Walney 1 & 2
Located 14km west of Walney Island, Cumbria. Operated by Ørsted.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
Location
Irish Sea
Technology
Capacity
367 MW ◆
Turbines
102 × 3.6 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Swt 3-6-107 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Crown Estate Round 2 · 2003 ·
Water depth
20–30 m ≈
Distance from shore
14 km ◆
Wind speed
9.7 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
Other ◆
Grid
Secured · 2011 ◆
Connection
Phase 1: Heysham, Cumbria (National Grid 400/132kV); Phase 2: … ◆
Schedule
FID
Apr 2009 ◆
COD
Jun 2012 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2003-12
Crown Estate Round 2
- Awarded to
- Walney (UK) Offshore Windfarms Limited (Ørsted-led)
- Basis
- seabed award
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
Farmdown · 2009-12
Ørsted → SSE Renewables 25.1%
- Stake
- 25.1%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2009-12
- Closed
- 2010-Q1
- Project stage
- under construction
DONG Energy (now Ørsted) sold 25.1% in the Walney offshore wind farm to SSE for approximately GBP 17m upfront plus a performance-contingent element of up to GBP 22m; total up to GBP 39m. SSE also paid its pro-rata share of construction costs separately (~GBP 250m). Total project cost ~GBP 1bn.
Evidence
- lse.co.uk — SSE News Headlines. SSE Share News. Financial News Articles for Sse Plc Ord 50p updated throughout the day. ↗ 2009-12 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Farmdown · 2010-12
Ørsted → PGGM / Ampere Equity Fund 24.8%
- Stake
- 24.8%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2010-12
- Closed
- 2011-Q1
- Project stage
- under construction
DONG Energy sold 24.8% to a consortium of Dutch pension fund PGGM and Ampere Equity Fund (managed by Triodos Investment Management / DIF). Equity consideration approximately GBP 16m, but consortium also paid its pro-rata share of construction costs separately. DONG also entered a 15-year PPA for the consortium's share of output. After this deal, ownership: Ørsted 50.1%, SSE 25.1%, PGGM/Ampere 24.8%.
Evidence
- offshoreWIND.biz — PGGM and Ampère Equity Fund Buy Minority Stake From DONG Energy in Walney Offshore Wind Farm (UK) ↗ 2010-12 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2019-07
Ampere Equity Fund → PGGM 9.9%
- Stake
- 9.9%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2019-07
- Closed
- 2019-Q3
- Project stage
- operational
PGGM Infrastructure Fund acquired the 9.9% stake held by Ampere Equity Fund (managed by DIF), consolidating its position to 24.8% in Walney 1 & 2. Consideration not disclosed. After deal: Ørsted 50.1%, SSE 25.1%, PGGM 24.8%.
Evidence
- offshoreWIND.biz — PGGM Ups Walney Stake ↗ 2019-07 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2020-09-01
SSE Renewables → Greencoat UK Wind 25.1%
- Stake
- 25.1%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2020-09-01
- Project stage
- operational
Greencoat UK Wind plc "agreed to acquire SSE's 25.1% interest in the Walney I and II offshore wind farms" for a headline consideration of GBP 350 million (RNS, 1 September 2020); the release names the co-owners as Ørsted (50.1%) and PGGM (24.8%).
Evidence
- Greencoat UK Wind plc — Greencoat UK Wind announces acquisition of Walney wind farm ↗ 2020-09-01 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2012-Q2→2012-06 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2012-Q2, unchanged)
Revenue & offtake the regime the project was built under
Offtake regime: ROC 2.0 ROCs/MWh
A built project sells its power under the contract or support regime it was financed with; it is not expected to bid into new government offtake rounds. Where the record does not yet name that regime, the row says so rather than guessing.
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing104≈102 turbines + 2 platforms expected · every expected structure seen
Surveyed2026-09-01≈from 120 satellite passes
Built2010-03 → 2012-06offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-05≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass · 2 newer passes skipped because the satellite’s track only caught part of the farm (the best of them 72%)
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed104 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortBarrow-in-Furness ◆construction
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-05
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (104)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 2
Offshore substationWalney 1 Offshore Substation·132/33 kV · owner Blue Transmission Walney 1 Limited (OFTO); originally DONG Energy (Ørsted)
Offshore substationWalney II Offshore Substation Platform (OSP)·132/33 kV · owner Blue Transmission Walney 2 Limited (OFTO); constructed by DONG Walney (UK) Ltd, subsidiary of DONG Energy (Ørsted)
Sources & verification
12/18 fields verified · rests on 15 sources (9 primary) · ◆ 11 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator3
[1]
Ofgem2009-07◆ Walney I Offshore Transmission Assets - …
"The Walney I Wind Farm will consist of 51 Siemens SWT 3.6MW wind turbine generators. [...] All necessary offshore consents and licences are in place for the construction of the Walney I Transmission …
supportsConsentTurbinesModelUnit capacityStatus+3 more
[2]
Ofgem2009-07◆ Walney II Offshore Transmission Assets -…
“The Walney II Wind Farm will consist of 51 Siemens 3.6MW wind turbine generators. [...] All necessary offshore consents and licences are in place for the construction of the Walney II Transmission Ass…”
supportsTurbinesUnit capacity
[15]
Department for Energy Security and Net Zero2026-05-06◆ Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD…
“REPD Q1 2026 quarterly extract — Ref ID 2500: Site Name "Walney 1", Development Status "Operational", Installed Capacity 183.6 MWelec, Operator "Orsted (formerly Dong Energy)"; Ref ID 2506: Site Name …”
supportsRegister entry
Operator5
[6]
Ørsted A/S2023-02◆ Orsted Annual Report 2022
“Walney (UK) Offshore Windfarms Ltd 49.9 % London, UK [non-controlling interest]. [...] our other UK offshore wind farms as well as our Renescience plant are under the ROC regime.”
supportsMechanismDetail
[7]
Ørsted A/S2026-02◆ Ørsted Annual Report 2025
“Walney (UK) Offshore Windfarms Limited The UK S 50 % [...] In 2025, we expanded the use of heavy-lift cargo drones to Hornsea 1 and 2 and Walney 1 & 2.”
supportsBackground
[13]
DONG Energy A/S2009-04-22◆ DONG Energy to build further offshore wi…
“DONG Energy has decided to build the offshore wind farm Walney II in the Irish Sea. ... With the 2 ROCs, we can now begin the construction of Walney I and II," says Anders Eldrup, CEO of DONG Energy.”
supportsFinal investment decision
[16]
National Energy System Operator (NESO)2026-07-21◆ NESO Transmission Entry Capacity (TEC) R…
“NESO TEC Register, edition 21 July 2026 - PRO-000221: "Walney I Offshore Wind Farm", Status "Built", MW Connected 182, Effective From n/a, Customer "WALNEY (UK) OFFSHORE WINDFARMS LIMITED"; PRO-000222…”
supportsRegister entry
[17]
TotalEnergies Gas & Power Limited2026-08-24◆ TotalEnergies Gas & Power secures renewa…
“United Kingdom, August 24th, 2026 - TotalEnergies Gas & Power Limited (TotalEnergies) has entered into a long-term Power Purchase Agreement (PPA) with Offshore Partners Walney (OPW), which holds a 24.…”
supportsTotal capacity
Trade press6
[3]
Offshore Wind Biz2011-01◆ First power from the Walney 1 Offshore W…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOffshore constructionFirst power
[5]
Offshore Wind Biz2020-09◆ SSE Selling Walney Stake | Offshore Wind
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsTotal capacity
[9]
[10]
[12]
[14]
Encyclopaedic1
[11]

