Vesterhav Nord & Syd
Vesterhav Nord (176 MW, 21 turbines) off Harboore/Thyboron + Vesterhav Syd (168 MW, 20 turbines) off Ringkobing.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
Vattenfall — 92% ◆CSCommunity shareholders — 8% ◆
Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
344 MW ◆
Turbines
41 × 8.4 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Gamesa SG 8-0-167 DD ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Vesterhav Nord & Syd (Danish near-shore tender) · 2016 ·
Water depth
20–20 m ◆
Distance from shore
5.5 km ◆
Wind speed
10.0 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
CfD · 47.5 DKK_ore_per_kWh ◆
Grid
Secured · 2024-Q1 ◆
Connection
Energinet grid — Syd: 150 kV cable to Stovtrup substation via … ◆
Schedule
FID
Dec 2021 ◆
COD
Mar 2024 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2016-09
Vesterhav Nord & Syd (Danish near-shore tender)
- Awarded to
- Vattenfall Vindkraft A/S
- Basis
- integrated tender
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
Farmdown · 2023-Q2
Vattenfall → Local residents and holiday-home owners (Ringkøbing-Skjern Municipality) stake not disclosed
- Stake
- not disclosed
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2023-Q2
- Closed
- 2023-07
- Project stage
- under construction
Under Danish law (Lov om fremme af vedvarende energi, the Renewable Energy Act), offshore wind farms located in Danish waters are subject to mandatory local community co-ownership provisions. Vattenfall was required to offer up to 20% of the equity in each of the Vesterhav Syd (168 MW) and Vesterhav Nord (176 MW) wind farms to residents and eligible holiday-home owners in the adjacent municipalities. For Vesterhav Syd: the share sale process closed on 6 July 2023. Approximately 73,000 shares (out of ~156,000 offered) were purchased by around 2,615 local buyers from Ringkøbing-Skjern Municipality. For Vesterhav Nord: the share sale process also closed in 2023 Q3, covering eligible residents in Lemvig and Thisted municipalities. The combined capacity of the two farms is 344 MW (168 + 176 MW), comprising 41 Siemens Gamesa 8.4 MW turbines. Both farms were inaugurated in September 2024 (they entered commercial operation in 2024). CRITIC NOTE: This is a statutory community ownership requirement, not a conventional institutional M&A transaction. The maximum stake for community owners is 20% of each farm; the actual take-up was approximately 47% of the Vesterhav Syd offer (73k of 156k shares = ~9.4% of the farm), suggesting total community stake is significantly below the 20% maximum. The community shares are not tradeable on any secondary market. Data confidence: LOW (statutory programme; aggregate consideration undisclosed). Minor: held investment tables still list Vesterhav at 100% after the sale (likely table convention).
Evidence
- group.vattenfall.com — Salget af aktier til Vesterhav Syd er afsluttet ↗ 2023-Q2 ◆ held
- group.vattenfall.com — Salget af aktier til Vesterhav Nord er afsluttet ↗ 2023-Q2 ◆ held
- Vattenfall — Danish offshore wind farms Vesterhav Nord and Vesterhav Syd inaugurated ↗ ◆ held
- offshoreWIND.biz — Vattenfall's 344 MW Danish Offshore Wind Duo Inaugurated ↗ 2023-Q2 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2020→2020→2020→2023→2024-Q1→2024-03 · 6 recorded revisions · slipped +3.7 yr (first announced 2020)
Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day
350 MW contracted — tender award
● Tender award · Vesterhav Nord & Syd (Danish near-shore tender)
Price47.5 DKK_ore/kWh ·Capacity350 MWAwardedSep 2016Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite installation tracker
counted from satellite radar images · a structure standing in the sea on a given date, not a turbine producing power · a guide, not a sourced fact
Installation · counted from satellite
Foundations41 of 41≈100% · first seen 2023-02-28
Turbines41 of 41≈100% · first seen 2023-06-09
Latest count2025-12-31from 429 satellite passes · 0 substation platforms left out so the counts compare with the turbine number · the count has ended: the build is complete
Hafrok counts foundations and turbines from satellite radar images (≈): a structure is counted once it is seen standing in the sea, which is not the same as producing power. A structure first seen in the last 60 days is not yet confirmed, because on a single image a freshly set foundation and a ship holding position look alike. Substation platforms are left out so the counts compare with the number of turbines. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers; a supplier or contract appears only where a source states it — everything else reads “not recorded”, never guessed.
Structures standing over time · count
strong line = confirmed · light line = seen in the last 60 days, not yet confirmed · the chart counts every structure (41 turbines + 0 platforms); the table counts turbines only
foundationsturbines up (a substation top being set in place counts here too)
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-06≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, southbound pass · 3 newer passes skipped because the satellite’s track only caught part of the farm (the best of them 76%)
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed41 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2025-12-31 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortPort of Thyboron ◆foundation marshalling
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-06
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (41)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 0
Offshore substationNone by design·nearshore direct-to-shore design; turbine cables run to onshore coastal collection stations (Nord: Klinkby, then Idomlund; Syd: near the coast, then Stovstrup) — Energinet
Sources & verification
15/16 fields verified · rests on 13 sources (12 primary) · ◆ 9 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator7
[1]
Vattenfall2024-09-12◆ Danish offshore wind farms Vesterhav Nor…
“Danish offshore wind farms Vesterhav Nord and Vesterhav Syd inaugurated … combined installed capacity of 344 MW … 1.5 TWh fossil-free electricity … 5.5 to 10 kilometres … service facility at Hvide San…”
supportsCommercial operationTotal capacityDistance from shore
[2]
Vattenfall2021-12-15◆ Vattenfall gives go-ahead for Vesterhav …
“With the final investment decision at a value of 769 MEUR, Vattenfall and its suppliers initiated the last stage of the development of the two offshore wind farms ... combined installed capacity of 34…”
supportsFinal investment decisionTurbinesUnit capacity
[4]
[5]
Vattenfall2024-01-09◆ Vattenfall connects Danish offshore wind…
“Every single turbine at the offshore windfarm Vesterhav Syd has now supplied the first power and the offshore wind farm is now completely connected to the Danish power grid - initial power delivery oc…”
supportsCommercial operationStatusConnection point
[8]
[11]
Vattenfall2016-09-12◆ Vattenfall wins Danish Near Shore Wind …
“Vattenfall has won the Danish Near Shore Wind Tender (DNS) … the outcome of the tender is based on Vattenfall delivering the lowest bid of 0,475 kr/kWh … Vattenfall will now develop two wind farms wit…”
supportsMechanismStrike / priceDetail
[15]
Vattenfall2023-03-31
“Vattenfall afslutter fundamenter til Vesterhav Syd – nu begynder arbejdet i nord ... Siden den 20. februar har installationsskibet "DEME Innovation" nedrammet 20 monopæle i Vesterhav Syd havmøllepark …”
supportsOffshore construction
OEM1
[3]
Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy2021-12-15◆ Delivering in Denmark: Siemens Gamesa re…
“41 SG 8.0-167 Direct Drive offshore wind turbines … Vesterhav Nord: 21 SG 8.0-167 DD offshore wind turbines … Vesterhav Syd: 20 SG 8.0-167 DD offshore wind turbines … A three-year Service agreement, w…”
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacityFoundation
Auction results1
[20]
AURES II / DTU2026-06-22◆ dk-vesterhav-near-shore-aures
AURES II Denmark case study: two-sided sliding-premium CfD vs day-ahead spot, FLH cap, DKK 100m guarantee, support-volume clawback
supportsTender award · Vesterhav Nord & Syd (Danish near-shore tender)
Trade press4
[7]
[10]
[14]
offshoreWIND.biz2024-03-12◆ Vattenfall Links Vesterhav Nord to Danis…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsCommercial operationCOD history
[16]