Princess Amalia (Q7)
Located ~23 km offshore IJmuiden at Dutch Continental Shelf block Q7. 150kV AC export cable (28km subsea + 7km onshore) to TenneT substation at Wijk aan Zee.
Technology
Capacity
120 MW ◆
Turbines
60 × 2 MW ◆
Model
Vestas V80 2-0 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Water depth
19–24 m ◆
Distance from shore
23 km ◆
Wind speed
9.4 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
Premium ◇
Grid
Secured · 2008 ◆
Connection
Wijk aan Zee TenneT substation (150 kV) ◆
Schedule
FID
25 Oct 2006 ◆
COD
4 Jun 2008 ◇
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
JV formation · 2006-07
Econcern · Eneco stake not disclosed
- Stake
- not disclosed
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2006-07
- Project stage
- consented
Q7 Holding (Econcern 50%, Eneco 50%) formed in 2006 to develop and construct the Princess Amalia offshore wind farm. Project rights transferred from E-Connection to Q7 Holding on 10 July 2006; Eneco's 50% formally awarded 26 July 2006 via declaration of intent signed March 2005. Project financed on non-recourse project finance basis. Wind farm commissioned June 2008 (60 x Vestas V80-2 MW). No financial consideration separately disclosed.
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Acquisition · 2009-06
Econcern → Eneco 50%
- Stake
- 50%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2009-06
- Closed
- 2009-07
- Project stage
- operational
Econcern declared bankrupt in May/June 2009 following failure to refinance a EUR 150m credit facility. Eneco acquired Econcern's 50% stake in Princess Amalia (Q7) as part of Eneco's wider acquisition of selected Econcern assets announced 15 June 2009, giving Eneco 100% ownership. A separate investor group led by Colruyt's investment arm also emerged as buyer for other Econcern assets (Belwind), but Eneco took the Q7 interest. Deal value not disclosed (distressed asset acquisition from administrator).
Evidence
- windpowermonthly.com — Wind Business: Credit pinch foils Econcern - Buyers emerge on heels of bankruptcy ↗ 2009-06 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). Ownership lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2008-Q2→2008-06-04 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2008-Q2, unchanged)
Revenue & offtake the regime the project was built under
Offtake regime on record
RegimeMEP (Milieukwaliteit Elektriciteitsproductie) feed-in tariff 9.7 eurocent/kWh (EUR 97/MWh); merchant post-subsidy
Instrumentmarket premium
A built project sells its power under the contract or support regime it was financed with; it is not expected to bid into new government offtake rounds. Where the record does not yet name that regime, the row says so rather than guessing.
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing60≈60 turbines + 1 platform expected · 1 fewer than expected — a position the survey missed
Surveyed2026-08-31≈from 119 satellite passes
Built2006-10 → 2008-06-04offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-05≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, southbound pass · 1 newer pass skipped because the satellite’s track only caught part of the farm (the best of them 81%)
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed60 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-08-31 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortIJmuiden ◆·marshalling · quay 580 m · draft 12.5 m
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-05
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (60)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationPrinses Amalia Windpark offshore transformer station (transformatorstation)·owner Eneco — our record carries Eneco at 100% as operator from 2011-10. No held document states the ownership of the STRUCTURE separately from the farm; it is recorded here as the farm's owner and no transmission-asset transfer is evidenced anywhere. Nothing suggests a TSO transfer: the farm was built in 2007-08, before TenneT acquired an offshore role in the Netherlands, and the 2018 decree still calls the station the operator's.
Sources & verification
15/18 fields verified · rests on 10 sources (3 primary) · ◆ 3 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator3
[1]
Commissie voor de milieueffectrapportage2002-07-09◆ Offshore windpark Q7-WP - Commissie m.e.…
“Op 18 februari 2002 is de vergunning op grond van de Wet beheer rijkswaterstaatswerken verstrekt. [...] het toepassen van 60 V80 windturbines (2 MW) in plaats van 60 V66 windturbines (2 MW)”
supportsConsentTurbinesModelUnit capacityConsent granted
[2]
Rijkswaterstaat / Staatscourant2018-04-26◆ Staatscourant 2018, 22895 - Veiligheidsz…
“Wijziging bekendmaking, 16 april 2018, nr. RWS-2018/13465, houdende een verbod zich te bevinden in de veiligheidszone rondom offshore windturbinepark Prinses Amalia Windpark (PAWP, voorheen Offshore W…”
supportsCoordinates
[6]
Eneco2018
“The Prinses Amalia wind farm started to generate its first green power more than ten years ago. Since 2008, this wind farm supplies electricity to 125,000 households. the park's 60 Vestas V80 turbines…”
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacityTotal capacity
Trade press6
[3]
Power Technology2009
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOffshore constructionFirst powerSite rightsTurbinesModel+6 more
[4]
Windtech International2008-06-07
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsBackground
[7]
WindpowerNL2021-02-23
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacityTotal capacityFoundation+5 more
[8]
Power Technology2024◆ The Princess Amalia Offshore Wind Farm P…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsoperator
[9]
IJGlobal (Green Street Infrastructure)2006-11-01
“Date of financial close: 25 October 2006 ... Funding came from a €219 million, 11-year non-recourse loan including a €69 million export finance guarantee in favour of the MLAs from EKF.”
supportsFinal investment decision
[10]
Encyclopaedic1
[5]
Wikipedia (Dutch)2026
“Voor de bouw en exploitatie van het windpark geeft de overheid een subsidie van 9,7 eurocent per opgewekte kilowattuur. [...] vastgelegd in de MEP, de subsidieregeling voor duurzame energie. [...] Hal…”
supportsCommercial operationCOD historyMechanismDetail
