East Anglia ONE
Located in the southern North Sea off Suffolk coast. 714 MW grid connection.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
ScottishPower Renewables — 60% ◆INThe Renewables Infrastructure Group — 14.3% ◆
ICInfraRed Capital Partners (IREIIF4) — 5.7% ◆
LNL&G NTR Clean Power Fund — 5% ◆
DBDevelopment Bank of Japan — 5% ◆
OGOctopus Energy Generation — 10% ◆
Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
714 MW ◆
Turbines
102 × 7 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Swt 7-0-154 ◆
Foundation
Jacket ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Crown Estate Round 3 · 2010 ·
Water depth
40–55 m ≈
Distance from shore
43 km ◆
Wind speed
9.6 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
CfD · AR1 · £119.89/MWh ◆
Grid
Secured ◆
Connection
Bramford 400kV substation, Suffolk ◆
Schedule
FID
24 Feb 2016 ◆
COD
2020-Q3 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2010-01
Crown Estate Round 3
- Awarded to
- East Anglia Offshore Wind Ltd (ScottishPower Renewables + Vattenfall)
- Zone
- Norfolk Bank (East Anglia) zone
- Basis
- seabed award
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
Farmdown · 2019-08
ScottishPower Renewables (Iberdrola) → Green Investment Group (Macquarie) 40%
- Stake
- 40%
- Consideration
- €1,756m
- Implied 100% value
- €4,417m
- Implied
- €6.51m / MW
- Announced
- 2019-08
- Closed
- 2019-09
- Project stage
- under construction
40% stake sold to Macquarie's Green Investment Group. Iberdrola retained 60%. Project in advanced construction — first turbine installed June 2019, full commissioning July 2020. Entire project valued at GBP 4.1bn; Iberdrola received GBP 1,630m for the 40% stake. Originally reported GBP 1,630m, converted at GBP/EUR ~1.14.
Evidence
- iberdrola.com — Iberdrola sells 40% of East Anglia One to GIG, the entire wind farm is valued at £4.1 billion ↗ 2019-08 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2020-11
Green Investment Group (Macquarie) → TRIG (14.3%) / InfraRed EIIF4 (5.7%) 20%
- Stake
- 20%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2020-11
- Closed
- 2021-03
- Project stage
- operational
GIG sold 50% of its holding company stake, equivalent to 20% indirect equity in the project — split between TRIG (14.3%) and InfraRed European Infrastructure Income Fund 4 (5.7%). Deal value not disclosed. Media referenced project valuation of ~GBP 4bn at deal time. Subject to Crown Estate consent; completed Q1 2021. Following this, GIG/Macquarie retained 20%.
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2024-05
Macquarie Asset Management → L&G NTR Clean Power (Europe) Fund / Development Bank of Japan 10%
- Stake
- 10%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2024-05
- Project stage
- operational
Macquarie divested half of its remaining 20% stake. Acquired by L&G NTR Clean Power (Europe) Fund (a joint partnership between NTR and Legal & General Investment Management) alongside the Development Bank of Japan Inc. Deal value not disclosed. Following this, Macquarie retained 10%.
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2025-04
Macquarie Asset Management → Octopus Energy Generation (Vector fund) 10%
- Stake
- 10%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2025-04
- Project stage
- operational
Macquarie's final exit from East Anglia ONE — disposed of its remaining 10% indirect equity interest. Acquired by Octopus Energy Generation on behalf of Vector, its offshore wind fund. Deal value not disclosed. Octopus's fourth UK offshore wind investment and seventh in Europe.
Evidence
- octopus.energy — Octopus Energy charters ahead with investment in offshore wind farm East Anglia One ↗ 2025-04 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2018→2020-07 · 2 recorded revisions · slipped +2.0 yr (first announced 2018)
Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day
CfD-backed offtake
● CfD · AR1
Price£119.89/MWh ·Basis2012 real · CPI-indexed
Capacity714 MWAwardedFeb 2015Term15 yrs · delivery 2017/18
Money-of-the-day values computed by Hafrok from the United Kingdom CPI index, 2012 real base — actual to 2026-07, then an assumed +2.0%/yr (central-bank target). Cfd terms run 15 years from start of generation in the contracted delivery year.
Contract price over time · £/MWh
solid = actual CPI indexation · dashed = assumed +2.0%/yr
CfD · AR1
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite installation tracker
counted from satellite radar images · a structure standing in the sea on a given date, not a turbine producing power · a guide, not a sourced fact
Installation · counted from satellite
Foundations102 of 102≈100% · first seen 2018-05-10 · 1 more than the record expects — a met mast, a platform not on the register, or a survey artefact
Turbines102 of 102≈100% · first seen 2019-03-30
Latest count2021-12-31from 955 satellite passes · 1 substation platform left out so the counts compare with the turbine number · the count has ended: the build is complete
Hafrok counts foundations and turbines from satellite radar images (≈): a structure is counted once it is seen standing in the sea, which is not the same as producing power. A structure first seen in the last 60 days is not yet confirmed, because on a single image a freshly set foundation and a ship holding position look alike. Substation platforms are left out so the counts compare with the number of turbines. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers; a supplier or contract appears only where a source states it — everything else reads “not recorded”, never guessed.
Structures standing over time · count
strong line = confirmed · light line = seen in the last 60 days, not yet confirmed · the chart counts every structure (102 turbines + 1 platform); the table counts turbines only
foundationsturbines up (a substation top being set in place counts here too)
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-05≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, southbound pass · 2 newer passes skipped because the satellite’s track only caught part of the farm (the best of them 73%)
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed104 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2021-12-31 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortPeel Ports Great Yarmouth ◆construction
PortPort of Lowestoft (ABP Hamilton Dock) ◆operations and maintenance
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-05
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (104)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationAndalucia II offshore substation·66/220 kV · owner ScottishPower Renewables; OFTO transfer to TC East Anglia One OFTO Ltd expected Q3 2022 (completion unconfirmed in fetched sources)
Sources & verification
14/18 fields verified · rests on 18 sources (10 primary) · ◆ 6 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator3
[1]
Planning Inspectorate2014-06-17◆ East Anglia ONE Offshore Windfarm - Proj…
“Application EN010025 - post-decision stage, application granted. 17 June 2014: the Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change issued the East Anglia ONE offshore wind farm order. 43km from the S…”
supportsConsentDistance from shoreConsent granted
[2]
DECC2015-02◆ CfD Allocation Round 1 results (Official…
“East Anglia ONE CfD Allocation Round 1, strike price GBP 119.89/MWh (2012 prices). ... DECC has today 26 February 2015 at 7AM published the outcome of the first allocation round ... EA 1 | Scottishpow…”
supportsMechanismStrike / priceDetailCfD · AR1
[21]
Department for Energy Security and Net Zero2026-05-06◆ Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD…
“REPD Q1 2026 quarterly extract — Ref ID 2524: Site Name "East Anglia 1 (EA 1)", Development Status "Operational", Installed Capacity 714 MWelec, Operator "Scottish Power Renewables"”
supportsRegister entry
Operator3
[20]
Green Investment Group (Macquarie)2020-07-27◆ East Anglia reaches major milestone with…
“All 102 turbines, situated 43km off the Suffolk coast, are now fully operational and have the capacity to produce 714 MW of clean power, enough to power the equivalent of more than 630,000 homes.”
supportsCOD history
[22]
National Energy System Operator (NESO)2026-07-21◆ NESO Transmission Entry Capacity (TEC) R…
“NESO TEC Register, edition 21 July 2026 - PRO-000268: "East Anglia One", Status "Built", MW Connected 680, Effective From n/a, Customer "EAST ANGLIA ONE LIMITED"”
supportsRegister entry
[23]
Iberdrola2026-02-24◆ Iberdrola — gsm26 annual accounts consol…
“the recognition in 2025 of the insurance compensation for the East Anglia One cable failure that occurred in 2024”
supportsStatus note
Trade press12
[3]
Offshore Wind Biz2016-02-24
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFinal investment decision
[4]
NS Energy Business
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore construction
[6]
Offshore Wind Biz2019-09-12
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFirst power
[8]
Offshore Wind Biz2016-03-02
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsconstruction
[9]
Offshore Wind Biz2019-10-18
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsoperations and maintenance
[13]
Transmission Investment
“Onshore Grid Connection Point: Bramford. The 220kV export route is 85km offshore and 37km onshore and comes ashore close to the village of Bawdsey. A single 220/66kV offshore substation steps up the v…”
supportsStatusConnection point
[14]
Power Technology
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsTurbinesUnit capacityTotal capacityFoundationDistance from shore
[15]
Offshore Wind Biz2021-09-27
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsCommercial operationModel
[16]
offshoreWIND.biz2025-04
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsoperatorowner
[17]
4C Offshore (TGS)2026-07-02
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsCoordinates
[18]
[19]