Arkona
Located 35km NE of Rugen island. Turbines installed in record 5 months.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
Location
Baltic Sea
Technology
Capacity
385 MW ◆
Turbines
60 × 6 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Swt 6-0-154 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
AWE Arkona-Windpark-Entwicklungs-GmbH · 2006 ◆
Water depth
23–37 m ◆
Distance from shore
35 km ◆
Wind speed
9.5 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
FiT ◆
Grid
Secured · 2019-04 ◆
Connection
50Hertz Ostwind 1 cable system (93 km: 90 km offshore + 3 km … ◆
Schedule
FID
Apr 2016 ◆
COD
Apr 2019 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2006-03
Party of record at origination
- Awarded to
- AWE Arkona-Windpark-Entwicklungs-GmbH
- Holder
- AWE Arkona-Windpark-Entwicklungs-GmbH
- Basis
- permit / concession holder
BSH Genehmigung Arkona-Becken Südost, 15 Mar 2006 — 'Auf den Antrag der AWE Arkona-Windpark-Entwicklungs-GmbH … werden Errichtung und Betrieb von 80 (achtzig) Windenergieanlagen … genehmigt.' E.ON's later acquisition of AWE is not yet a recorded deal.
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
JV entry · 2016-04
E.ON → Equinor 50%
- Stake
- 50%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2016-04
- Project stage
- FID
Equinor (then Statoil) acquired 50% from E.ON at FID, forming 50/50 JV. Equinor's first German offshore wind investment. Consideration undisclosed; total project cost ~EUR 1.2bn.
Evidence
- equinor.com — 2016 04 14 Arkona ↗ 2016-04 ◆ held
- offshoreWIND.biz — E.ON and Statoil to Jointly Build 385MW Arkona Offshore Wind Farm ↗ 2016-04 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Merger · 2018-03
E.ON → RWE 50%
- Stake
- 50%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2018-03
- Closed
- 2019-10
- Project stage
- operational
E.ON's 50% transferred to RWE as part of E.ON/RWE/Innogy asset swap. Not arm's-length; no project-level consideration. RWE subsequently held 50%. Announced March 2018, completed October 2019.
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Farmdown · 2019-10
Equinor → Energy Infrastructure Partners 25%
- Stake
- 25%
- Consideration
- €500m
- Implied 100% value
- €2,000m
- Implied
- €5.19m / MW
- Announced
- 2019-10
- Closed
- 2020-01
- Project stage
- operational
Equinor sold 25% (half of its 50% holding) to Energy Infrastructure Partners (EIP, formerly Credit Suisse Energy Infrastructure Partners) for EUR 500m. Implies 100% project equity value of EUR 2.0bn and EUR 5,195/MW — above operational high end (EUR 4.5M). Premium partially explained by EEG feed-in tariff (pre-2017 project, commissioned 2019) and tight 2019 market for operational offshore wind equity. Post-close: RWE 50%, Equinor 25%, EIP 25%.
Evidence
- equinor.com ↗
- w3.windfair.net — Equinor Sells 25% Stake in Arkona Offshore Wind Farm ↗ 2019-10 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2019→2019-04 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2019, unchanged)
Revenue & offtake the regime the project was built under
Offtake regime on record
RegimeEEG Stauchungsmodell (para. 47 Abs. 3 EEG): 19.40 ct/kWh for years 1-8, then 15.40 ct/kWh for years 9-14, then 3.90 ct/kWh thereafter. Qualifies for extended period as site is more than 12 NM offshore and in water depth greater than 20 m.
InstrumentFiT
A built project sells its power under the contract or support regime it was financed with; it is not expected to bid into new government offtake rounds. Where the record does not yet name that regime, the row says so rather than guessing.
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing61≈60 turbines + 1 platform expected · every expected structure seen
Surveyed2026-09-01≈from 117 satellite passes
Built2017-08 → 2019-04offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed61 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortPort of Sassnitz / Mukran ◆·O&M base and installation staging · draft 13.5 m
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (61)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationArkona Offshore Substation (OSS)·220 kV · in service 2019 · owner Arkona wind farm owners (E.ON / RWE and Equinor JV) — dual-use platform, shared with TSO 50Hertz
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
Sources & verification
17/18 fields verified · rests on 15 sources (10 primary) · ◆ 10 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator2
[1]
Bundesamt fuer Seeschifffahrt und Hydrographie (BSH)2006-03◆ Genehmigungsbescheid Offshore-Windpark A…
"Hamburg, den 15. Maerz 2006 — Auf den Antrag der AWE Arkona-Windpark-Entwicklungs-GmbH [...] werden Errichtung und Betrieb von 80 (achtzig) Windenergieanlagen (WEA) einschliesslich Nebenanlagen [...]…
supportsConsentWater depthDistance from shoreConsent granted
[17]
Bundesnetzagentur — Marktstammdatenregister2026-08-23◆ Marktstammdatenregister (MaStR) offshore…
“Park row "Arkona Becken Süd-Ost": 60 units, 378.0 MW gross, statuses {'In Betrieb': 60}, operators ['AWE-Arkona-Windpark Entwicklungs-GmbH'], commissioned 2018-09-15..2018-10-22, planned None..None.”
supportsRegister entry
Operator8
[2]
Equinor ASA (then Statoil)2016-04-25◆ Statoil enters German offshore wind mark…
"Statoil has entered the German offshore wind market, through a 50% acquisition of the Arkona offshore wind farm, as Statoil and E.ON have announced the final investment decision on the 385 megawatt p…
supportsFinal investment decisionTurbinesUnit capacityTotal capacityFoundation+2 more
[5]
Equinor ASA2018-09-24◆ Arkona offshore wind farm supplies first…
“The Arkona offshore wind farm in the German part of the Baltic Sea has supplied the first electricity into the German electricity grid.”
supportsFirst power
[6]
Equinor ASA2019-04-16◆ Angela Merkel and Kjell Børge Freiberg o…
“Equinor's executive vice president Pal Eitrheim: 'The project has been delivered on schedule and below budget.' Chancellor Angela Merkel and Norwegian minister Kjell Borge Freiberg opened the Arkona o…”
supportsCommercial operation
[7]
Bundesregierung (German Federal Government)2019-04-16
“385 Megawatt installed capacity, sufficient to supply approximately 400,000 households. Chancellor Angela Merkel: 'renewable energy has now moved from a niche to the centre stage of power supply.'”
supportsTotal capacity
[9]
RWE AG2024-02◆ Arkona offshore wind farm | RWE operatin…
“385 MW installed capacity — 60 wind turbines of the 6 MW class from Siemens. 35 kilometres northeast of the island of Ruegen, Baltic Sea. RWE operates the facility on behalf of the partners.”
supportsTurbinesUnit capacityTotal capacityDistance from shoreCoordinates
[10]
RWE AG2020-12-18◆ RWE receives planning permission for Kas…
“RWE operates the offshore wind farms [...] as well as Arkona, which has an installed capacity of 385 MW (RWE share 50%) and is the largest offshore wind farm in the Baltic Sea.”
supportsTotal capacity
[12]
Equinor ASA2019-10-03◆ Equinor sells 25% interest in Arkona to …
“Equinor has entered into an agreement to sell a 25% ownership interest in the Arkona offshore wind farm to funds advised by Credit Suisse Energy Infrastructure Partners AG for a total amount of approx…”
supportsoperatorco-owner
[15]
OEM1
[8]
Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy2019-04-16◆ Siemens Gamesa installs Arkona offshore …
“SGRE carried out construction works including the installation and commissioning of 60 SWT-6.0-154 direct drive offshore wind turbines [...] in a record time of only five months between June and Octob…”
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacityFoundationWater depth
Trade press4
[3]
Offshore Wind Biz2017-08-24
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore constructionSite rights
[4]
Offshore Wind Biz2017-02-20
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsO&M base and installation staging
[13]
NS Energy Business2019-04-17
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsStatusConnection point
[14]
Energie-Chronik2019-04-09◆ Kanzlerin eröffnete Windpark "Arkona" in…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsCommercial operationCOD historyMechanismDetail

