Hollandse Kust Zuid
Located 18-35km off coast between The Hague and Zandvoort. 235.8 km2 site area.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
1,509 MW ◆
Turbines
139 × 11 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Gamesa SG 11-0-200 DD ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Hollandse Kust (zuid) Sites I & II · 2018 ·
Water depth
18.1–25.3 m ◆
Distance from shore
18 km ◆
Wind speed
9.44 m/s @ 100 m ◆
Revenue & grid
Offtake
PPA ◆
Grid
Connected ◆
Connection
Grid connection secured. Two TenneT offshore platforms (HKZ … ◆
Schedule
FID
2020 ◆
COD
2024 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2018-03
Hollandse Kust (zuid) Sites I & II
- Awarded to
- Vattenfall
- Basis
- integrated tender
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
Farmdown · 2021-06
Vattenfall → BASF 49.5%
- Stake
- 49.5%
- Consideration
- €300m
- Announced
- 2021-06
- Closed
- 2021-09
- Project stage
- under construction
BASF acquired 49.5% to secure long-term renewable energy supply for Ludwigshafen chemical complex via 25-year corporate PPA. Announced 24 June 2021; completion 1 September 2021. Equity entry cost EUR 300m excluding BASF's pro-rata share of ~EUR 1.3bn construction capex (~EUR 644m). Total BASF commitment ~EUR 944m. On total commitment basis: ~EUR 944m for 49.5% implies ~EUR 1.24M/MW. Zero-subsidy project. Capacity corrected from 1500 to 1523 MW.
Evidence
- basf.com ↗
- offshoreWIND.biz — Chemicals Giant Buys Into 1.5 GW Hollandse Kust Zuid ↗ 2021-06 ◆ held
- Vattenfall — Vattenfall ↗ 2021 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2021-12
BASF → Allianz Capital Partners 25.2%
- Stake
- 25.2%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2021-12
- Closed
- 2022-Q1
- Project stage
- under construction
BASF sold 25.2% of its 49.5% stake (more than half of its share) to Allianz Capital Partners on behalf of Allianz Insurance Companies, marking Allianz's first offshore wind and first equity renewables investment in the Netherlands. Post-closing structure: Vattenfall 50.5%, BASF 24.3%, Allianz 25.2%. BASF retained the power off-take from the entire original 49.5% share under its 25-year fixed-price corporate PPA. Deal value not disclosed by either party. Announced 6 December 2021; closed Q1 2022.
Evidence
- basf.com — BASF to sell 25.2% of the offshore wind farm Hollandse Kust Zuid to Allianz ↗ 2021-12 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2023→2024 · 2 recorded revisions · slipped +1.0 yr (first announced 2023)
Revenue & offtake the regime the project was built under
Offtake regime on record
RegimeSubsidy-free (zero-subsidy bid), PPA with BASF; Vattenfall also stated on its Q1 2021 earnings call (29 Apr 2021) that it had signed a 15-year PPA with Air Liquide relating to Hollandse Kust Zuid.
InstrumentPPA
A built project sells its power under the contract or support regime it was financed with; it is not expected to bid into new government offtake rounds. Where the record does not yet name that regime, the row says so rather than guessing.
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite installation tracker
counted from satellite radar images · a structure standing in the sea on a given date, not a turbine producing power · a guide, not a sourced fact
Installation · counted from satellite
Foundations138 of 139≈99% · first seen 2021-07-12
Turbines137 of 139≈99% · first seen 2022-04-22
Latest count2025-12-30from 785 satellite passes · 2 substation platforms left out so the counts compare with the turbine number · the count has ended: the build is complete
Hafrok counts foundations and turbines from satellite radar images (≈): a structure is counted once it is seen standing in the sea, which is not the same as producing power. A structure first seen in the last 60 days is not yet confirmed, because on a single image a freshly set foundation and a ship holding position look alike. Substation platforms are left out so the counts compare with the number of turbines. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers; a supplier or contract appears only where a source states it — everything else reads “not recorded”, never guessed.
Structures standing over time · count
strong line = confirmed · light line = seen in the last 60 days, not yet confirmed · the chart counts every structure (139 turbines + 2 platforms); the table counts turbines only
foundationsturbines up (a substation top being set in place counts here too)
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-05≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, southbound pass · 3 newer passes skipped because the satellite’s track only caught part of the farm (the best of them 54%)
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed140 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2025-12-30 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-05
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (140)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 2
Offshore substationHollandse Kust (zuid) Alpha·66/220 kV · in service 2022 · owner TenneT (Dutch TSO)
Offshore substationHollandse Kust (zuid) Beta·66/220 kV · in service 2022 · owner TenneT (Dutch TSO)
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
Sources & verification
16/17 fields verified · rests on 13 sources (10 primary) · ◆ 8 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator2
[7]
Netherlands Enterprise Agency (RVO)2018-10◆ Hollandse Kust (zuid) III & IV Project a…
supportsFoundationMean wind speedWater depthDistance from shoreCoordinates
[14]
RVO — Bureau Energieprojecten (energietransitie.nl)2026-08-23◆ Dutch Bureau Energieprojecten register (…
“Listing row "Net op zee - Hollandse Kust (zuid)" (key net-op-zee-hollandse-kust-zuid); offshore docket page text hash bde22aa66f995d18… (6139 chars).”
supportsRegister entry
Operator7
[1]
Vattenfall◆ Power plants: Hollandse Kust Zuid - Vatt…
“Electricity Capacity: 1,509 MWe. Turbines: 139.”
supportsTurbinesTotal capacityMechanismDetailStatus+1 more
[4]
Vattenfall2023-09-29◆ Offshore wind farm Hollandse Kust Zuid i…
“Dutch King Willem-Alexander officially inaugurated wind farm Hollandse Kust Zuid (29 September 2023). The wind farm is expected to be fully operational in 2024.”
supportsCOD history
[5]
Vattenfall2023-06-19◆ The last turbine for Hollandse Kust Zuid…
“Almost two years after construction of Hollandse Kust Zuid began, the last turbine of the offshore wind farm has been installed.”
supportsOnshore construction
[9]
[10]
Vattenfall
“Het windpark is in september 2023 geopend door koning Willem-Alexander ... In bedrijf: september 2023”
supportsCommercial operation
[11]
Ministerie van Economische Zaken (Staatscourant)2016-12-08
“Kavelbesluit I windenergiegebied Hollandse Kust (zuid) ... 's-Gravenhage, 8 december 2016 ... De Minister van Economische Zaken, H.G.J. Kamp”
supportsConsentConsent granted
[13]
Vattenfall2021-04-29◆ Vattenfall — 210429 q1 transcript
“And we mentioned one of them, today, a 15 year one with Air Liquide in relation to Hollandse Kust Zuid”
supportsMechanismDetail
OEM1
[2]
Siemens Gamesa2019-11-27◆ Vattenfall’s Hollandse Kust Zuid 1&2 win…
“The newest version of Siemens Gamesa offshore wind turbine - launched just a day ago - can reach 11 MW capacity under specific site conditions and it is the perfect fit for the world's first subsidy-f…”
supportsModelUnit capacity
Trade press3
[6]
offshoreWIND.biz2022-08-02
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFirst power
[8]
NS Energy2020-06-05
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFinal investment decision
[12]
Seaway72026-07-20◆ Hollandse Kust Zuid Offshore Wind Farm -…
“Hollandse Kust Zuid ... fully operational since 2024”
supportsCommercial operation
