Race Bank
Located 27km off North Norfolk coast in Greater Wash area. Round 2 development.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
573 MW ◆
Turbines
91 × 6 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Swt 6-0-154 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◇
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Crown Estate Round 2 · 2003 ·
Water depth
11–18 m ≈
Distance from shore
27 km ◆
Wind speed
9.7 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
Certificate ◆
Grid
Secured ◆
Connection
Walpole 400kV substation (NGET), onshore substation at Walpole … ◆
Schedule
FID
24 Jun 2015 ◆
COD
Feb 2018 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2003-12
Crown Estate Round 2
- Awarded to
- Centrica
- Basis
- seabed award
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
Acquisition · 2013-12
Centrica → Ørsted 100%
- Stake
- 100%
- Consideration
- €61.0m
- Implied 100% value
- €61.0m
- Implied
- €0.10m / MW
- Announced
- 2013-12
- Project stage
- consented
DONG Energy (now Ørsted) acquired 100% of Race Bank development from Centrica for GBP 50m (~DKK 450m). Centrica had held the Crown Estate lease since 2004 (Round 2) and secured consent in 2012, but sold after failing to secure CfD subsidy. Project later obtained Renewables Obligation at 1.8 ROCs/MWh (Jun 2014). Consented capacity up to 580 MW. Converted at GBP/EUR ~1.22 (approximate rate for late 2013). Very low implied value reflects early-development risk — project had consent but no subsidy secured.
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Farmdown · 2016-12
Ørsted → Macquarie (MEIF5 / Macquarie Capital) 50%
- Stake
- 50%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2016-12
- Project stage
- under construction
Macquarie-led consortium acquired 50% during construction phase. Total transaction proceeds ~GBP 1.6bn, comprising equity acquisition price + commitment to fund 50% of remaining capex including transmission assets. Proceeds payable 2016–2018 (project completion). Funded by project finance debt and equity. Ørsted retained 50%, construction management, O&M, and route- to-market. Consortium: MEIF5 (25%), Macquarie Capital (25%, later divested in 2017). 91 x Siemens 6.3 MW turbines, 573 MW. Post-2017 ownership: Ørsted 50%, MEIF5 25%, Sumitomo Corporation 12.5%, GIG/Arjun/Gravis 12.5%. GBP 1.6 billion', payable 2016 until completion (2018). (GBP 1.6bn ~ EUR 1.9bn @ 0.8444 2016-12 ECB avg.)
Evidence
- globenewswire.com — DONG Energy divests 50% of Race Bank Offshore Wind Farm to ↗ 2016-12 ◆ held
- Ørsted A/S — DONG Energy divests 50pct of Race Bank Offshore Wind Farm to Macquarie ↗ 2016-12 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2017
Macquarie Capital → Sumitomo Corporation 12.5%
- Stake
- 12.5%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2017
- Project stage
- under construction
Macquarie's own 2024 release: "A Macquarie Capital and Macquarie European Infrastructure Fund 5 consortium acquired a 50 per cent stake in Race Bank during the construction phase in 2016. Macquarie Capital divested its 25 per cent stake in Race Bank in 2017." Ørsted's opening release (13 Jun 2018) gives the result: "Owned by Ørsted (50%), Macquarie European Infrastructure Fund 5 (25%), Sumitomo Corporation (12.5%) and funds advised by the Green Investment Group, Arjun Infrastructure Partners and Gravis Capital Management (12.5%)". Sumitomo's own case page dates its Race Bank participation to 2017. Two rows carry Macquarie Capital's 25%: this one (Sumitomo 12.5) and the next (the GIG / Arjun / Gravis-advised funds 12.5). Month not stated (announced 2017). Price undisclosed. Written 2026-08-19.
Evidence
- Macquarie Asset Management — Macquarie Asset Management led consortium divests Race Bank stake | Macquarie Group ↗ 2024-04-09 ◆ held
- Ørsted — Race Bank Offshore Wind Farm officially opens ↗ 2018-06-13 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2017
Macquarie Capital → Green Investment Group / Arjun Infrastructure Partners / Gravis Capital Management (advised funds) 12.5%
- Stake
- 12.5%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2017
- Project stage
- under construction
The other half of Macquarie Capital's 25% (see previous row): by Ørsted's opening release (13 Jun 2018) 12.5% was held by "funds advised by the Green Investment Group, Arjun Infrastructure Partners and Gravis Capital Management". Price undisclosed. Written 2026-08-19.
Evidence
- Ørsted — Race Bank Offshore Wind Farm officially opens ↗ 2018-06-13 ◆ held
- Macquarie Asset Management — Macquarie Asset Management led consortium divests Race Bank stake | Macquarie Group ↗ 2024-04-09 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2019-02-14
Sumitomo Corporation → Spring Infrastructure Capital (Sumitomo / SMBC / DBJ fund) 12.5%
- Stake
- 12.5%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2019-02-14
- Project stage
- operational
Sumitomo, SMBC and DBJ established Spring Infrastructure Capital to manage a fund that "will acquire UK assets held by Sumitomo Corporation as seed assets ... the Race Bank Offshore Wind Farm and the Galloper Offshore Wind Farm" (Sumitomo release, 14 Feb 2019; see the Galloper sister row). Sumitomo's Race Bank holding was the 12.5% bought from Macquarie Capital in 2017 (previous rows); Macquarie's 2024 release names the seller of 2024 as "Spring Infrastructure 1 Investment Limited Partnership, a fund managed by Spring Infrastructure Capital Co., Ltd." — consistent with this transfer. Price and completion date not disclosed. Written 2026-08-19.
Evidence
- Sumitomo Corporation — Establishment of Renewable Energy Fund ↗ 2019-02-14 ◆ held
- Macquarie Asset Management — Macquarie Asset Management led consortium divests Race Bank stake | Macquarie Group ↗ 2024-04-09 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2024-04
Macquarie (MEIF5) / Spring Infrastructure → Norges Bank Investment Management (NBIM) 37.5%
- Stake
- 37.5%
- Consideration
- €390m
- Implied 100% value
- €1,039m
- Implied
- €1.81m / MW
- Announced
- 2024-04
- Closed
- 2024-06
- Project stage
- operational
NBIM acquired 37.5% stake (MEIF5's 25% + Spring Infrastructure's 12.5%) for GBP 330m. Agreement signed 9 Apr 2024, completed 14 Jun 2024. NBIM also assumed share of ~GBP 644m project debt facility. NBIM valued the wind farm at ~GBP 2,599m (enterprise value including debt). Implied 100% equity value ~GBP 880m (330/0.375). Converted at approximate GBP/EUR ~1.18 (2024 rate). Post-deal ownership: Ørsted 50%, NBIM 37.5%, Arjun Infrastructure Partners 12.5%. Race Bank operational since Feb 2018 (91 x Siemens 6.3 MW, 573 MW). Subsidy: ROC at 1.8 ROCs/MWh.
Evidence
- nbim.no — New investment in renewable energy infrastructure | Norges Bank Investment Management ↗ 2024-04 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2018-Q1→2018-02 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2018-Q1, unchanged)
Revenue & offtake the regime the project was built under
Offtake regime: ROC 1.8 ROCs/MWh until March 2037
A built project sells its power under the contract or support regime it was financed with; it is not expected to bid into new government offtake rounds. Where the record does not yet name that regime, the row says so rather than guessing.
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing93≈91 turbines + 1 platform expected · 1 more than expected — a met mast, a platform not on the register, or a position the survey missed
Surveyed2026-09-01≈from 118 satellite passes
Built2016 → 2018-02offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed93 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortPort of Grimsby (Grimsby Fish Dock construction base; East Coast Hub O&M)construction and om
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (93)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationRace Bank offshore substations (2, described collectively)·220 AC (export) kV · in service 2018 · owner Diamond Transmission Partners Race Bank (OFTO); built by Race Bank Wind Farm Ltd (Ørsted-led)
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
Sources & verification
14/18 fields verified · rests on 13 sources (11 primary) · ◆ 9 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator2
[1]
Ofgem2016-09◆ Race Bank - Preliminary Information Memo…
“The ROW01 Offshore Wind Farm will be situated 27km north of Blakeney Point off the coast of Norfolk ... Race Bank Wind Farm Limited ... holds the marine licence for the ROW01 Offshore Wind Farm under …”
supportsConsentStatusConnection pointDistance from shoreCoordinates+2 more
[14]
Department for Energy Security and Net Zero2026-05-06◆ Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD…
“REPD Q1 2026 quarterly extract — Ref ID 2515: Site Name "Race Bank (Phase 1)", Development Status "Operational", Installed Capacity 289.8 MWelec, Operator "Orsted (formerly Dong Energy)/ Macquarie Gro…”
supportsRegister entry
Operator7
[2]
Ørsted A/S2018-02◆ Full power at Race Bank Offshore Wind Fa…
“Consists of 91 Siemens Gamesa 6 megawatt (MW) wind turbines. Total capacity of 573MW ... Installation of the wind turbines at Race Bank first began in May 2017, and following successful completion of …”
supportsFirst powerCommercial operationCOD historyTurbinesModel+3 more
[3]
Ørsted A/S2017-05◆ First power at Race Bank Offshore Wind F…
"Race Bank consists of 91 Siemens 6 megawatt (MW) turbines ... Construction of Race Bank is being managed from DONG Energy's construction base in the Grimsby Fish Docks." ... Electricity has been gene…
supportsFirst powerTurbinesModelUnit capacityconstruction and om
[4]
Centrica2012-07-05◆ Centrica receives Government consent for…
“05 July 2012
Centrica receives Government consent for Race Bank wind farm ... Centrica, the parent company of British Gas, today announced that its proposed Race Bank offshore wind farm project has…”
supportsConsentConsent granted
[5]
[6]
DONG Energy A/S2016-12-21◆ DONG Energy divests 50pct of Race Bank O…
“A final investment decision regarding the wind farm was taken by DONG Energy in June 2015. DONG Energy has entered into an agreement to sell 50% of Race Bank, a 573 megawatt (MW) UK offshore wind farm…”
supportsFinal investment decisionOnshore constructionOffshore construction
[10]
Ørsted A/S2025-02◆ Ørsted Annual Report 2024
“Race Bank Wind Farm Limited [2] The UK JO 50% ... Orsted Race Bank (Holding) Ltd The UK S 100%”
supportsoperator
[15]
National Energy System Operator (NESO)2026-07-21◆ NESO Transmission Entry Capacity (TEC) R…
“NESO TEC Register, edition 21 July 2026 - PRO-000213: "Race Bank Wind Farm", Status "Built", MW Connected 565, Effective From n/a, Customer "RACE BANK WIND FARM LIMITED"”
supportsRegister entry
Trade press4
[11]
Macquarie Group2024-06
“divest a 37.5 per cent stake in Race Bank Offshore Wind Farm to Norges Bank Investment Management”
supportsinvestor
[12]
[13]
[16]
Offshore Wind (offshorewind.biz)2016-06-30◆ Innovation Installs First Foundation at …
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFoundation
