WindFloat Atlantic

Located 20 km offshore Viana do Castelo. WindPlus consortium: Ocean Winds 79.4% (EDPR 54.4% + ENGIE 25%), Repsol 19.4%, Principle Power 1.2%.

Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record

2018’19’20’21’22’23’24’25’26View the source for Consent grantedConsent granted Mar 2018 View the source for Onshore constructionOnshore construction 2018 View the source for Offshore constructionOffshore construction Oct 2019 View the source for First powerFirst power 2019-Q4 View the source for Commercial operationCommercial operation 2020-Q3 EDP Renewables, Mitsubishi Corporation, Chiyoda Corporation, Engie, Repsol — stake not disclosed 2015-11 JV FORMATIONTransfer(s) not in Hafrok's record — shown as a gap, never guessed. UNRECORDEDTransfer(s) not in Hafrok's record — shown as a gap, never guessed. UNRECORDEDTODAYEDP Renewables EDP Renewables EDP Renewables exited 2015-11Mitsubishi Corporation Mitsubishi Corporation Mitsubishi Corporation exited 2015-11Chiyoda Corporation Chiyoda Corporation Chiyoda Corporation exited 2015-11Engie Engie Engie exited 2015-11Repsol — 13.63% today Repsol Repsol 13.63%Ocean Winds — 65.17% today · operator Ocean Winds Ocean Winds 65.17%Tokyo Gas — 21.2% today Tokyo Gas Tokyo Gas 21.2%EDP Renewables, Mitsubishi Corporation, Chiyoda Corporation, Engie, Repsol — stake not disclosed
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). Ownership lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2020-Q32020-Q3 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2020-Q3, unchanged)

Revenue & offtake the regime the project was built under

Offtake regime on record
A built project sells its power under the contract or support regime it was financed with; it is not expected to bid into new government offtake rounds. Where the record does not yet name that regime, the row says so rather than guessing.

Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers

Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing03 turbines + 0 platforms expected · 3 fewer than expected — small or closely spaced early turbines fall below the radar threshold or merge into one return
Surveyed2021-12-07from 46 satellite passes
Built2019-10 → 2020-Q3offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass
Farm covered100%the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed0 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmedas counted on 2021-12-07 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortPort of Ferrol ·turbine assembly and departure · quay 1515 m · crane 800 t · draft 20 m
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (0)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary
Satellite radar image over WindFloat Atlantic, 2026-09-07

Sources & verification

14/18 fields verified · rests on 11 sources (8 primary) · ◆ 3 documents held
VerifiedModelledSourcedInferredConventionUnverifiedNo source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator6
[1]
Windplus S.A. (WindFloat Atlantic project)2024
“WindFloat Atlantic is composed of 3 semi-submersible WindFloat platforms, each with a MHI Vestas 8.4 MW wind turbine, 20 km off the coast of Viana do Castelo at a sea depth of approximately 95 meters.”
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacityTotal capacityFoundation+4 more
[2]
EDP2020-07-26
“WindFloat Atlantic, which has total installed capacity of 25 MW is the world's first semi-submersible floating wind farm and the first floating wind farm in continental Europe.”
supportsBackground
[3]
Principle Power Inc.2020-01-02◆ WindFloat Atlantic project starts supply…
"the first of the three platforms comprising the Windplus consortium's wind farm, was successfully connected on 31st December." ... The first platform of the WindFloat Atlantic wind farm, after being …
supportsFirst power
[4]
Principle Power Inc.2020-07
"three platforms, each with one 8.4-MW MHI Vestas turbine installed… the first semi-submersible floating wind farm in the world." ... The last platform of WindFloat Atlantic has been connected to the …
supportsFinal investment decisionCommercial operationCOD history
[10]
Principle Power Inc.2019-10
"The first WindFloat Atlantic platform with the turbine fully installed has set off from the Spanish Port of Ferrol towards its final destination 20 km off the coast of Viana do Castelo in Portugal." …
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore constructionSite rightsturbine assembly and departure
[12]
Ocean Winds2025
“2015-2018 Development and Permitting Necessary permits were obtained, including: ... The environmental permit was received in November 2015. ... The 30-year maritime concession for the WindFloat Atlan…”
supportsConsentConsent granted
Financier1
[5]
European Investment Bank2018-10-19◆ Portugal: EU supports breakthrough wind …
"EUR 60 million loan granted by the EIB under InnovFin to Windplus [S.A.]… EUR 29.9 million from the EU's NER300 programme and up to EUR 6 million from the Portuguese Carbon Fund." [Note: loan signing…
supportsBackground
Trade press4
[7]
offshoreWIND.biz2024-08-06◆ Tokyo Gas Makes First Investment in Over…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsoperatorowner
[9]
Windletteren (trade newsletter)2024
“the Portuguese pilot project WindFloat Atlantic (3 wind turbines, 25 MW), which has a tariff of €168/MWh”
supportsMechanismDetail
[11]
GEBCO Compilation Group2020
supportsWater depth
[13]
DTU Wind Energy / World Bank (Global Wind Atlas)2026
supportsMean wind speed