Hohe See
Located 90km north of Borkum. Was Germany's largest single OWF at COD.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
521.9 MW ◆
Turbines
71 × 7 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Swt 7-0-154 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
wpd offshore GmbH · 2006 ◆
Water depth
35–40 m ◆
Distance from shore
90 km ◆
Wind speed
10.0 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
Other ∅
Grid
Secured · 2019 ◆
Connection
TenneT BorWin3 (BorWin gamma) HVDC converter platform ◆
Schedule
FID
Feb 2017 ◆
COD
Oct 2019 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2006-07
Party of record at origination
- Awarded to
- wpd offshore GmbH
- Holder
- EOS Offshore AG
- Basis
- permit / concession holder
Permit holder: EOS Offshore AG — held by wpd offshore GmbH per the record's source 'wpd-eos-oow-sale-to-enbw-2008'. BSH Plangenehmigung EnBW Hohe See, 30 Nov 2016, reciting the history: 'Die ursprüngliche TdV, die EOS Offshore AG, zum Zeitpunkt der Antragstellung bis zum 11.06.2003 die Firma innoVent GmbH, reichte am 02.07.2001 … einen Antrag … ein. Mit Bescheid vom 05.07.2006 …' — the original permit (as 'Hochsee Windpark Nordsee') was granted to EOS Offshore AG; EnBW's acquisition is not yet a recorded deal. Owner: the 2008 sale names EOS Offshore AG a wpd offshore GmbH subsidiary; whether wpd held it at the 2006 grant is not stated — the owner is as of the FIRST held document (13 May 2008).
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
Acquisition · 2008-05-13
wpd offshore GmbH → EnBW 100%
- Stake
- 100%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2008-05-13
- Project stage
- early development
"Die wpd offshore GmbH hat jeweils 100 Prozent der Anteile der Eos Offshore AG, Oldenburg, und der Offshore Ostsee Wind AG, Börgerende-Rethwisch, an den Energieversorger EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG veräußert. Die beiden Tochterunternehmen der wpd offshore GmbH sind Inhaber für die Rechte an den Offshore-Windparkprojekten Hochseewindpark Nordsee, He dreiht, Kriegers Flak 1 und Baltic 1" (wpd release, 13 May 2008). Price undisclosed. Written 2026-08-19.
Evidence
- wpd AG (via windbranche.de press service) — wpd sichert Realisierung erster Offshore-Vorhaben ↗ 2008-05-13 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Farmdown · 2017-02
EnBW → Enbridge 49.9%
- Stake
- 49.9%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2017-02
- Project stage
- FID
EnBW sold 49.9% to Enbridge simultaneously with FID (February 2017). Enbridge's total commitment ~CAD 1.7bn (EUR ~1.09bn), but includes both equity and share of construction costs. EnBW retained 50.1%. Record covers Hohe See only; Albatros (112 MW) was separate project in same transaction. Albatros and other disposals; 'Result from disposals' EUR 317.8m aggregate gain).
Evidence
- offshoreWIND.biz — FID Reached for EnBW Hohe See OWF, Enbridge Gets Hold of 49.9% Stake ↗ 2017-02 ◆ held
- EnBW AG — EnBW Integrated Annual Report 2017 ↗ 2018-03 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
JV entry · 2018-05
Enbridge → CPP Investments 24.5%
- Stake
- 24.5%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2018-05
- Closed
- 2018-08
- Project stage
- under construction
CPP Investments acquired 49% of Enbridge's 49.9% interest in Hohe See and Albatros, resulting in ~24.5% stake in each. Combined deal for both assets plus North American onshore wind valued at CAD 1.75bn (~EUR 1.14bn) with additional ~CAD 500m capex commitment. Projects under construction at closing.
Evidence
- cppinvestments.com — Cppib Acquire Enbridge Interests In Select Renewable Power Assets Na Eu ↗ 2018-05 ◆ held
- offshoreWIND.biz — CPPIB Takes a Piece of Hohe See and Albatros Offshore Wind Farms ↗ 2018-05 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2023-11
CPP Investments → Enbridge 24.5%
- Stake
- 24.5%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2023-11
- Closed
- 2023-12
- Project stage
- operational
CPP Investments sold 24.5% in Hohe See and Albatros back to Enbridge for net proceeds ~CAD 374m (~EUR 255m). Combined price for both projects; split not public.
Evidence
- cppinvestments.com — Cpp Investments Sells Stake In German Offshore Wind Assets ↗ ◆ held
- offshorewind.biz — CPP Investments Sells Stake in Two German Offshore Wind Farms to Enbridge ↗ ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2019→2019-10 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2019, unchanged)
Revenue & offtake the regime the project was built under
Offtake regime on record
RegimeEEG 2014 guaranteed feed-in tariff (gesetzliche Einspeisevergütung); not an auction result
A built project sells its power under the contract or support regime it was financed with; it is not expected to bid into new government offtake rounds. Where the record does not yet name that regime, the row says so rather than guessing.
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing72≈71 turbines + 2 platforms expected · 1 fewer than expected — a position the survey missed
Surveyed2026-08-31≈from 115 satellite passes
Built2018-04 → 2019-10offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-06≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, southbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed72 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-08-31 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortCuxhaven ∅·quay 734 m · crane 650 t · draft 12.7 m
PortVlissingen ◆·marshalling · quay 1740 m · crane 1200 t
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-06
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (72)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 2
Offshore substationHohe See Offshore Substation·155/33 kV · in service 2018 · owner EnBW (wind farm owner; farm-owned platform, not TSO-owned)
HVDC systemBorWin3·900 MW · ±320 kV · in service 2019-08 · shared with Global Tech I
Converter supplierSiemens (HVDC PLUS); Petrofac EPCI·BorWin3 · Drydocks World, Dubai, UAE · for TenneT
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
Sources & verification
16/18 fields verified · rests on 12 sources (6 primary) · ◆ 7 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator2
[1]
Bundesamt für Seeschifffahrt und Hydrographie (BSH)2016-11-30◆ Genehmigungsbescheid Offshore-Windpark E…
"Hamburg, den 30.11.2016 — Gegenstand dieser Plangenehmigung sind 71 (einundsiebzig) Windenergieanlagen … Nennleistung je WEA: 7,0 MW — Rotordurchmesser: 154 m — Grüundungsstruktur: Monopile mit Kolks…
supportsConsentTurbinesUnit capacityFoundationCoordinates+1 more
[14]
Bundesnetzagentur — Marktstammdatenregister2026-08-23◆ Marktstammdatenregister (MaStR) offshore…
“Park row "Windpark Hohe See": 71 units, 521.85 MW gross, statuses {'In Betrieb': 71}, operators ['EnBW Hohe See GmbH & Co. KG'], commissioned 2019-07-15..2019-10-01, planned None..None.”
supportsRegister entry
Operator3
[3]
EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG2019-08◆ Construction of “EnBW Hohe See” offshore…
“EnBW has installed all 71 wind turbines of its offshore wind farm 'Hohe See' in the German North Sea. 27 turbines have already been put into operation and feed electricity into the grid. Both wind far…”
supportsTurbines
[5]
EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG2020-01◆ Germany’s biggest wind farm connected to…
“The Hohe See offshore wind farm has already been in operation since October 2019. Now its smaller neighbour Albatros is also producing electricity.”
supportsCommercial operationCOD history
[12]
EnBW2026-06◆ EnBW — enbw factbook 2026
“Installed capacity 521.9 MW, grid connection 500 MW.”
supportsTotal capacity
Trade press7
[2]
offshoreWIND.biz2017-02-17
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFinal investment decision
[4]
offshoreWIND.biz2019-07-16
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFirst powerTotal capacity
[6]
offshoreWIND.biz2018-04-11
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore constructionSite rightsmarshalling
[7]
offshoreWIND.biz2023-11-06◆ CPP Investments Sells Stake in Two Germa…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsinvestor
[8]
Power Technology / GlobalData2020
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsModelStatusConnection pointWater depthDistance from shore
[9]
offshoreWIND.biz2023-11◆ CPP Investments Sells Stake in Two Germa…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsoperator
[10]

