Hornsea One
Located 120km off Yorkshire coast. O&M from East Coast Hub, Grimsby.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
Ørsted — 37.55% ◆
Equitix — 14.85% ◆
Brookfield — 12.45% ◆
Greencoat UK Wind — 10.55% ◆
TRIG — 10.15% ◆GIGLIL Infrastructure — 6.25% ◆
OGOctopus Energy Generation — 6.25% ◆
SGSchroders Greencoat — 1.95% ◆
Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
1,218 MW ◆
Turbines
174 × 7 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Swt 7-0-154 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Crown Estate Round 3 · 2010 ·
Water depth
20–40 m ◆
Distance from shore
120 km ◆
Wind speed
10.0 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
CfD · FIDeR ◆
Grid
Connected ◆
Connection
Grid connection secured. Landfall at Horseshoe Point. Onshore … ◆
Schedule
FID
2016 ◆
COD
Dec 2019 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2010-01
Crown Estate Round 3
- Awarded to
- SMart Wind (Mainstream Renewable Power + Siemens Project Ventures)
- Zone
- Hornsea zone
- Basis
- seabed award
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
JV entry · 2011-12
SMart Wind → Ørsted 33.34%
- Stake
- 33.34%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2011-12
- Project stage
- early development
DONG Energy (now Ørsted) entered the Hornsea Project One joint venture with SMart Wind (a 50/50 JV of Mainstream Renewable Power and Siemens Financial Services) in December 2011, with an option over the remaining 66.66% exercisable on consent — so DONG's entry stake is 33.34% by arithmetic (100 − 66.66). Consideration undisclosed.
Evidence
- DONG Energy (Ørsted company announcement) — DONG Energy acquires full ownership of Hornsea Project One offshore wind farm development ↗ 2015-02-04 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Acquisition · 2015-02-04
SMart Wind → Ørsted 66.66%
- Stake
- 66.66%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2015-02-04
- Closed
- 2015-02
- Project stage
- consented
DONG Energy (now Ørsted) exercised its option and acquired the remaining 66.66% of Hornsea Project One from SMart Wind, becoming sole owner: 'DONG Energy has acquired the remaining 66.66% ownership interest in the UK offshore wind development Hornsea Project One from its joint venture partner SMart Wind ... Consent was granted in December 2014 and DONG Energy, having exercised its option, has become the sole owner of the project.' Consideration undisclosed. Present tense 'has acquired' at announcement — closed dated to the same month.
Evidence
- DONG Energy (Ørsted company announcement) — DONG Energy acquires full ownership of Hornsea Project One offshore wind farm development ↗ 2015-02-04 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Farmdown · 2018-09
Ørsted → GIP 50%
- Stake
- 50%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2018-09
- Closed
- 2018-11
- Project stage
- under construction
GIP acquired 50% from Ørsted. Total commitment ~GBP 4.46bn comprising equity price + 50% of EPC contract payments — equity consideration to Ørsted not separately disclosed. GIP financed via GBP 3.5bn+ project bonds, bank loans and mezzanine debt (PFA). Third Ørsted-GIP offshore wind partnership. (GBP 4.46bn ~ EUR 5.0bn @ 0.8928 2018-09 ECB avg.)
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2022-03
GIP → TRIG / Equitix 12.5%
- Stake
- 12.5%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2022-03
- Closed
- 2022-06
- Project stage
- operational
Combined 12.5% stake acquired by consortium of TRIG (7.8%) and Equitix (4.7%). Deal value not disclosed. First tranche of GIP's full exit from Hornsea One.
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2022-05
GIP → Greencoat 12.5%
- Stake
- 12.5%
- Consideration
- €472m
- Implied 100% value
- €3,776m
- Implied
- €3.10m / MW
- Announced
- 2022-05
- Closed
- 2022-08
- Project stage
- operational
Equity consideration ~GBP 400m for 12.5% stake. Second tranche of GIP's exit. Originally reported GBP 400m, converted at GBP/EUR ~1.18 (2022).
Evidence
- offshoreWIND.biz — Greencoat UK Buys Stake in Hornsea One ↗ 2022-05 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2022-07
GIP → TRIG / Equitix 12.5%
- Stake
- 12.5%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2022-07
- Closed
- 2022-09
- Project stage
- operational
Additional stake acquired by TRIG (+2.4%, total 10.15%) and Equitix (+10.15%, total 14.85%). Combined ~12.5% from GIP. Deal value not disclosed. Third tranche of GIP's exit. Daiwa Energy & Infrastructure co-invested 3.3% within Equitix's allocation (announced Mar 2023, not a separate arm's-length transaction).
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2022-08
GIP → Octopus Energy Generation / GLIL Infrastructure 12.5%
- Stake
- 12.5%
- Consideration
- €472m
- Implied 100% value
- €3,776m
- Implied
- €3.10m / MW
- Announced
- 2022-08
- Closed
- 2022-10
- Project stage
- operational
GBP 400m total — GBP 200m each from Octopus Energy Generation (on behalf of Nest pension scheme, 6.25%) and GLIL Infrastructure (6.25%). Final tranche of GIP's complete exit from its 50% Hornsea One position. Originally reported GBP 400m, converted at GBP/EUR ~1.18 (2022).
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Portfolio sale · 2024-10
Ørsted → Brookfield 12.45%
- Stake
- 12.45%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2024-10
- Closed
- 2024-12
- Project stage
- operational
On 30 October 2024, Ørsted announced the divestment of 12.45% minority stakes in four of its operational UK offshore wind farms — Hornsea 1 (1,218 MW), Hornsea 2 (1,320 MW), Walney Extension (659 MW), and Burbo Bank Extension (258 MW) — to Brookfield Infrastructure Fund V, a fund managed by Brookfield Asset Management. The combined transaction value is GBP 1.745 billion (approximately EUR 2,059m at GBP/EUR 1.18 for 2024). The transaction completed on 31 December 2024. The combined deal value is NOT repeated at record level to avoid double-counting across the four companion records (Hornsea One, Hornsea Two, Walney Extension, Burbo Bank Extension). Combined portfolio: 3,455 MW. Implied 100% equity value of combined portfolio: EUR 2,059m / 12.45% × 100% = EUR 16,547m. Per MW (combined): EUR 16,547m / 3,455 MW × 1,000,000 = EUR 4,790,000/MW — above the upper end of the operational range (EUR 1,800k–4,500k/MW); reflects CfD premium on inflation-linked UK contracts. All four assets are fully operational under long-term inflation-linked CfDs. Ørsted retains a 37.55% ownership interest in all four assets and continues to exercise control/governance. The agreement includes a call option for Ørsted to repurchase the assets at a pre-agreed price between 2 and 7 years after closing. Hornsea 1 capacity: 174 turbines × 7 MW = 1,218 MW. COD: December 2019 / April 2020. FX: GBP 1,745m × 1.18 = EUR 2,059m. Data confidence: HIGH — deal value confirmed by Ørsted and Brookfield press releases.
Evidence
- Ørsted A/S — Orsted divests share of four UK offshore wind farms to Brookfield ↗ 2024-10 ◆ held
- bep.brookfield.com — Brookfield Acquires Share of Four UK Offshore Wind Farms from Ørsted ↗ 2024-10 ◆ held
- globenewswire.com — Brookfield Acquires Share of Four UK Offshore Wind Farms ↗ 2024-10 ◆ held
- Ørsted A/S — Ørsted completes divestment of share of four UK offshore wind farms ↗ 2024-12 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2025-07-30
Greencoat UK Wind → Schroders Greencoat (managed funds) 1.95%
- Stake
- 1.95%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2025-07-30
- Closed
- 2025-Q3
- Project stage
- operational
Greencoat UK Wind plc (UKW) sold down part of the 12.5% it bought from GIP in Aug 2022, in two tranches to two funds managed by Schroders Greencoat LLP (its own manager): 1% completed 30 Jul 2025 'for a gross asset value of £69 million ... includes £39 million of UKW's proportional share of limited recourse project level debt; the equity consideration represents the NAV of the disposed interest as at 30 June 2025', plus 'a further stake ... of the same size and on the same terms' expected Aug 2025. Leaves UKW at 10.55%.
Evidence
- Greencoat UK Wind plc (RNS via Investegate) — Sell-down of interests in three wind farms ↗ 2025-07-30 ◆ held
- Greencoat UK Wind plc (RNS via Investegate) — Greencoat UK Wind plc Final Results Announcement FY2025 ↗ 2026-02-26 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2020→2020→2019-12 · 3 recorded revisions · pulled forward -0.5 yr (first announced 2020)
Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day
1,200 MW contracted — investment contract
● Investment contract · FID Enabling for Renewables (FIDeR) investment contracts
Price£140/MWh ·Basis2012 real · CPI-indexed
Capacity1,200 MWAwardedApr 2014Term15 yrs · delivery 2018/19
Money-of-the-day values computed by Hafrok from the United Kingdom CPI index, 2012 real base — actual to 2026-07, then an assumed +2.0%/yr (central-bank target). Investment contract terms run 15 years from start of generation in the contracted delivery year.
Contract price over time · £/MWh
solid = actual CPI indexation · dashed = assumed +2.0%/yr
Investment contract · FID Enabling for Renewables (FIDeR) investment contracts
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing174≈174 turbines + 2 platforms expected · 2 fewer than expected — a position the survey missed
Surveyed2026-09-01≈from 114 satellite passes
Built2018-01 → 2019-12offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed174 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortPort of Grimsby ◆O&M base (East Coast Hub)
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (174)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 2
Offshore substationHornsea One offshore substations (3, described collectively)·owner Diamond Transmission Partners Hornsea One (OFTO); built by Ørsted
Offshore substationHornsea One Reactive Compensation Station·owner Diamond Transmission Partners Hornsea One (OFTO); built by Ørsted
Sources & verification
17/18 fields verified · rests on 18 sources (17 primary) · ◆ 13 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator2
[1]
Planning Inspectorate / DECC (UK Government)2014-12-10◆ Hornsea One Offshore Wind Farm variation…
“On 10 December 2014, the Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change granted a Development Consent Order (DCO) for Hornsea One Offshore Wind Farm.”
supportsConsent
[16]
Department for Energy Security and Net Zero2026-05-06◆ Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD…
“REPD Q1 2026 quarterly extract — Ref ID 2525: Site Name "Hornsea 1 - Heron & Njord", Development Status "Operational", Installed Capacity 1218 MWelec, Operator "Orsted (formerly Dong Energy)"”
supportsRegister entry
Operator5
[4]
Ørsted2019-02-22◆ The worlds biggest offshore wind farm Ho…
“2019-02-15T08:00:00.0000000Z ... The first turbine at the world's biggest offshore wind farm has been installed and is now producing electricity.”
supportsFirst power
[5]
Ørsted2019-06-01◆ Our Offshore Wind Farms
supportsCommercial operationStatusConnection pointO&M base (East Coast Hub)
[9]
National Audit Office2014-06◆ Early contracts for renewable electricit…
"Administrative strike prices by commissioning date and technology (2012 GBP/MWh)" - Offshore wind: 2016-17 150; 2017-18 140; 2018-19 140. FIDeR strikes are CPI-indexed; the same strike applies to all…
supportsMechanismDetail
[17]
National Energy System Operator (NESO)2026-07-21◆ NESO Transmission Entry Capacity (TEC) R…
“NESO TEC Register, edition 21 July 2026 - PRO-000315: "Hornsea Power Station 1A", Status "Built", MW Connected 400, Effective From n/a, Customer "HORNSEA 1 LIMITED"; PRO-000331: "Hornsea Power Station…”
supportsRegister entry
[21]
Octopus Energy2022-08-03◆ Octopus Energy and Nest form joint ventu…
“Octopus Energy Generation's fund management team is investing £200m in Hornsea One on behalf of Nest, one of the UK's largest pension schemes representing a third of the UK workforce. Through a joint …”
supportsfinancial
Financier4
[8]
Ørsted / Brookfield2024-10-30
“Brookfield ... 12.45% minority stakes in four of Ørsted's operational U.K. offshore wind farms. ... Ørsted will retain a 37.55% ownership interest in the four assets.”
supportsoperatorfinancial
[18]
Equitix2024-07-01◆ Equitix — Hornsea One (portfolio page, s…
“The asset is operated by Orsted. The shareholders are Orsted (50%), Equitix (14.85%), TRIG (10.15%), Greencoat (12.5%), GLIL (6.25%) and Octopus (6.25%).”
supportsfinancial
[22]
Greencoat UK Wind plc (RNS via Investegate)2025-07-30◆ Sell-down of interests in three wind far…
“The Company will also today dispose of a 1 per cent interest in Hornsea 1 offshore wind farm for a gross asset value of £69 million. This includes £39 million of UKW's proportional share of limited re…”
supportsfinancial
[23]
Greencoat UK Wind plc (RNS via Investegate)2026-02-26◆ Greencoat UK Wind plc Final Results Anno…
“In Q3 2025, the Group disposed of 32.7 per cent interests in Andershaw and Bishopthorpe onshore wind farms as well as a 1.95 per cent interest in Hornsea 1 offshore wind farm for £181 million of which…”
supportsfinancial
Auction results1
[25]
Low Carbon Contracts Company (LCCC)2026-07-31◆ lccc-portfolio-status-2026-07
Investment Contract units, all 'Live (Post-FIC)': INV-BUR-001 Burbo Bank Extension; INV-DUD-001/002/003 Dudgeon; INV-WAL-001/002 Walney Extension; INV-BEA-001/002 Beatrice; INV-HOR-001/002/003 Hornsea…
supportsInvestment contract · FID Enabling for Renewables (FIDeR) investment contracts
Trade press6
[6]
Tethys (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory)◆ Hornsea 1 | Tethys
“1218 MW. 174 turbines. SWT-7.0-154. Monopile.”
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacityTotal capacityFoundation+2 more
[7]
Power Technology
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFinal investment decisionCoordinates
[10]
offshoreWIND.biz2016-11-03
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore construction
[11]
offshoreWIND.biz2018-01-26
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore construction
[12]
offshoreWIND.biz2020-01-30◆ World's Largest Offshore Wind Farm Fully…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsCommercial operationCOD history
[13]