- 2025-11
- Project stage
- early development
In November 2025, Shell New Energies US LLC voluntarily withdrew from Atlantic Shores Offshore Wind LLC, assigning its 50% membership interest to existing JV partner EDF-RE Offshore Development LLC with immediate effect. No consideration was paid — this was a distressed exit with zero or nominal cash transfer. Shell booked approximately USD 1 billion in impairment on its US offshore wind investments. EDF Renewables subsequently booked EUR 934 million impairment on Atlantic Shores in early 2026 (reported February 2025 financial results, covering FY2024/early 2025 write-downs triggered by Shell's exit, the NJ BPU OREC termination in August 2025, and unfavourable US federal policy). The project's future remains uncertain under 100% EDF Renewables ownership; EDF has stated projects could still contribute to US energy goals but booked full impairment as of February 2025.
Evidence
- unknown — Shell withdraws from Atlantic Shores Offshore Wind, assigning its membership interest to existing joint venture partner, EDF power solutions | About Us ↗ 2025-11 ◆ held
- offshoreWIND.biz — Shell Ends Atlantic Shores Offshore Wind Involvement in US ↗ 2025-11 ◆ held
- utilitydive.com — EDF Renewables books $980M impairment from Atlantic Shores Offshore Wind ↗ 2025-11 ◆ held
- offshoreWIND.biz — EDF Books EUR 934 Million Atlantic Shores Offshore Wind Impairment, Maintains Projects Could Still Contribute to US, New Jersey Energy Plans ↗ 2025-11 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Revenue & offtake route to market — open
No offtake secured — route to market open
OREC · NJ BPU Offshore Wind Solicitation 2 awarded 2021-06, abandoned. No live offtake on record. ◇
The routes describe what exists in this market — not a prediction of which the project will take. Timing math for the auction gate lives in the delivery outlook above.
Next visible round · from the auction calendar
NYSERDA Offshore Wind Solicitation 6 (NY6) ◇
design/RFI stage only; no timetable, conditioned on the federal market improving
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Installation not started
nothing to count yet: the satellite tracker begins when offshore construction does
Installation · on record
StageOn Hold
Offshore constructionnot started
Expected start of operationnot stated
Sources & verification
1/13 fields verified · rests on 12 sources (4 primary) · ◆ 5 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator3
[9]
[16]
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM)2026-08-23◆ US BOEM offshore-wind register (FR docum…
“Lease row OCS-A 0499: companies ['Atlantic Shores Offshore Wind Project 1, LLC']; lease_dates ['03/01/2016']; lease_terms ['30 Years']; states ['New Jersey']; block_count 123. Lease row OCS-A 0570: co…”
supportsRegister entry
[17]
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM)2026-09-03◆ BOEM project page - Atlantic Shores Sout…
“On Oct. 1, 2024, BOEM announced its approval of the Atlantic Shores South Construction and Operations Plan (COP), which authorizes construction and operation of two wind energy facilities, Atlantic Sh…”
supportsConsentConsent granted
Auction results1
[18]
NJ BPU2020◆ us-nj-sgd-2
NJ BPU Solicitation 2 Final Guidance Document (Ocean Wind 2 + Atlantic Shores 1, both later dead).
supportsOfftake history
Auction pipeline1
[19]
Offshore Wind (offshorewind.biz)2026-02◆ ny-ny5-ended-2026
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsNYSERDA Offshore Wind Solicitation 6 (NY6)
Trade press5
[8]
[11]
[12]
[13]
offshoreWIND.biz
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsMechanismDetail
[14]
Unverified import1
[1]
unknown◆ Shell withdraws from Atlantic Shores Off…
supportsUnit capacityTotal capacityFoundationWater depthCoordinates
Encyclopaedic1
[10]