Nysted (Rodsand 1)

Located ~10 km south of Nysted, island of Lolland. Also known as Rodsand I. PensionDanmark acquired 50% from Ørsted in September 2010 for DKK 670m.

Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record

2002’03’04’05’06’07’08’09’10’11’12’13’14’15’16’17’18’19’20’21’22’23’24’25’26View the source for Consent grantedConsent granted 27 Jul 2001 View the sources for Onshore constructionOnshore construction 2002 View the sources for Offshore constructionOffshore construction 2002 View the source for First powerFirst power 13 Jul 2003 View the source for Commercial operationCommercial operation 1 Dec 2003 Energi E2, DONG Energy, E.ON Sweden — stake not disclosed · closed 2003-Q4 2001-01 JV FORMATION — 50.0% · closed 2006-03 2005-12 MERGERØrsted → PensionDanmark — 50.0% · €94m · closed 2010-11 2010-09 FARMDOWNØrsted → Stadtwerke Lubeck — 7.25% · closed 2010-12 2010-09 E.ON → Ørsted — 20.0% · €40m · closed 2010-Q4 2010-09 ACQUISITIONTODAYEnergi E2 Energi E2 Energi E2 exited 2001-01Ørsted — 42.75% today · operator Ørsted Ørsted 42.75%E.ON Sweden E.ON E.ON exited 2010-09PensionDanmark — 50% today PensionDanmark PensionDanmark 50%Stadtwerke Lubeck — 7.25% today Stadtwerke Lubeck Stadtwerke Lubeck 7.25%Energi E2, DONG Energy, E.ON Sweden — stake not disclosed · closed 2003-Q4 Ørsted → PensionDanmark — 50.0% · €94m · closed 2010-11 50%Ørsted → Stadtwerke Lubeck — 7.25% · closed 2010-12 7.25%E.ON → Ørsted — 20.0% · €40m · closed 2010-Q4 20%
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). Ownership lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.

Revenue & offtake the regime the project was built under

Offtake regime on record
A built project sells its power under the contract or support regime it was financed with; it is not expected to bid into new government offtake rounds. Where the record does not yet name that regime, the row says so rather than guessing.

Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers

Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing5572 turbines + 1 platform expected · 18 fewer than expected — small or closely spaced early turbines fall below the radar threshold or merge into one return
Surveyed2026-09-01from 114 satellite passes
Built2002 → 2003-12-01offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-08Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, southbound pass
Farm covered100%the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed55 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmedas counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortNakskov ~30km
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-08
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (55)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary
Satellite radar image over Nysted (Rodsand 1), 2026-09-08
Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationNysted / Roedsand 1 transformer platform·owner Not established by held evidence. The farm was built by Energi E2 and is today majority-owned by Ørsted; no held document apportions the platform.

Sources & verification

16/18 fields verified · rests on 13 sources (7 primary) · ◆ 6 documents held
VerifiedModelledSourcedInferredConventionUnverifiedNo source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator5
[1]
Energistyrelsen (Danish Energy Agency)2001-07-27◆ Energistyrelsens godkendelse - vindmoell…
"Energistyrelsen godkender Energi E2's ansøgning om etablering af en havbaseret demonstrations-vindmøllepark ved Rødsand." "Det ansøgte projekt består af en havvindmøllepark på 64-96 møller med en sam…
supportsConsentFoundationWater depthDistance from shoreConsent granted
[2]
Energistyrelsen (Danish Energy Agency)2003-06-10◆ Elproduktionsbevilling for Nysted
“Elproduktionsbevilling for Nysted Havvindmøllepark meddelt 10. juni 2003. Scanned document — no machine-readable text layer. Date 2003-06-10 per Energistyrelsen catalog and confirmed by the 2025 life-…”
supportsMechanismDetail
[3]
Energistyrelsen (Danish Energy Agency)2025-06-26◆ Tilladelse til forlaengelse af elprodukt…
"Energistyrelsen giver hermed tilladelse til forlængelse af Nysted I A/S' elproduktionstilladelse til Nysted Havvindmøllepark. Dette medfører, at Nysted I kan drive elproduktionsanlægget bestående af …
supportsBackground
[4]
Energistyrelsen (Danish Energy Agency)◆ Eksisterende havvindmølleparker
"Havvindmølleparken består af 72 møller (70 på nuværende tidspunkt) med en samlet effekt på cirka 165,6 MW (161 MW på nuværende tidspunkt)." "Anlægsarbejdet blev påbegyndt i 2002, og havvindmølleparke…
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore constructionSite rightsTurbinesTotal capacity+1 more
[12]
Energistyrelsen (Danish Energy Agency)2021-10-29
"Stamdataregister for vindkraftanlaeg" / "Master data register for wind turbines". Sheet "IkkeAfmeldte-Existing turbines", columns "Turbine identifier (GSRN) | Date of original connection to grid | Ca…
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacity
Operator1
[5]
DONG Energy (now Ørsted)2010-09-30◆ Stadtwerke Lübeck and DONG Energy to swa…
“After the transaction DONG Energy and Stadtwerke Lübeck will through DONG Energy Nysted I A/S own 42.75 % and 7.25 % respectively of Nysted offshore wind farm. PensionDanmark owns the remaining 50 %.”
supportsoperatorowner
Financier1
[7]
European Investment Bank
"72 turbines of 2.3 MW each" for a total capacity of "approximately 166 MW." "expected to produce around 600 GWh of electricity per year." "should go into full operation in 2003." "132 kV, 150 MW subm…
supportsTurbinesUnit capacityTotal capacityStatusConnection point
OEM1
[13]
Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy (conference deck)2018-01-25◆ SGRE offshore sales deck 2018 (installed…
“Installed offshore fleet list, Denmark: "Roedsand/Nysted: 72x SWT-2.3-82 2003". (SGRE retro-designation of the Bonus-built hardware; cited as corroboration of the machine, not of the brand — Siemens a…”
supportsTurbinesModel
Trade press5
[6]
FIH Partners (transaction adviser)2010-11
"Ørsted and PensionDanmark each own 50% of the Nysted offshore wind farm." [...] "a 50% stake" [...] "EUR 94 million" [...] "first ever direct investment by a Danish pension fund into offshore wind" […
supportsTurbinesTotal capacity
[8]
offshoreWIND.biz2025-06-27
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsBackground
[9]
GS Seacon Group ApS
"The last wind turbine was mounted July 27th 2003 and the last 33 kV cables were covered up in December 2003. The wind farm officially started in normal operation December 1st 2003." "foundations were…
supportsBackground
[10]
Ingeniøren (Teknologiens Mediehus)2003-12-03
"Selve byggeriet af havmølleparken offshore begyndte i juni 2002." ... "Den første strøm blev taget i land i den 13. juli 2003." ... "12. september var alle møller i drift." ... "Mandag aften den 1. d…
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore constructionFirst powerCommercial operationSite rights
[11]
DTU Wind Energy / World Bank (Global Wind Atlas)2026
supportsMean wind speed