Moray West
Located in the Outer Moray Firth. First project to use SG 14-222 DD turbines in Scotland.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
Ocean Winds — 95% ◆IGIgnitis Group — 5% ◆
Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
882 MW ◆
Turbines
60 × 14.7 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Gamesa SG 14-222 DD ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Crown Estate Round 3 · 2010 ·
Water depth
34.6–53.3 m ◆
Distance from shore
22 km ◆
Wind speed
10.2 m/s @ 150 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
CfD · AR4 ◆
Grid
Connected ◆
Connection
Grid connection secured. Blackhillock 400kV substation, Moray. ◆
Schedule
FID
2023 ◆
COD
2025-Q2 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2010-01
Crown Estate Round 3
- Awarded to
- Moray Offshore Renewables (EDPR 75% + SeaEnergy 25%)
- Zone
- Moray Firth zone
- Basis
- seabed award
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
JV entry · 2020-09
Ocean Winds (EDP Renewables / Engie) → Ignitis Renewables 5%
- Stake
- 5%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2020-09
- Project stage
- early development
Lithuanian state-controlled Ignitis Group acquired a 5% minority stake in Moray West from Ocean Winds (the 50:50 EDP Renewables / Engie offshore wind JV). Deal value not disclosed. Ignitis' strategic rationale was to gain offshore wind development experience ahead of Lithuania's first offshore auctions. Ocean Winds retained 95%. Financial close reached April 2023 with GBP 2bn of non-recourse debt. Project fully operational April 2025.
Evidence
- energyvoice.com — Lithuania's Ignitis Group takes 5% stake in Moray West wind farm - News for the Energy Sector ↗ 2020-09 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2025→2025-04 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2025, unchanged)
Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day
CfD-backed — 2 allocation rounds
● CfD · AR4
Price£37.35/MWh ·Basis2012 real · CPI-indexed
Capacity294 MWAwardedJul 2022Term15 yrs · delivery 2026/27
● CfD · AR6
Price£54.23/MWh ·Basis2012 real · CPI-indexed
Capacity73.5 MWAwardedSep 2024Term15 yrs · delivery 2027/28
Money-of-the-day values computed by Hafrok from the United Kingdom CPI index, 2012 real base — actual to 2026-07, then an assumed +2.0%/yr (central-bank target). Cfd terms run 15 years from start of generation in the contracted delivery year.
Contract price over time · £/MWh
solid = actual CPI indexation · dashed = assumed +2.0%/yr
CfD · AR4CfD · AR6
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite installation tracker
counted from satellite radar images · a structure standing in the sea on a given date, not a turbine producing power · a guide, not a sourced fact
Installation · counted from satellite
Foundations60 of 60≈100% · first seen 2019-09-11 · 5 more than the record expects — a met mast, a platform not on the register, or a survey artefact
Turbines64 of 60≈107% · first seen 2019-08-01
Latest count2026-09-01from 957 satellite passes · 1 substation platform left out so the counts compare with the turbine number · anything first seen in the last 60 days is not yet confirmed
Hafrok counts foundations and turbines from satellite radar images (≈): a structure is counted once it is seen standing in the sea, which is not the same as producing power. A structure first seen in the last 60 days is not yet confirmed, because on a single image a freshly set foundation and a ship holding position look alike. Substation platforms are left out so the counts compare with the number of turbines. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers; a supplier or contract appears only where a source states it — everything else reads “not recorded”, never guessed.
Structures standing over time · count
strong line = confirmed · light line = seen in the last 60 days, not yet confirmed · the chart counts every structure (60 turbines + 1 platform); the table counts turbines only
foundationsturbines up (a substation top being set in place counts here too)
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, southbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed66 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortPort of Nigg ◆Marshalling of all 62 foundation transition pieces; turbine marshalling and pre-assembly (Siemens Gamesa); fabrication of J-tube frames
PortPort of Cromarty Firth (Invergordon) ◆Monopile deployment
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (66)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationMoray West offshore transformer modules (2, described collectively)·in service 2024 · owner Ocean Winds
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
Sources & verification
17/18 fields verified · rests on 17 sources (13 primary) · ◆ 13 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator6
[1]
Marine Scotland (Scottish Government Marine Directorate)2019-06-14◆ Moray West S.36 Consent Decision Notice …
“This decision notice contains the Scottish Ministers’ decision to grant consent for the Development detailed above, in accordance with regulation 21 of the 2017 EW regulations.”
supportsConsent
[2]
Marine Scotland (Scottish Government Marine Directorate)2022-05-10◆ Moray West Development Specification and…
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacityTotal capacityFoundation+3 more
[3]
UK Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy (BEIS)2022-07-07◆ Contracts for Difference (CfD) Allocatio…
supportsMechanismDetail
[14]
Department for Energy Security and Net Zero2026-05-06◆ Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD…
“REPD Q1 2026 quarterly extract — Ref ID 6158: Site Name "Moray West Offshore Wind Farm Project", Development Status "Under Construction", Installed Capacity 882 MWelec, Operator "EDPR"”
supportsRegister entry
[16]
Department for Energy Security and Net Zero2026-08-03◆ Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD…
“REPD Q2 2026 quarterly extract — Ref ID 6158: Site Name "Moray West Offshore Wind Farm Project", Development Status "Operational", Installed Capacity 882 MWelec, Operator "EDPR", Record Last Updated 1…”
supportsRegister entry
[18]
Scottish Government Marine Directorate (MD-LOT)2026-08-23◆ Scottish MD-LOT marine projects register…
“Register row "Moray West Offshore Windfarm" (key ml/moray-west-offshore-windfarm): Application stage "Post-consent", type "Renewables - Wind".”
supportsRegister entry
Operator4
[6]
EDP2024-07-03
“Wednesday 3, July 2024 ... The injection of the first power from the Moray West project ... has been successfully achieved. The 882MW wind farm ... 60 turbines of 14.7 MW/unit. ... The injection of th…”
supportsFirst power
[10]
[15]
National Energy System Operator (NESO)2026-07-21◆ NESO Transmission Entry Capacity (TEC) R…
“NESO TEC Register, edition 21 July 2026 - PRO-001130: "Moray West Offshore Windfarm", Status "Built", MW Connected 860, Effective From n/a, Customer "MORAY OFFSHORE WINDFARM (WEST) LIMITED"”
supportsRegister entry
[17]
Ocean Winds2023-09-06◆ Moray west offshore wind farm selects po…
“The Port of Nigg in the Cromarty Firth, Scotland, owned and operated by Global Energy Group (GEG), has been selected by Moray West as the location for marshalling of all 62 transition pieces (TPs) pri…”
supportsMarshalling of all 62 foundation transition pieces; turbine marshalling and pre-assembly (Siemens Gamesa); fabrication of J-tube framesMonopile deployment
Financier1
[4]
Ignitis Group2023-04-21◆ Financial close achieved for Moray West …
“Ocean Winds ... and by Ignitis Renewables as a minority shareholder of 5 percent. ... reached financial close. (21 April 2023) ... secured £2bn of non-recourse project finance and reached financial cl…”
supportsFinal investment decision
Auction results2
[19]
BEIS (gov.uk)2022-07◆ cfd-ar4-results-2022
Offshore Wind (Pot 3) cleared GBP 37.35, delivery 2026/27: Inch Cape Phase 1 1,080.00 MW; EA3 Phase 1 1,372.34 MW; Norfolk Boreas Phase 1 1,396.00 MW; Hornsea Project Three 2,852.00 MW; Moray West 294…
supportsCfD · AR4
[20]
DESNZ (gov.uk)2024-09◆ cfd-ar6-results-2024
New offshore wind (Pot 3) GBP 58.87, 2028/29: Hornsea Project Four 2,400.00 MW; East Anglia Two Phase 1 963.07 MW. Offshore Wind Permitted Reduction GBP 54.23, 2027/28: Inch Cape A 177.41 / B 88.70 MW…
supportsCfD · AR6
Trade press4
[7]
Offshore Wind Scotland2025-04-24◆ Moray West becomes fully operational | O…
“The Moray West offshore wind farm reached full power and was officially switched on (24/04/2025). The Port of Nigg dealt with the turbines and the monopiles were deployed from the Port of Cromarty Fir…”
supportsCommercial operationCOD historyStatusConnection pointMarshalling of all 62 foundation transition pieces; turbine marshalling and pre-assembly (Siemens Gamesa); fabrication of J-tube frames+1 more
[11]
Power Technology (GlobalData)2022-07-19
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore construction
[12]
offshoreWIND.biz2023-10-05
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore construction
[13]