Lincs
Located 8km off Skegness, Lincolnshire. Round 2 development.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
270 MW ◆
Turbines
75 × 3.6 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Swt 3-6-120 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Crown Estate Round 2 · 2003 ·
Water depth
8–18 m ◆
Distance from shore
8 km ◆
Wind speed
9.4 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
Other ∅
Grid
Secured · 2014-11-04 ◆
Connection
Walpole 400kV substation, Norfolk, via 132kV subsea export … ◆
Schedule
FID
Oct 2009 ◆
COD
1 Aug 2013 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2003-12
Crown Estate Round 2
- Awarded to
- Centrica
- Basis
- seabed award
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
JV entry · 2009-12
Centrica → Ørsted / Siemens Project Ventures 50%
- Stake
- 50%
- Consideration
- €59.0m
- Implied 100% value
- €117m
- Implied
- €0.43m / MW
- Announced
- 2009-12
- Closed
- 2010-01
- Project stage
- pre-FID
Centrica sold 50% of the Lincs project to DONG Energy (now Ørsted) and Siemens Project Ventures (25% each) for GBP 50m development cost contribution plus pro-rata share of future construction costs (total project capex ~GBP 750m). The GBP 50m upfront was the equity consideration for 50% of incurred development costs. Converted at GBP/EUR ~1.17 (2010 average).
Evidence
- orsted.com — DONG Energy and Siemens Project Ventures to join UK offshore wind farm project ↗ 2009-12 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Divestment · 2017-01
Centrica / Siemens Project Ventures → Green Investment Group (GIB Offshore Wind Fund) 75%
- Stake
- 75%
- Consideration
- €506m
- Implied 100% value
- €674m
- Implied
- €2.50m / MW
- Announced
- 2017-01
- Closed
- 2017-Q1
- Project stage
- operational
Centrica (50%) and Siemens Project Ventures (25%) jointly sold their combined 75% stake to the UK Green Investment Bank Offshore Wind Fund (44%) and GIB plc (31%) for GBP 429m aggregate. Centrica's net proceeds after debt ~GBP 220m. Converted at GBP/EUR ~1.18 midpoint. Ørsted retained 25%. Macquarie (GIG) is fund manager for the GIB Offshore Wind Fund.
Evidence
- offshoreWIND.biz — Green Investment Bank Buys 75% Stake in Lincs Offshore Wind Farm as Centrica Bows Out ↗ 2017-01 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2022-09-16
Macquarie European Infrastructure Fund 5 (MEIF5) → Octopus Energy Generation (Octopus Renewables Infrastructure Trust / Sky fund) stake not disclosed
- Stake
- not disclosed
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2022-09-16
- Project stage
- operational
"Macquarie European Infrastructure Fund 5's minority stake in Lincs, which it has held since 2017, has been acquired by Octopus Renewables Infrastructure Trust and Sky (ORI SCSp), funds managed by Octopus Energy Generation ... Macquarie Green Investment Group Renewable Energy Fund 1 will continue to manage a 44 per cent stake in Lincs following this transaction" (Macquarie, 16 Sep 2022). MEIF5's stake was part of the 31% GIB plc took DIRECTLY in January 2017 (the 44% went to the GIB Offshore Wind Fund, now REF1). Written 2026-08-18.
Evidence
- Macquarie Asset Management — Macquarie Asset Management sells minority stake in Lincs Offshore Wind Farm | Macquarie Group ↗ 2022-09 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2013-Q3→2013-08-01 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2013-Q3, unchanged)
Revenue & offtake the regime the project was built under
Offtake regime on record
RegimeRenewables Obligation: 2.0 ROCs/MWh (offshore wind, accredited 2013, ROO 2009 banding — rate per policy table, project-specific Ofgem accreditation not confirmed)
A built project sells its power under the contract or support regime it was financed with; it is not expected to bid into new government offtake rounds. Where the record does not yet name that regime, the row says so rather than guessing.
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing76≈75 turbines + 1 platform expected · every expected structure seen
Surveyed2026-09-01≈from 118 satellite passes
Built2011-03 → 2013-08-01offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed76 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortPort of Hull (ABP) ◆construction base
PortPort of Grimsby ◆operations base
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (76)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationLincs Offshore Substation Platform (OSP)·132/33 kV · in service 2012 · owner TC Lincs OFTO Ltd (Transmission Capital Partners / Transmission Investment); assets built by Lincs Wind Farm Limited (Centrica / Ørsted / Siemens Project Ventures JV)
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
Sources & verification
16/18 fields verified · rests on 14 sources (11 primary) · ◆ 8 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator2
[11]
Ofgem2014-11-04◆ Ofgem grants £308 million transmission a…
“Ofgem grants £308 million transmission assets licence for Lincs wind farm on 4 November 2014. TC Lincs OFTO Limited granted transmission licence. The wind farm comprises 75 3.6MW turbines, giving a ca…”
supportsTurbinesUnit capacityTotal capacityStatusConnection point+1 more
[17]
Department for Energy Security and Net Zero2026-05-06◆ Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD…
“REPD Q1 2026 quarterly extract — Ref ID 2513: Site Name "Centrica (Lincs)", Development Status "Operational", Installed Capacity 270 MWelec, Operator "Ørsted"”
supportsRegister entry
Operator4
[1]
Ørsted A/S (then DONG Energy)2017-01-12◆ DONG Energy to provide operation and mai…
“DONG Energy has today agreed to enter into a long-term contract to provide operation and maintenance ('O&M') services to Lincs Offshore Wind Farm ('Lincs'), a 270MW offshore wind farm located off the …”
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore constructionCommercial operationCOD historyTurbines+3 more
[18]
National Energy System Operator (NESO)2026-07-21◆ NESO Transmission Entry Capacity (TEC) R…
“NESO TEC Register, edition 21 July 2026 - PRO-000215: "Lincs Offshore Wind Farm", Status "Built", MW Connected 265, Effective From n/a, Customer "LINCS WIND FARM LIMITED"”
supportsRegister entry
[19]
Macquarie Asset Management2022-09-16◆ Macquarie Asset Management sells minorit…
“Macquarie European Infrastructure Fund 5's minority stake in Lincs, which it has held since 2017, has been acquired by Octopus Renewables Infrastructure Trust and Sky (ORI SCSp), funds managed by Octo…”
supportsowner
[20]
Octopus Energy2023-02◆ Octopus Energy makes more waves in offsh…
“Octopus further invests in the 270 MW Lincs offshore wind farm off the east coast of England, increasing Octopus' stake in Lincs to 31%. Octopus Energy Generation's fund management team previously man…”
supportsowner
OEM1
[10]
Siemens AG (UK)2010
“Siemens Energy won a major order to implement grid connection for the Lincs offshore wind farm. The offshore substation steps up voltage from 33kV (turbines) to 132kV transmission voltage. High-voltag…”
supportsStatusConnection point
Trade press7
[6]
Offshore Wind Biz2013-08-01◆ UK: Lincs Offshore Wind Farm Inaugurated…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFirst powerDistance from shoreoperations base
[7]
Offshore Wind Biz2013-04-02
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsTurbinesUnit capacity
[8]
Proactive Investors2009-10-28◆ Centrica to start construction of 270 me…
"Centrica plc announced that its 270 megawatt Lincs offshore wind project has received final investment approval, and that construction is expected to begin in 2010." ... Centrica plc (LSE: CNA) annou…
supportsFinal investment decision
[12]
NS Energy Business (GlobalData)2024
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsConsentModelFoundationWater depthDistance from shore+3 more
[14]
Transmission Capital Partners / Transmission Investment2024
“TC Lincs OFTO Ltd acquired transmission assets and received its transmission licence on November 11, 2014. Transfer value approximately £307.7 million. Export cables operate at 132kV with combined off…”
supportsStatusConnection point
[15]
Macquarie Group2022-09
“Macquarie Green Investment Group Renewable Energy Fund 1 will continue to manage a 44 per cent stake in Lincs”
supportsoperator
[16]
