Hywind Tampen
Located between Snorre and Gullfaks field centres ~140 km offshore western Norway.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
Equinor — 41% ◆PEPetoro — 9.83% ◆
ONOMV Norge — 9.83% ◆
VRVår Energi — 9.83% ◆
WDWintershall Dea Norge — 9.83% ◆
IIINPEX Idemitsu Norge — 9.83% ◆
EEExxonMobil Exploration and Production Norway — 9.83% ◆
Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
94.6 MW ◆
Turbines
11 × 8.6 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Gamesa SG 8-0-167 DD ◆
Foundation
Floating ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Water depth
260–300 m ◆
Distance from shore
140 km ◆
Wind speed
10.2 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
PPA ◆
Grid
No agreement · 2022-11-13 ◆
Connection
Snorre A and Gullfaks A platforms via dedicated 66 kV cables; … ◆
Schedule
FID
11 Oct 2019 ◆
COD
2023-Q3 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
JV formation · 2019-10
Equinor · Petoro · OMV · Vår Energi · Wintershall Dea · INPEX Idemitsu Norge stake not disclosed
- Stake
- not disclosed
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2019-10
- Project stage
- FID
Equinor and its co-licensees in the Snorre and Gullfaks oil and gas fields reached Final Investment Decision (FID) on the Hywind Tampen floating wind farm project in October 2019. The equity structure mirrors the combined Snorre and Gullfaks licence interests: Equinor ~41%, Petoro ~17%, OMV ~9.8%, Vår Energi ~9.8%, Wintershall Dea ~9.8%, INPEX Idemitsu Norge ~9.8% (approximate combined percentages across both licences). Total project investment approximately NOK 5 billion (~EUR 490m at NOK/EUR ~10.2 in 2019). Enova contributed NOK 2.3 billion (~EUR 225m) in investment grants; NOx Fund provided NOK 566m (~EUR 55m). Net equity investment by partners approximately NOK 2.1 billion (~EUR 205m). The project supplies electricity directly to Snorre A, Snorre B, Gullfaks A, B, and C platforms — not connected to the Norwegian national grid. First power produced 13 November 2022; officially opened 23 August 2023. World's largest floating offshore wind farm at commissioning. No financial consideration between partners — ownership established by existing field licence participation. LICENCE-DERIVED OWNERSHIP: not an M&A event; records the FID milestone for ownership chain completeness. No external farmdown identified to date.
Evidence
- equinor.com — Investing in Hywind Tampen development ↗ 2019-10 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). Ownership lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Revenue & offtake the regime the project was built under
Offtake regime on record
RegimeSelf-supply arrangement — Equinor and partners supply electricity directly to Snorre A, Snorre B, Gullfaks A, Gullfaks B, and Gullfaks C platforms via dedicated 66 kV cables (not grid-connected). Supported by Enova investment grant of NOK 2.3 billion and Norwegian Business Sector NOx Fund grant of NOK 566 million. Total project investment approximately NOK 7.4 billion.
InstrumentPPA
A built project sells its power under the contract or support regime it was financed with; it is not expected to bid into new government offtake rounds. Where the record does not yet name that regime, the row says so rather than guessing.
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Installation complete
not yet surveyed by satellite; the built farm can be, on request
Installation · on record
StageOperational
In operation since2023-Q3
Offshore construction2022-06 → 2023-Q3
Construction ports
PortWergeland Base ◆assembly
Sources & verification
17/18 fields verified · rests on 9 sources (5 primary) · ◆ 5 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator5
[1]
Equinor2019-10-11◆ Investing in Hywind Tampen development -…
"Equinor and the Snorre and Gullfaks partners have made a final investment decision for the Hywind Tampen offshore wind farm development, and submitted two updated plans for development and operation …
supportsFinal investment decisionWater depthDistance from shore
[2]
Equinor2020-04-08◆ Hywind Tampen approved by Norwegian auth…
"The Ministry of Petroleum and Industry has approved the plans for development and operation of the Hywind Tampen wind farm." [Source also states: 11 wind turbines, 8 MW each, 88 MW total; located app…
supportsConsentConsent granted
[5]
Equinor2022-11-14◆ First power from Hywind Tampen - Equinor
"Power production from the first wind turbine started on 13 November 2022 at 12:55 CET. The electricity was delivered to the Gullfaks A platform in the North Sea." Owned by Gullfaks and Snorre field p…
supportsFirst powerFoundationStatusConnection point
[6]
Equinor2023-08-23◆ The world's largest floating offshore wi…
"The world's largest floating offshore wind farm, Hywind Tampen, was officially opened on 23 August 2023." 88 MW system from 11 turbines; 140 km offshore at 260-300 m water depth; Snorre A and B, Gull…
supportsCommercial operationMechanismDetailWater depthDistance from shore+1 more
[7]
Equinor2024-01-01◆ Hywind Tampen - Equinor
"Hywind Tampen consists of 11 wind turbines at 8.6 MW each, giving a total system capacity of 94.6 MW. Installed on floating concrete spar structures with a shared anchoring system." First floating wi…
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacityTotal capacityFoundation
Trade press4
[3]
offshoreWIND.biz2020-10-01
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore constructionSite rightsassembly
[4]
offshoreWIND.biz2022-06-07
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsTurbinesUnit capacity
[9]
Power Technology2025
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsoperatorpartner
[10]