Burbo Bank Extension
Extension to Burbo Bank (2007). Located west of original farm in Liverpool Bay.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
Ørsted — 37.55% ◆KIKIRKBI — 25% ◆
Greencoat UK Wind — 15.7% ◆GRGreencoat Renewable Income LP — 9.3% ◆
BRBrookfield Renewable Partners — 12.45% ◆
Location
Irish Sea
Technology
Capacity
258 MW ◆
Turbines
32 × 8 MW ◆
Model
Mhi Vestas V164 8-0 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Crown Estate Round 1 & 2 site extensions (2010) · 2010 ·
Water depth
3.5–17 m ◆
Distance from shore
7 km ◆
Wind speed
9.1 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
CfD · FIDeR · £150/MWh ◆
Grid
Secured · 2017-Q2 ◆
Connection
Onshore substation at Bodelwyddan; 400kV connection to National … ◆
Schedule
FID
Dec 2014 ◆
COD
2017-Q2 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2010-05
Crown Estate Round 1 & 2 site extensions (2010)
- Awarded to
- Dong Wind UK
- Basis
- seabed award
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
Farmdown · 2016-02
Ørsted → PKA / KIRKBI (LEGO Group) 50%
- Stake
- 50%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2016-02
- Closed
- 2016-Q2
- Project stage
- under construction
DONG Energy (now Ørsted) sold 50% of Burbo Bank Extension to Danish pension fund PKA (25%) and KIRKBI A/S, parent of the LEGO Group (25%). Total commitment approximately GBP 660m payable 2016-2017, comprising equity acquisition price + 50% share of remaining construction costs — not separable. Consistent with treatment of Hornsea One/GIP, Race Bank/Macquarie, and Walney Extension/PKA-PFA deals. Total project capex ~GBP 500m. Farm commissioned April 2017. Ørsted retained 50% and O&M responsibility. (GBP 660m ~ EUR 851m @ 0.7756 2016-02 ECB avg.)
Evidence
- orsted.com — DONG Energy divests 50% of the UK offshore wind farm project Burbo Bank Extension to PKA and the LEGO Group ↗ 2016-02 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2021-11
PKA (via AIP Management) → Greencoat UK Wind / Greencoat Renewable Income LP 25%
- Stake
- 25%
- Consideration
- €295m
- Implied 100% value
- €1,879m
- Implied
- €7.28m / MW
- Announced
- 2021-11
- Project stage
- operational
Greencoat UK Wind plc (UKW) "agreed to acquire a 25% stake in Burbo Bank Extension offshore wind farm from AIP, in partnership with a number of pension funds investing through Greencoat Renewable Income LP, a fund also managed by Greencoat Capital. UKW will acquire a net 15.7% stake in the wind farm for a total cash consideration (including cash and working capital) of GBP 250 million" (RNS, 2 Nov 2021); "scheduled to complete on 30 November 2021". The seller is PKA's 25% (the 2016 farmdown tranche), sold by its manager AIP Management. The LP's share is 25 - 15.7 = 9.3% by arithmetic; the RNS states only UKW's net stake.
Evidence
- Greencoat UK Wind plc — Investment in Burbo Bank Extension offshore wind farm and Launch of Equity Raise ↗ 2021-11-02 ◆ held
- offshoreWIND.biz — Greencoat UK to Acquire Stake in Burbo Bank Extension Offshore Wind Farm ↗ 2021-11 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Portfolio sale · 2024-10
Ørsted → Brookfield 12.45%
- Stake
- 12.45%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2024-10
- Closed
- 2024-12
- Project stage
- operational
Ørsted sold 12.45% minority stakes in four UK offshore wind farms (Hornsea 1, Hornsea 2, Walney Extension, Burbo Bank Extension) to Brookfield for GBP 1.745bn aggregate. Per-project allocation not disclosed; combined capacity ~3.5 GW. Includes call option for Ørsted to repurchase within 2-7 years. DKK 15.7 billion)' for 12.45% stakes in Hornsea 1, Hornsea 2, Walney Extension and Burbo Bank Extension combined (~3.5 GW); completion confirmed 31 Dec 2024; agreement includes an Ørsted call option to repurchase 2-7 years post-closing at a pre-agreed price (Q3 2024 earnings call). (GBP 1,745m ~ EUR 2,090m @ 0.8350 2024-10 ECB avg.)
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2017-Q2→2017-Q2 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2017-Q2, unchanged)
Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day
258 MW contracted — investment contract
● Investment contract · FID Enabling for Renewables (FIDeR) investment contracts
Price£150/MWh ·Basis2012 real · CPI-indexed
Capacity258 MWAwardedApr 2014Term15 yrs · delivery 2016/17
Money-of-the-day values computed by Hafrok from the United Kingdom CPI index, 2012 real base — actual to 2026-07, then an assumed +2.0%/yr (central-bank target). Investment contract terms run 15 years from start of generation in the contracted delivery year.
Contract price over time · £/MWh
solid = actual CPI indexation · dashed = assumed +2.0%/yr
Investment contract · FID Enabling for Renewables (FIDeR) investment contracts
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing33≈32 turbines + 1 platform expected · every expected structure seen
Surveyed2026-09-01≈from 119 satellite passes
Built2016 → 2017-Q2offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, southbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed33 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortCammell Laird Shipyard ◆construction base
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (33)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationBurbo Bank Extension Offshore Substation·220/34 kV · in service 2017 · owner Diamond Transmission Partners Burbo Bank Extension Limited (OFTO; Mitsubishi Corporation / HICL consortium)
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
Sources & verification
17/18 fields verified · rests on 16 sources (15 primary) · ◆ 7 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator3
[1]
Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change (via Planning Inspectorate)2014-09-25◆ The Burbo Bank Extension Offshore Wind F…
"The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 114, 115, 120 and 149A of the 2008 Act makes the following Order—" Order made 25th September 2014, coming into force 26th Septe…
supportsConsentConsent granted
[2]
DECC (gov.uk)2014-04◆ FIDeR Successful Projects offered an inv…
"Burbo Bank extension — Dong Energy Wind Power A/S — Offshore wind — 258 [MW] — Liverpool Bay, at the entrance to the River Mersey" (Updated 23 April 2014).
supportsTotal capacityMechanismDetail
[15]
Department for Energy Security and Net Zero2026-05-06◆ Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD…
“REPD Q1 2026 quarterly extract — Ref ID 2539: Site Name "Burbo Bank Extension (Burbo Bank 2)", Development Status "Operational", Installed Capacity 258 MWelec, Operator "Orsted (formerly Dong Energy)"”
supportsRegister entry
Operator8
[3]
National Audit Office2014-06◆ Early contracts for renewable electricit…
"Burbo Bank Extension Offshore Wind Farm — Offshore wind — 31/03/2017 — 15 years — 258 [MW] — 150 [£/MWh, 2012 prices] — 154 [£/MWh nominal] — 1.0 [£bn]" (Table: administrative strike prices by commis…
supportsMechanismStrike / priceDetail
[4]
[8]
[9]
Diamond Transmission Partners2018
“258MW connection between the generators and onshore transmission system … 24.3km undersea cable, which comes ashore near Bodelwyddan … onshore cables approximately 10.4km long connecting to the onshor…”
supportsStatusConnection pointDistance from shore
[10]
[11]
[12]
4C Offshore / OBE Digital2024
“Latitude: 53.4840000, Longitude: -3.2730000 … water depths at the site range between 3.5m and 17m … approximately 7 to 8.5 km off the North Wirral and Sefton coasts … 32 MHI Vestas V164-8.0 MW wind tu…”
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacityFoundationWater depth+2 more
[16]
National Energy System Operator (NESO)2026-07-21◆ NESO Transmission Entry Capacity (TEC) R…
“NESO TEC Register, edition 21 July 2026 - PRO-000394: "Burbo Bank Extension Offshore Wind Farm", Status "Built", MW Connected 258, Effective From n/a, Customer "BURBO EXTENSION LTD"”
supportsRegister entry
Financier1
[17]
Greencoat UK Wind plc2021-11-02◆ Investment in Burbo Bank Extension offsh…
“Greencoat UK Wind plc is pleased to announce that it has agreed to acquire a 25% stake in Burbo Bank Extension offshore wind farm from AIP, in partnership with a number of pension funds investing thro…”
supportsowner
Auction results1
[18]
Low Carbon Contracts Company (LCCC)2026-07-31◆ lccc-portfolio-status-2026-07
Investment Contract units, all 'Live (Post-FIC)': INV-BUR-001 Burbo Bank Extension; INV-DUD-001/002/003 Dudgeon; INV-WAL-001/002 Walney Extension; INV-BEA-001/002 Beatrice; INV-HOR-001/002/003 Hornsea…
supportsInvestment contract · FID Enabling for Renewables (FIDeR) investment contracts
Trade press3
[5]
[13]
offshoreWIND.biz2024-10
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsoperatorowner
[14]