Gemini
Located ~85 km north of the Wadden Islands. Largest Dutch offshore wind farm by capacity at commissioning. Construction budget EUR 2.8bn.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
Northland Power — 60% ◆SFSiemens Financial Services — 20% ◆
HGHVC Groep — 10% ◆
ALAlte Leipziger-Hallesche — 10% ◆
Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
600 MW ◆
Turbines
150 × 4 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Swt 4-0-130 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Water depth
28–36 m ◆
Distance from shore
85 km ◆
Wind speed
9.9 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
Other ◆
Grid
Secured ◆
Connection
380 kV substation Oudeschip, Eemshaven ◆
Schedule
FID
May 2014 ◆
COD
28 Apr 2017 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
JV formation · 2013-04
stake not disclosed
- Stake
- not disclosed
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2013-04
- Closed
- 2014-05
- Project stage
- consented
Northland Power joined the Gemini consortium in April 2013 and brought the project to financial close in May 2014. Formation structure: Northland Power 60%, Siemens Project Ventures 20%, HVC 10%, Van Oord 10%. Total project cost EUR 2.8bn, financed via EUR 2bn senior debt, EUR 600m equity and EUR 200m subordinated debt — at the time the world's largest project-financed offshore wind deal. Construction commenced early 2015; full commissioning April 2017.
Evidence
- northlandpower.com — Gemini ↗ 2013-04 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2018-04
Van Oord → Alte Leipziger-Hallesche 10%
- Stake
- 10%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2018-04
- Project stage
- operational
Van Oord sold its founding 10% equity stake in Gemini to German insurance group Alte Leipziger-Hallesche (held via a Luxembourg investment vehicle for Alte Leipziger Lebensversicherung AG and Hallesche Krankenversicherung AG). Announced 26 April 2018. Van Oord reported a net profit of EUR 38m on the disposal (no gross deal value disclosed). Post-transaction structure: Northland Power 60%, Siemens Project Ventures 20%, HVC 10%, Alte Leipziger-Hallesche 10%.
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). Ownership lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2017-Q2→2017-04-28 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2017-Q2, unchanged)
Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day
600 MW contracted — feed-in tariff
● Feed-in tariff · Regeling windenergie op zee 2009 (SDE offshore subsidy tender)
Priceprice undisclosed ·Capacity600 MWAwardedMay 2010Term15 yrs
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing151≈150 turbines + 2 platforms expected · 1 fewer than expected — a position the survey missed
Surveyed2026-08-31≈from 115 satellite passes
Built2015-07 → 2017-04-28offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-06≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, southbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed151 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-08-31 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortEemshaven ~85km ◆·quay 5000 m · crane 50 t · draft 14 m
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-06
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (151)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 2
Offshore substationBuitengaats (Gemini OHVS)·in service 2017 · owner Gemini (the wind farm project company — NOT TenneT)
Offshore substationZeeEnergie (Gemini OHVS)·in service 2017 · owner Gemini (the wind farm project company — NOT TenneT)
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
Sources & verification
15/18 fields verified · rests on 11 sources (6 primary) · ◆ 7 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator2
[1]
RVO / Bureau Energieprojecten (Rijksdienst voor Ondernemend Nederland)2013◆ Aansluiting wind op zee - Gemini (RVO cl…
“Inpassingsplan onherroepelijk: 17 augustus 2013. Inpassingsplan inwerkingtreding: 17 augustus 2013. [...] Buitengaats CV en ZeeEnergie CV [...] bouwen twee naast elkaar gelegen offshore windparken in …”
supportsConsentStatusConnection pointportConsent granted
[3]
Noordzeeloket (Rijkswaterstaat / Ministry of Infrastructure and Water Management)◆ Windenergiegebied Ten noorden van de Wad…
“Gemini Buitengaats en ZeeEnergie / In gebruik vanaf / 2017 / In gebruik tot / 2036 / Aantal turbines / 150 / Vermogen turbine (MW) / 4 / Vermogen windpark (MW) / 600 / Oppervlakte (km2) / 70 / Exploit…”
supportsTurbinesUnit capacityTotal capacity
Operator3
[2]
Ministerie van Economische Zaken (Dutch Government)2009-11-24◆ Staatscourant 2009, 17851 - Procedure SD…
“Regeling van de Minister van Economische Zaken van 18 november 2009, nr. WJZ/9203919, tot aanwijzing van productie-installaties voor het opwekken van hernieuwbare elektriciteit met behulp van windener…”
supportsMechanismDetail
[4]
Northland Power Inc.
“Located 85 km off the Netherlands coast in the North Sea. Water depth: 28-36 meters. 150x Siemens 4 MW turbines. Financial close: May 2014. First turbine connected: February 2016. Full completion: Apr…”
supportsFirst powerCommercial operationModelUnit capacityWater depth+1 more
[5]
Northland Power Inc.2017-04-28◆ Northland Power's Gemini Offshore Wind F…
“Northland Power's Gemini Offshore Wind Farm Achieves Full Project Completion [...]. The project achieved full completion on April 28, 2017 [...] All turbines have been operating since October 2016. [.…”
supportsCommercial operationCOD history
Auction results1
[13]
Overheid.nl (Ministerie van Economische Zaken)2009-11-18◆ nl-regeling-wind-op-zee-2009
"Het subsidieplafond ... bedraagt EUR 5.384.817.810,00. De Minister verdeelt het bedrag ... op volgorde van rangschikking van de aanvragen." / "Aanvragen ... worden ontvangen in de periode van 4 janua…
supportsFeed-in tariff · Regeling windenergie op zee 2009 (SDE offshore subsidy tender)
Trade press4
[6]
[7]
Offshore Wind (offshorewind.biz)2015-07-02◆ Gemini: First Foundation Installed | Off…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore constructionSite rightsFoundation
[9]
Power Technology2024
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsoperatorowner
[11]
Encyclopaedic1
[10]