SeaMade

SeaMade is the merger of two Belgian offshore wind concessions: Seastar (252 MW, 30 turbines) and Mermaid (235 MW, 28 turbines), jointly developed as SeaMade NV.

Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record

2005’06’07’08’09’10’11’12’13’14’15’16’17’18’19’20’21’22’23’24’25’26Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) — awarded to Otary / Eneco / ElicioBelgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) 2004 · auction recordView the source for Final investment decisionFinal investment decision 3 Dec 2018 View the source for Offshore constructionOffshore construction Sep 2019 View the source for First powerFirst power 2020 View the source for Commercial operationCommercial operation 2020-Q4 Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) — awarded to Otary / Eneco / Elicio 2004 ORIGINATIONOtary RS, ENGIE Electrabel, Eneco Wind Belgium — stake not disclosed · closed 2018-12 2018-07 JV FORMATIONTransfer(s) not in Hafrok's record — shown as a gap, never guessed. UNRECORDEDTODAYOtary — 70% today Otary Otary 70%Eneco Wind Belgium — 12.5% today Eneco Eneco 12.5%Elicio Elicio Elicio exited 2004ENGIE Electrabel ENGIE Electrabel ENGIE Electrabel exited 2018-07Ocean Winds — 17.5% today Ocean Winds Ocean Winds 17.5%Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) — awarded to Otary / Eneco / Elicio Otary RS, ENGIE Electrabel, Eneco Wind Belgium — stake not disclosed · closed 2018-12 Transfer(s) not in Hafrok's record — shown as a gap, never guessed.
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 20202020-Q4 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2020, unchanged)

Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day

487 MW contracted — concession
Concession · Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank)
Price€79/MWh ·Capacity487 MWAwarded2004
Term20 yrs

Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers

Satellite installation tracker
counted from satellite radar images · a structure standing in the sea on a given date, not a turbine producing power · a guide, not a sourced fact
Installation · counted from satellite
Foundations30 of 5852% · first seen 2019-09-22
Turbines30 of 5852% · first seen 2020-04-02
Latest count2021-12-31from 611 satellite passes · 1 substation platform left out so the counts compare with the turbine number · the count has ended: the build is complete
Hafrok counts foundations and turbines from satellite radar images (≈): a structure is counted once it is seen standing in the sea, which is not the same as producing power. A structure first seen in the last 60 days is not yet confirmed, because on a single image a freshly set foundation and a ship holding position look alike. Substation platforms are left out so the counts compare with the number of turbines. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers; a supplier or contract appears only where a source states it — everything else reads “not recorded”, never guessed.
Structures standing over time · count
strong line = confirmed · light line = seen in the last 60 days, not yet confirmed · the chart counts every structure (58 turbines + 1 platform); the table counts turbines only
foundationsturbines up (a substation top being set in place counts here too)
204059 planned (turbines and platforms)latest count 2021-12-31foundations — running total, confirmedSep 2019 — 3 this month · 3 in totalOct 2019 — 2 this month · 5 in totalNov 2019 — 9 this month · 14 in totalDec 2019 — 13 this month · 27 in totalJan 2020 — 3 this month · 30 in totalApr 2020 — 0 this month · 30 in totalMay 2020 — 0 this month · 30 in totalJun 2020 — 0 this month · 30 in totalAug 2020 — 0 this month · 30 in totalSep 2020 — 0 this month · 30 in totalOct 2020 — 0 this month · 30 in totalNov 2020 — 0 this month · 30 in totalDec 2020 — 1 this month · 31 in totalturbines up — running total, confirmedSep 2019 — 0 this month · 0 in totalOct 2019 — 0 this month · 0 in totalNov 2019 — 0 this month · 0 in totalDec 2019 — 0 this month · 0 in totalJan 2020 — 0 this month · 0 in totalApr 2020 — 5 this month · 5 in totalMay 2020 — 1 this month · 6 in totalJun 2020 — 2 this month · 8 in totalAug 2020 — 2 this month · 10 in totalSep 2020 — 5 this month · 15 in totalOct 2020 — 5 this month · 20 in totalNov 2020 — 7 this month · 27 in totalDec 2020 — 4 this month · 31 in total31 foundations31 turbines upSep 2019Nov 2019Jan 2020May 2020Aug 2020Oct 2020Dec 2020
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass
Farm covered100%the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed31 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmedas counted on 2021-12-31 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortREBO Ostend marshalling
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (31)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary
Satellite radar image over SeaMade, 2026-09-07
Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationMOG / Modular Offshore Grid·220 kV · in service 2019 · owner Elia (Belgian TSO) · also serves Northwester 2, Rentel
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
201920202021developer’s stated start 2020-Q4nowMOG / Modular Offshore GridMOG / Modular Offshore Gridin service 2019in service 2019

Sources & verification

17/18 fields verified · rests on 14 sources (8 primary) · ◆ 3 documents held
VerifiedModelledSourcedInferredConventionUnverifiedNo source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator4
[1]
Eneco2018-12-03◆ SeaMade reaches Financial Close for its …
"SeaMade NV ... reaches Financial Close for its 487 MW Offshore Wind Farm in the Belgian North Sea ... Financial Close Date: December 3, 2018 ... Ownership Structure: Otary RS NV: majority stake, ENGI…
supportsFinal investment decisionTurbinesUnit capacityTotal capacity
[5]
Otary2021-10-20
“SeaMade was developed by a unique partnership between Otary, ENGIE – now Ocean Winds – and Eneco ... Otary: 70% stake in SeaMade concessions ... SeaMade NV ... 487 MW total installed capacity ... 1.8 …”
supportsBackground
[6]
Eneco2019-09-10
"Offshore Construction Start Date: September 10, 2019 ... Port Used for Construction/Marshalling: Maasvlakte 2 harbor in the Port of Rotterdam (foundation loadout) ... DP2 offshore installation vessel…
supportsOffshore construction
[8]
Port of Ostend2020-03-25
“First parts of wind farm SeaMade unloaded at the REBO terminal in Port Oostende ... The terminal will eventually receive 58 nacelles, 174 tower sections, and 174 blades for the complete installation .…”
supportsmarshalling
Financier1
[2]
European Investment Bank2018-12-03
“EUR 250 million EU-financing for SeaMade offshore wind farm in Belgium ... Financial Close Date: 30 November 2018 (signing date) ... 487 MW combined capacity across 58 turbines deployed at two sites l…”
supportsTurbinesTotal capacityWater depthDistance from shore
Auction results1
[17]
RBINS / MUMM (Brabant, Degraer & Rumes, 2011 — Offshore wind farms in the Belgian part of the North Sea, ch. 2)2011◆ rbins-mumm-2011-belgian-owf-ch2
Table 1, "Overview of the dates when the projects were granted a domain concession and an environmental permit": C-Power 27/06/03 · Belwind 5/6/2007 · Eldepasco 15/5/2006 · Norther 5/10/2009 · Rentel …
supportsConcession · Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank)
Trade press8
[3]
Power Technology (NS Energy)2021-10
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacityTotal capacityFoundation+3 more
[4]
Offshore Wind Biz2021-10-20◆ Belgium's Largest Offshore Wind Farm Off…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsCommercial operationCOD history
[11]
Enerdata2017-10-31
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsMechanismDetail
[12]
Offshore Wind Biz2019-09-11
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsStatusConnection point
[13]
Power Technology2024
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsowner
[14]
Tethys (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory)2026-04-16
“Key milestones include the issuance of domain concessions for SeaStar and Mermaid by the State Secretary for Energy in 2012, following the withdrawal of a previous concession for SeaStar in 2011. Envi…”
supportsConsent
[15]
Offshore Wind Biz2020-07-02
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFirst power
[16]
DTU Wind Energy / World Bank (Global Wind Atlas)2026
supportsMean wind speed