Walney Extension
Located 19km west of Cumbrian coast, adjacent to Walney 1 & 2.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
Ørsted — 37.55% ◆BIBrookfield Infrastructure Fund V — 12.45% ◆
PKA (via AIP Management) — 18.75% ◆PFAPFA — 18.75% ◆
OGOctopus Energy Generation — 12.5% ◆
Location
Irish Sea
Technology
Capacity
659 MW ◆
Turbines
87 × 7 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Swt 7-0-154 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Crown Estate Round 1 & 2 site extensions (2010) · 2010 ·
Water depth
19–23 m ◆
Distance from shore
19 km ◆
Wind speed
9.8 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
CfD · FIDeR · £150/MWh ◆
Grid
Secured · 2018 ◆
Connection
Middleton 400kV substation, Heysham (OFTO: Diamond Transmission … ◆
Schedule
FID
28 Oct 2015 ◆
COD
2018-Q3 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2010-05
Crown Estate Round 1 & 2 site extensions (2010)
- Awarded to
- Dong Wind UK
- Basis
- seabed award
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
Farmdown · 2017-11
Ørsted → PKA / PFA 50%
- Stake
- 50%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2017-11
- Project stage
- under construction
50% sold to consortium of Danish pension funds PKA (25%) and PFA (25%). Total commitment ~GBP 2.0bn comprising equity acquisition + 50% of EPC including transmission assets. Equity price not separately disclosed. Project under construction; commissioned H2 2018. Ørsted retained 50% and operational control. DKK 7.5-8bn, construction and divestment gain approx. DKK 8.5-9bn. (GBP 2bn ~ EUR 2.25bn @ 0.8879 2017-11 ECB avg.)
Evidence
- offshoreWIND.biz — Ørsted Sells 50% of Walney Extension ↗ 2017-11 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2023-11
PKA / PFA (via AIP Management) → Octopus Energy Generation 12.5%
- Stake
- 12.5%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2023-11
- Closed
- 2024-02
- Project stage
- operational
AIP Management (investment manager for PKA and PFA) sold 12.5% to Octopus Energy Generation, acting on behalf of its Offshore Wind Fund (cornerstone investor Tokyo Gas). Deal value not disclosed. PKA/PFA retained 37.5% combined; Ørsted 50%.
Evidence
- octopus.energy — Seas the opportunity: Octopus Energy backs British offshore wind farm ↗ 2023-11 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Portfolio sale · 2024-10
Ørsted → Brookfield 12.45%
- Stake
- 12.45%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2024-10
- Closed
- 2024-12
- Project stage
- operational
Part of portfolio sale of 12.45% minority stakes in four UK OWFs (Hornsea One, Hornsea Two, Walney Extension, Burbo Bank Extension; combined ~3.5 GW) for total GBP 1.75bn (~EUR 2.03bn). Acquired by Brookfield Infrastructure Fund V. No per-project breakdown disclosed. Includes call option for Ørsted to repurchase between 2-7 years.
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day
660 MW contracted — investment contract
● Investment contract · FID Enabling for Renewables (FIDeR) investment contracts
Price£150/MWh ·Basis2012 real · CPI-indexed
Capacity660 MWAwardedApr 2014Term15 yrs · delivery 2016/17
Money-of-the-day values computed by Hafrok from the United Kingdom CPI index, 2012 real base — actual to 2026-07, then an assumed +2.0%/yr (central-bank target). Investment contract terms run 15 years from start of generation in the contracted delivery year.
Contract price over time · £/MWh
solid = actual CPI indexation · dashed = assumed +2.0%/yr
Investment contract · FID Enabling for Renewables (FIDeR) investment contracts
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing90≈87 turbines + 1 platform expected · 2 more than expected — a met mast, a platform not on the register, or a position the survey missed
Surveyed2026-09-01≈from 147 satellite passes
Built2016 → 2018-Q3offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-05≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass · 3 newer passes skipped because the satellite’s track only caught part of the farm (the best of them 71%)
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed90 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortPort of Barrow-in-Furness ◆construction
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-05
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (90)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationWalney Extension offshore substations (2, described collectively)·owner Diamond Transmission Partners Walney Extension (OFTO); built by Ørsted
Sources & verification
18/19 fields verified · rests on 11 sources (6 primary) · ◆ 5 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator2
[1]
Planning Inspectorate2014-11-07◆ Walney Extension Offshore Wind Farm - Pr…
"This application was granted on 7 November 2014." The Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change granted the Development Consent Order (DCO) for Walney Extension Offshore Wind Farm (EN010027), …
supportsConsentConsent granted
[13]
Department for Energy Security and Net Zero2026-05-06◆ Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD…
“REPD Q1 2026 quarterly extract — Ref ID 2533: Site Name "Walney 3", Development Status "Operational", Installed Capacity 659 MWelec, Operator "Orsted (formerly Dong Energy)"”
supportsRegister entry
Operator2
[8]
National Audit Office2014-06◆ Early contracts for renewable electricit…
"Administrative strike prices by commissioning date and technology (2012 GBP/MWh)" — Offshore wind: 2016-17 £150; 2017-18 £140; 2018-19 £140. FIDeR strikes are CPI-indexed; the same strike applies to …
supportsMechanismStrike / priceDetail
[14]
National Energy System Operator (NESO)2026-07-21◆ NESO Transmission Entry Capacity (TEC) R…
“NESO TEC Register, edition 21 July 2026 - PRO-000239: "Walney 3 Offshore Wind Farm", Status "Built", MW Connected 330, Effective From n/a, Customer "WALNEY EXTENSION LIMITED"; PRO-000240: "Walney 4 Of…”
supportsRegister entry
Auction results1
[15]
Low Carbon Contracts Company (LCCC)2026-07-31◆ lccc-portfolio-status-2026-07
Investment Contract units, all 'Live (Post-FIC)': INV-BUR-001 Burbo Bank Extension; INV-DUD-001/002/003 Dudgeon; INV-WAL-001/002 Walney Extension; INV-BEA-001/002 Beatrice; INV-HOR-001/002/003 Hornsea…
supportsInvestment contract · FID Enabling for Renewables (FIDeR) investment contracts
Trade press6
[2]
Offshore Engineer (OEDigital)2015-10-28
"Walney Extension, which had a final investment decision in October 2015" — DONG Energy announced FID for the 660 MW Walney Extension project on 28 October 2015, after securing all permits, completing…
supportsFinal investment decision
[3]
[9]
Diamond Transmission Partners
“660 MW connection between the generators and onshore transmission system. Two undersea cables up to 76 km in length connecting offshore substations to shore at Heysham. Approximately 4 km of onshore c…”
supportsStatusConnection point
[10]
[11]
offshoreWIND.biz2024-10
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsoperatorowner
[12]