Hai Long 2

Located 45-70 km off Changhua County. Part of 1,022 MW Hai Long project (Hai Long 2 + Hai Long 3). SG 14-222 DD turbines (14 MW, upgradeable to 15 MW).

Delivery outlook modelled by Hafrok · calibrated on delivered projects

2027
expected year of commercial operation
Chance of delivery
≈98% estimated chance this project reaches commercial operation
Under Construction projects complete ≈97% of the time on Hafrok's record. A secured offtake contract lifts this one slightly; its size and technical complexity pull a little the other way.
COD outlook
If it completes, when — Hafrok’s probability by year (teal)
20%40%60%80%100% 2027: 86.7% (conditional on completion) 2028: 13.3% (conditional on completion)2026now202787%2028 Developer-announced COD: 2027 — in line with Hafrok’s expected year ANNOUNCED = EXPECTED 2027
COD probability by year, conditional on completion
YearProbability
2027 (expected)86.7%
202813.3%
How Hafrok got this date
1
Starting point: the last dated milestone
Construction start in 2024. From there Hafrok adds how long similar projects (in established offshore-wind markets) took to reach commercial operation, measured on projects that have delivered.
2
Typical timing
Starting point plus the typical remaining time gives a middle estimate of 2026; the faster quarter of similar projects would be done by 2025, the slower quarter not until 2027.
3
Result
Expected commercial operation 2027, likely range 2025–2027 (the middle half of outcomes for similar projects). The developer's announced date falls inside that likely range, so the announced date is adopted.
4
Year-by-year chart
The bars spread that estimate across years using how similar projects actually slipped against their dates — more often late than early, which is why the bars lean right.
5
Chance of delivery — separate from timing
Start from the share of Under Construction projects that went on to complete — ≈97%, measured on Hafrok's record of delivered and abandoned projects, with an allowance held back where that record cannot yet speak (projects still unresolved, changed market conditions). Based on the measured record — all 257 construction starts with a final outcome reached operation — adjusted down for projects still mid-build and for legal-challenge risk. Then adjust for this project's own evidence — offtake, market, size, technical complexity — to ≈98%, which rates it Delivering on Hafrok's four-step delivery scale (Delivering · Expected · Prospective · Fragile).

Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record

2020’21’22’23’24’25’26’27Developer-announced COD: 2027 announced COD 2027View the source for Consent grantedConsent granted Dec 2019 View the source for Final investment decisionFinal investment decision 2023 View the source for Offshore constructionOffshore construction Apr 2024 View the sources for First powerFirst power Jun 2025 Commercial operation 2027 ·Hafrok expectedNo origination on record — who held the site before the first recorded deal is not known; shown as a gap, never guessed. UNRECORDEDYushan Energy → Mitsui & Co. — stake not disclosed 2018-08 JV ENTRYNorthland Power → Gentari International Renewables — stake not disclosed · €280m · closed 2023-12 2022-12 FARMDOWNTODAYYushan Energy — 20% today Yushan Energy Yushan Energy 20%Mitsui — 20% today Mitsui Mitsui 20%Northland Power — 30.6% today · operator Northland Power Northland Power 30.6%Gentari International Renewables — 29.4% today Gentari International R… Gentari International R… 29.4%Yushan Energy → Mitsui & Co. — stake not disclosed Northland Power → Gentari International Renewables — stake not disclosed · €280m · closed 2023-12
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The ▲ below the spine is the developer-announced COD. Ownership lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.

Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day

532 MW contracted — feed-in tariff
Feed-in tariff · Taiwan 2018 Offshore Wind Capacity Allocation — Selection (遴選)
Priceprice undisclosed ·Capacity300 MWAwardedApr 2018
Term20 yrs
Feed-in tariff · Taiwan 2018 Offshore Wind Capacity Allocation — Competitive Auction (競標)
Price2.2245 TWD/kWh ·Capacity232 MWAwardedJun 2018
Term20 yrs

Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers

Installation under way
no satellite count yet: this farm is outside the tracker’s coverage so far
Installation · on record
StageUnder Construction
Offshore constructionstarted 2024-04
Expected start of operation2027

Sources & verification

6/17 fields verified · rests on 14 sources (6 primary) · ◆ 4 documents held
VerifiedModelledSourcedInferredConventionUnverifiedNo source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator3
[9]
Hai Long Offshore Wind2023
“Jan 2019 Hai Long 2A obtained the Establishment Permit from the Ministry of Economic Affairs. ... Dec 2019 Hai Long 2B and Hai Long 3 obtained the Establishment Permit from the Ministry of Economic Af…”
supportsConsentConsent granted
[11]
Northland Power2026-04◆ Northland power signs long term corporat…
“the 294-megawatt (MW) Hai Long 2A, the 224 MW Hai Long 2B, and the 504 MW Hai Long 3 with a combined gross capacity of 1,022 MW. ... The new 30-year agreement builds on the existing long-term partners…”
supportsTotal capacityMechanismDetail
[12]
Northland Power2025-06-12◆ Northland Power Achieves First Power on …
“Northland Power Inc. (TSX: NPI) today announced first power from its Hai Long Offshore Wind Project in Taiwan, marking successful energization of the project and connection to Taipower’s grid.”
supportsFirst power
Auction results2
[14]
Conventus Law2026-06-22◆ tw-selection-2018-tw-2018-bond
Taiwan 2018 grid allocation: Stage-1 NT$4m/MW + Stage-2 NT$2m/MW performance bond; establishment permit before end-2019
supportsFeed-in tariff · Taiwan 2018 Offshore Wind Capacity Allocation — Selection (遴選)
[15]
Conventus Law2026-06-22◆ tw-auction-2018-tw-2018-bond
Taiwan 2018 grid allocation: Stage-1 NT$4m/MW + Stage-2 NT$2m/MW performance bond; establishment permit before end-2019
supportsFeed-in tariff · Taiwan 2018 Offshore Wind Capacity Allocation — Competitive Auction (競標)
Trade press8
[2]
Power Technology2025
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsoperatorowner
[3]
offshoreWIND.biz2025
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacityTotal capacityFoundation
[4]
GEM2026
supportsStatusConnection pointCoordinates
[5]
GEBCO Compilation Group2020
supportsWater depth
[6]
Power Technology2023
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFinal investment decision
[7]
offshoreWIND.biz2024-04-12
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOffshore constructionSite rights
[8]
Northland Power (GlobeNewswire)2026-05
“51 out of 73 turbines now installed and 32 turbines generating power ... The project is on track for commercial operations in 2027, with overall costs aligned with original expectations.”
supportsCommercial operation
[10]
DTU Wind Energy / World Bank (Global Wind Atlas)2026
supportsMean wind speed
Unverified import1
[1]
Northland Power2025-06-12
“Northland Power Inc. (TSX: NPI) today announced first power from its Hai Long Offshore Wind Project in Taiwan”
supportsFirst powerTurbinesModelUnit capacityTotal capacity+3 more