Rampion
UK's only English Channel offshore wind farm. Located off Sussex coast between Worthing and Seaford.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Location
English Channel
Technology
Capacity
400 MW ◆
Turbines
116 × 3.45 MW ◆
Model
Vestas V112 3-45 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Crown Estate Round 3 · 2010 ·
Water depth
20–40 m ◆
Distance from shore
13 km ◆
Wind speed
9.2 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
Other ◇
Grid
Secured · 2014-07-16 ◆
Connection
Onshore export substation at Twineham (Work No. 25, new build); … ◆
Schedule
FID
May 2015 ◆
COD
2018-Q4 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2010-01
Crown Estate Round 3
- Awarded to
- E.ON Climate & Renewables UK
- Zone
- Hastings (Southern Array) zone
- Basis
- seabed award
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
Farmdown · 2015-05
E.ON → Green Investment Group (Macquarie) 25%
- Stake
- 25%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2015-05
- Project stage
- FID
UK Green Investment Bank acquired 25% from E.ON for GBP 306m. Construction began Sep 2015. GIB stake later transferred to Macquarie when GIB was privatised in 2017. Originally reported GBP 306m.
Evidence
- Green Investment Group (UK Green Investment Bank) — UK Green Investment Bank invests in construction of the Rampion offshore wind farm ↗ 2015-05-18 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Farmdown · 2015-11
E.ON → Enbridge 24.9%
- Stake
- 24.9%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2015-11
- Project stage
- under construction
Enbridge acquired 24.9% for total investment of CAD 750m (GBP 370m), inclusive of interest during construction, transaction costs and development fee — not a clean equity price. E.ON retained 50.1%. Originally reported CAD 750m / GBP 370m.
Evidence
- enbridge.com — Release Details ↗ 2015-11 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Merger · 2019-09
E.ON → RWE 30.1%
- Stake
- 30.1%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2019-09
- Project stage
- operational
Not an arm's-length transaction. Part of the E.ON/RWE/innogy asset swap completed Sep 2019. E.ON's renewables portfolio (including Rampion stake) transferred to RWE as part of broader corporate restructuring. RWE received 30.1% in this initial transfer (E.ON retained 20%).
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Acquisition · 2021-03
E.ON → RWE 20%
- Stake
- 20%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2021-03
- Closed
- 2021-06
- Project stage
- operational
RWE acquired E.ON's remaining 20%, becoming majority owner with 50.1%. Price confidential. Completed the transfer of E.ON's full original holding to RWE. Ownership after: RWE 50.1%, Macquarie/GIG 25%, Enbridge 24.9%.
Evidence
- RWE AG — Offshore wind farm Rampion: Acquisition of 20% E.ON stake makes RWE majority shareholder ↗ 2021-03-12 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Portfolio sale · 2023-04
Green Investment Group (Macquarie) → Equitix 25%
- Stake
- 25%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2023-04
- Closed
- 2023-06
- Project stage
- operational
Part of Macquarie/MEIF5 divestment of 50% of Offshore Wind Company to Equitix — same portfolio as Galloper entry. The 25% Rampion stake was originally the UK Green Investment Bank's position. Ownership after: RWE 50.1%, Equitix 25%, Enbridge 24.9%.
Evidence
- macquarie.com — Macquarie Asset Management to divest stakes in eight UK offshore wind farms ↗ 2023-04 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2018-Q4→2018-Q4 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2018-Q4, unchanged)
Revenue & offtake the regime the project was built under
Offtake regime on record
A built project sells its power under the contract or support regime it was financed with; it is not expected to bid into new government offtake rounds. Where the record does not yet name that regime, the row says so rather than guessing.
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing117≈116 turbines + 1 platform expected · every expected structure seen
Surveyed2026-08-31≈from 116 satellite passes
Built2016-02 → 2018-Q4offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-06≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed117 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-08-31 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortPort of Newhaven ◆operations and maintenance
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-06
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (117)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationRampion Offshore Substation·150/33 kV · in service 2017 · owner TC Rampion OFTO Ltd (Transmission Capital Partners — International Public Partnerships, Amber Infrastructure, Transmission Investment); built by Rampion Offshore Wind Ltd (RWE-operated)
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
Sources & verification
13/18 fields verified · rests on 18 sources (15 primary) · ◆ 10 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator4
[1]
legislation.gov.uk2014-07-16◆ The Rampion Offshore Wind Farm Order 201…
“An ap[plication granted by the Secretary of State] ... The Rampion Offshore Wind Farm Order 2014 ... Made 16th July 2014 ... undertaker means E.ON Climate & Renewables UK Rampion Offshore Wind Limited…”
supportsConsentStatusConnection pointConsent granted
[3]
[14]
[20]
Department for Energy Security and Net Zero2026-05-06◆ Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD…
“REPD Q1 2026 quarterly extract — Ref ID 2520: Site Name "Rampion Offshore Wind Farm (Hastings Zone)", Development Status "Operational", Installed Capacity 400 MWelec, Operator "E.ON UK"”
supportsRegister entry
Operator7
[4]
Green Investment Group (UK Green Investment Bank)2015-05-18◆ UK Green Investment Bank invests in cons…
“UK Green Investment Bank plc (GIB) has acquired a £236m stake in a joint venture with E.ON to construct and own the Rampion offshore wind farm ... The project will now commence construction. ... The U…”
supportsFinal investment decision
[5]
RWE AG2020-09-11◆ Rampion offshore wind farm visitor centr…
“Installation of the 116 turbines was completed in September 2018 when Rampion became the first offshore wind farm off the UK's south coast. The 400MW Rampion Wind Farm and the Visitor Centre is owned …”
supportsTurbinesTotal capacityFoundationDistance from shore
[6]
RWE AG2021-11-19◆ Rampion Offshore Wind Farm: Sale of tran…
“Rampion is a 400 megawatt (MW) wind farm and was commissioned in 2018. It is owned by RWE (50.1%) Macquarie (25%), Enbridge Rampion UK Ltd, a subsidiary Enbridge (24.9%), and RWE Renewables operates t…”
supportsTotal capacity
[9]
[10]
[13]
[21]
National Energy System Operator (NESO)2026-07-21◆ NESO Transmission Entry Capacity (TEC) R…
“NESO TEC Register, edition 21 July 2026 - PRO-000248: "Rampion Offshore Wind Farm", Status "Built", MW Connected 400, Effective From n/a, Customer "RAMPION OFFSHORE WIND LIMITED"”
supportsRegister entry
OEM1
[11]
Vestas (MHI Vestas)2018-11-30◆ Rampion commissioning PR (116 V112-3.45)
“V112-3.45 MW ... 116 ... 400 MW ... commissioned ... November 30, 2018.”
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacityTotal capacity
Trade press6
[12]
Industrial Info Resources2017-12-06
“First power ... December 6, 2017 ... Matthew Swanwick, project director for the Rampion Offshore Wind Farm, made the announcement ... 116 V112 3.45-MW wind turbines. ... First power has been generated…”
supportsFirst powerTurbinesModelUnit capacity
[15]
[16]
[17]
offshoreWIND.biz2015-11-13
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore construction
[18]
offshoreWIND.biz2016-11-10
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore construction
[19]


