Northwester 2

11.7 km2 area. Part of Belgian offshore wind zone.

Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record

2005’06’07’08’09’10’11’12’13’14’15’16’17’18’19’20’21’22’23’24’25’26Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) — awarded to ParkwindBelgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) 2004 · auction recordView the source for Final investment decisionFinal investment decision Oct 2018 View the source for Offshore constructionOffshore construction Jul 2019 View the source for Commercial operationCommercial operation May 2020 Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) — awarded to Parkwind 2004 ORIGINATIONParkwind (Virya Energy / Colruyt Group) → Sumitomo Corporation — 30.0% · €18m · closed 2018-10 2018-08 FARMDOWNParkwind (Virya Energy / Colruyt Group) → Parkwind (JERA) — 70.0% · closed 2023-07 2023-03 MERGERJERA, BP — stake not disclosed · closed 2025-08 2024-12 JV FORMATIONSumitomo Corporation → JERA Nex bp — 30.0% 2026-07 DIVESTMENTTODAYParkwind (JERA Nex bp) — 100% today · operator Parkwind Parkwind 100%Sumitomo Corporation Sumitomo Corporation Sumitomo Corporation exited 2026-07JERA Nex bp JERA JERA exited 2026-07BP BP BP exited 2024-12Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) — awarded to Parkwind Parkwind (Virya Energy / Colruyt Group) → Sumitomo Corporation — 30.0% · €18m · closed 2018-10 30%Parkwind (Virya Energy / Colruyt Group) → Parkwind (JERA) — 70.0% · closed 2023-07 JERA, BP — stake not disclosed · closed 2025-08 Sumitomo Corporation → JERA Nex bp — 30.0% 30%
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2020-Q22020-05 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2020-Q2, unchanged)

Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day

219 MW contracted — concession
Concession · Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank)
Price€79/MWh ·Capacity219 MWAwarded2004
Term20 yrs

Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers

Satellite installation tracker
counted from satellite radar images · a structure standing in the sea on a given date, not a turbine producing power · a guide, not a sourced fact
Installation · counted from satellite
Foundations23 of 23100% · first seen 2019-08-02
Turbines22 of 2396% · first seen 2019-12-24
Latest count2021-12-31from 589 satellite passes · 1 substation platform left out so the counts compare with the turbine number · the count has ended: the build is complete
Hafrok counts foundations and turbines from satellite radar images (≈): a structure is counted once it is seen standing in the sea, which is not the same as producing power. A structure first seen in the last 60 days is not yet confirmed, because on a single image a freshly set foundation and a ship holding position look alike. Substation platforms are left out so the counts compare with the number of turbines. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers; a supplier or contract appears only where a source states it — everything else reads “not recorded”, never guessed.
Structures standing over time · count
strong line = confirmed · light line = seen in the last 60 days, not yet confirmed · the chart counts every structure (23 turbines + 1 platform); the table counts turbines only
foundationsturbines up (a substation top being set in place counts here too)
510152024 planned (turbines and platforms)latest count 2021-12-31foundations — running total, confirmedAug 2019 — 7 this month · 7 in totalSep 2019 — 3 this month · 10 in totalOct 2019 — 9 this month · 19 in totalNov 2019 — 4 this month · 23 in totalDec 2019 — 0 this month · 23 in totalJan 2020 — 0 this month · 23 in totalFeb 2020 — 0 this month · 23 in totalMar 2020 — 0 this month · 23 in totalApr 2020 — 0 this month · 23 in totalMar 2021 — 1 this month · 24 in totalturbines up — running total, confirmedAug 2019 — 0 this month · 0 in totalSep 2019 — 0 this month · 0 in totalOct 2019 — 0 this month · 0 in totalNov 2019 — 0 this month · 0 in totalDec 2019 — 2 this month · 2 in totalJan 2020 — 5 this month · 7 in totalFeb 2020 — 3 this month · 10 in totalMar 2020 — 4 this month · 14 in totalApr 2020 — 8 this month · 22 in totalMar 2021 — 1 this month · 23 in total24 foundations23 turbines upAug 2019Oct 2019Dec 2019Feb 2020Apr 2020
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass
Farm covered100%the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed24 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmedas counted on 2021-12-31 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortPort of Ostend installation base
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (24)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary
Satellite radar image over Northwester 2, 2026-09-07
Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationMOG / Modular Offshore Grid·220 kV · in service 2019 · owner Elia (Belgian TSO) · also serves Rentel, SeaMade (Seastar 252 MW + Mermaid 235 MW)
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
201920202021developer’s stated start 2020-Q2nowMOG / Modular Offshore GridMOG / Modular Offshore Gridin service 2019in service 2019

Sources & verification

17/18 fields verified · rests on 11 sources (9 primary) · ◆ 5 documents held
VerifiedModelledSourcedInferredConventionUnverifiedNo source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator4
[1]
JERA Nex bp Parkwind (operator)2024
“219MW operational capacity. 23 turbines. Vestas 9.5 MW- V164. 51 km from shore. The project is the first to be connected to Elia's offshore switchyard that consolidates electricity produced by wind fa…”
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacityTotal capacityDistance from shore
[2]
Parkwind (operator)2020-05-14◆ JERA Nex bp Parkwind | The Northwester 2…
“This wind farm is the first to use the world's highest rated V164-9.5 MW turbines in commercial operation. 219 MW. 23 fully operational wind turbines. V164-9.5 MW turbines with individual capacity of …”
supportsCommercial operationCOD history
[14]
Port of Oostende2020
“Parkwind, a leading 360° offshore wind company, has been in charge of the development and will manage construction and operational activities. The company is headquartered in Leuven (Belgium) and will…”
supportsinstallation base
[16]
Sumitomo Corporation2026-07-03◆ Sumitomo Corporation exits Belgian offsh…
“Sumitomo Corporation ... has decided to sell its equity stakes in three offshore wind power projects off the coast of Belgium: Northwind (joined in 2013), Nobelwind (joined in 2014), and Northwester 2…”
supportsoperator
Financier1
[9]
European Investment Bank2018-10-05
“NORTHWESTER 2. 218.5 MW offshore wind farm located 46 km from the Belgium coast. The project is fully consented following an environmental impact assessment process including an appropriate assessment…”
supportsConsent
Auction results1
[17]
RBINS / MUMM (Brabant, Degraer & Rumes, 2011 — Offshore wind farms in the Belgian part of the North Sea, ch. 2)2011◆ rbins-mumm-2011-belgian-owf-ch2
Table 1, "Overview of the dates when the projects were granted a domain concession and an environmental permit": C-Power 27/06/03 · Belwind 5/6/2007 · Eldepasco 15/5/2006 · Norther 5/10/2009 · Rentel …
supportsConcession · Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank)
Trade press5
[3]
Offshore Wind Biz2018-10-08◆ Northwester 2 Reaches Financial Close | …
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFinal investment decision
[6]
Offshore Wind Biz2019-07-19
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOffshore constructionFoundation
[10]
NS Energy Business2020
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsStatusConnection pointWater depthCoordinates
[11]
Offshore Wind Biz2017-10-27◆ Belgium Agrees on EUR 79/MWh for Three O…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsMechanismDetail
[15]
DTU Wind Energy / World Bank (Global Wind Atlas)2026
supportsMean wind speed