Fecamp
Foundations and blades manufactured in Le Havre. Components pre-assembled in Cherbourg.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
Location
English Channel
Technology
Capacity
497 MW ◆
Turbines
71 × 7 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Swt 7-0-154 ◆
Foundation
GBS ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
France Offshore Wind Round 1 (AO1) · 2012 ·
Water depth
25–30 m ◆
Distance from shore
13 km ◆
Wind speed
9.0 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
CfD · AO1 2012 ◆
Grid
Secured · 2023-07 ◆
Connection
Sainneville-sur-Seine 225 kV substation (RTE) ◆
Schedule
FID
4 Jun 2020 ◆
COD
May 2024 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2012-04
France Offshore Wind Round 1 (AO1)
- Awarded to
- EDF Renouvelables + Enbridge + wpd
- Basis
- integrated tender
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
JV entry · 2012-04
wpd 30%
- Stake
- 30%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2012-04
- Project stage
- early development
wpd (German wind developer) was a founding member of the Fécamp consortium alongside EDF Renewables when the project was awarded in the French Round 1 tender in April 2012. wpd's 30% stake reflects its role as co-developer and original project originator for the Fécamp site. No deal value was disclosed; this was a tender consortium formation, not a secondary market transaction. wpd retained its 30% share through construction and operation. Note: wpd's offshore wind business was subsequently sold to GIP (Global Infrastructure Partners) and rebranded as Skyborn Renewables, but the Fécamp stake remained within the project structure under the wpd/Skyborn entity.
Evidence
- nsenergybusiness.com — Fecamp Offshore Wind Farm, Alabaster coast, France ↗ 2012-04 ◆ held
- renewablesnow.com — Developer trio kicks off construction of 500-MW Fecamp offshore wind farm - Offshore Wind News ↗ 2012-04 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
JV entry · 2016-05
EDF Renewables → Enbridge 35%
- Stake
- 35%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2016-05
- Project stage
- consented
Enbridge acquired a 50% stake in Éolien Maritime France SAS (EMF), which jointly owned Fécamp with EDF Renewables (both holding 50% of EMF's 70% share). The remaining 30% of Fécamp was held by wpd as original co-developer. The total EMF consideration was CAD 282 million (approx. EUR 191m at 2016 CAD/EUR ~0.679) covering all three EMF projects (Saint-Nazaire, Fécamp, Courseulles). Enbridge's resulting effective stake in Fécamp: 35% (50% of EMF's 70%). The combined CAD 282m payment was undifferentiated across the three projects; individual project allocation is not possible. See Saint-Nazaire and Courseulles-sur-Mer companion records for full context.
Evidence
- edf.fr — EDF Group signs a strategic partnership with Enbridge for the three first offshore wind farms projects off the French coast - 2016/05/10 | Groupe EDF ↗ 2016-05 ◆ held
- offshoreWIND.biz — Enbridge Buys Into French Offshore Wind Developer ↗ 2016-05 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Farmdown · 2020-05
Enbridge → CPP Investments 17.1%
- Stake
- 17.1%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2020-05
- Closed
- 2020-Q4
- Project stage
- pre-FID
As part of the multi-project EMF transaction, Enbridge sold 49% of its 35% stake in Fécamp to CPP Investments (49% of EMF's 50% of Fécamp's 70% = 17.15%), reducing Enbridge's direct effective share to 17.9% and giving CPP Investments 17.1%. Total consideration for all three EMF projects (Saint-Nazaire, Fécamp, Courseulles) was approximately EUR 80m upfront plus EUR 120m follow-on. Deal value cannot be disaggregated by project. Fécamp was pre-FID at announcement; FID was taken June 2020 and construction commenced. Fécamp reached financial close and started construction in June 2020. Ownership post-transaction: EDF Renewables 35%, wpd 30%, Enbridge 17.9%, CPP Investments 17.1%.
Evidence
- offshoreWIND.biz — Enbridge Selling Part of Stake in French Offshore Wind Projects ↗ 2020-05 ◆ held
- cppinvestments.com — Cpp Investments Commits E200mn To Renewable Energy Projects In France ↗ 2020-05 ◆ held
- wpd.de — EDF Renewables, Enbridge and wpd start construction of the Fécamp offshore wind farm : wpd.de/en/ ↗ 2020-05 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2023→2024→2024-05 · 3 recorded revisions · slipped +0.9 yr (first announced 2023)
Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day
498 MW contracted — tender award
● Tender award · France Offshore Wind Round 1 (AO1)
Price€135.2/MWh ·Capacity498 MWAwardedApr 2012Term20 yrs
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite installation tracker
counted from satellite radar images · a structure standing in the sea on a given date, not a turbine producing power · a guide, not a sourced fact
Installation · counted from satellite
Foundations71 of 71≈100% · first seen 2022-08-06
Turbines70 of 71≈99% · first seen 2022-08-09
Latest count2025-12-31from 1078 satellite passes · 1 substation platform left out so the counts compare with the turbine number · the count has ended: the build is complete
Hafrok counts foundations and turbines from satellite radar images (≈): a structure is counted once it is seen standing in the sea, which is not the same as producing power. A structure first seen in the last 60 days is not yet confirmed, because on a single image a freshly set foundation and a ship holding position look alike. Substation platforms are left out so the counts compare with the number of turbines. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers; a supplier or contract appears only where a source states it — everything else reads “not recorded”, never guessed.
Structures standing over time · count
strong line = confirmed · light line = seen in the last 60 days, not yet confirmed · the chart counts every structure (71 turbines + 1 platform); the table counts turbines only
foundationsturbines up (a substation top being set in place counts here too)
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-06≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed72 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2025-12-31 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortGrand Port Maritime du Havre ◆foundations
PortPort of Cherbourg ◆·turbines · draft 14 m
PortPort of Fecamp ◆operations
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-06
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (72)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationFecamp Offshore Substation·in service 2022 · owner Eoliennes Offshore des Hautes Falaises (producer SPV, EDF Renouvelables-led)
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
Sources & verification
17/18 fields verified · rests on 10 sources (11 primary) · ◆ 5 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator4
[1]
wpd offshore2020-06-02◆ EDF Renewables, Enbridge and wpd start c…
“EDF Renewables 35%, Enbridge Inc. 35%, wpd offshore 30%. 71 wind turbines supplied by Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy (SGRE), located between 13km and 22km from the coast of northwest France. 20-year …”
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore constructionTurbinesModelUnit capacity+7 more
[2]
[4]
EDF Renouvelables2024-05-15◆ Parc éolien en mer de Fécamp : mise en s…
“Inauguration date May 15, 2024. Gradual connection to national network completed by May 2024. Partners include EDF Renouvelables, EIH S.a.rl, CPP Investments, Skyborn Renewables. 71 wind turbines inst…”
supportsCommercial operationCOD historyTotal capacityoperations
[17]
DGEC — Ministère de la Transition écologique (eoliennesenmer.fr)2026-08-25◆ French Eoliennes en mer register (DGEC),…
“Register node 854 (node--type-project) at /facades-maritimes-en-france/facade-manche-mer-du-nord/fecamp — title 'Fécamp'; page text 2349 chars, hash 50766d2a07e75059…. Identifying text: Le parc éolien…”
supportsRegister entry
Auction results1
[18]
CRE (Commission de regulation de l'energie)2011◆ fr-ao1-tender-page
AO1 (first French round, 2011) tender page on the CRE site - the appel d'offres for 4 sites (Saint-Nazaire, Fecamp, Courseulles, Saint-Brieuc), offtake = a 20-year purchase obligation (pre-CfD).
supportsTender award · France Offshore Wind Round 1 (AO1)
Trade press5
[3]
[5]
[8]
[13]
[14]

