Nobelwind
Bligh Bank II, 47 km from Zeebrugge. Parkwind's first JV with Sumitomo (39%). Meewind (19.9%).
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
Parkwind — 80.1% ◆MEMeewind — 19.9% ◆
Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
165 MW ◆
Turbines
50 × 3.3 MW ◆
Model
Vestas V112 3-3 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) · 2004 ·
Water depth
26–38 m ◆
Distance from shore
47 km ◆
Wind speed
9.4 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
Certificate ◆
Grid
Secured · 2016 ◆
Connection
Belwind I OHVS (coupling cable), then 220 kV cable to Stevin … ◆
Schedule
FID
Oct 2015 ◆
COD
May 2017 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2004
Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank)
- Awarded to
- Parkwind
- Basis
- integrated tender
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
JV formation · 2014-06
Parkwind · Sumitomo Corporation · Meewind stake not disclosed
- Stake
- not disclosed
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2014-06
- Closed
- 2015-10
- Project stage
- pre-FID
Nobelwind NV formed with Sumitomo Corporation joining Parkwind and Meewind in June 2014. Final ownership: Parkwind 41.08%, Sumitomo Corporation 39.02%, Meewind 19.9%. Financial close October 2015 for EUR ~665m project. Sumitomo entered at development/pre-FID stage. Nobelwind is built on the Belwind concession area, sharing the same grid connection infrastructure. Records the JV formation / Sumitomo entry and financial close milestone.
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Merger · 2023-03
Parkwind (Virya Energy / Colruyt Group) → Parkwind (JERA) 41.08%
- Stake
- 41.08%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2023-03
- Closed
- 2023-07
- Project stage
- operational
Platform-level acquisition: JERA acquired 100% of Parkwind NV from Virya Energy for EUR 1.55bn. Parkwind held ~41.08% of Nobelwind at acquisition (Sumitomo 39.02% and Meewind 19.9% retained). See Belwind record for full platform deal context.
Evidence
- jera.co.jp — JERA and Virya Energy reach an agreement for the acquisition of Parkwind by JERA - Press Release(2023) ↗ 2023-03 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
JV formation · 2024-12
JERA · BP stake not disclosed
- Stake
- not disclosed
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2024-12
- Closed
- 2025-08
- Project stage
- operational
JERA and BP formed JERA Nex bp (50/50 JV) announced December 2024, launched August 2025. Nobelwind (JERA Nex ~41% stake via Parkwind) contributed into the JV alongside other assets. See Belwind record for full JV context.
Evidence
- jera.co.jp — bp and JERA joining forces to create top-tier global offshore wind joint venture - Press Release(2024) ↗ 2024-12 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Divestment · 2026-07
Sumitomo Corporation → JERA Nex bp 39.02%
- Stake
- 39.02%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2026-07
- Project stage
- operational
Sumitomo's full exit from Nobelwind, sold to JERA Nex bp — already a shareholder through Parkwind, its Belgian platform. Sumitomo's own release (3 Jul 2026) states the sale is COMPLETED but gives no percentage; the 39.02% is the stake Sumitomo held on our record, taking Parkwind from 41.08% to 80.1% with Meewind's 19.9% unaffected.
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2017-Q4→2017-05 · 2 recorded revisions · pulled forward -0.5 yr (first announced 2017-Q4)
Revenue & offtake the regime the project was built under
Offtake regime on record
RegimeBelgian federal green certificate scheme; Elia obliged to purchase at minimum EUR 107/MWh (first 45 MW) / EUR 90/MWh (remaining 120 MW); 20-year purchase obligation. Electricity PPA with EDF Luminus.
Instrumentgreen certificates
A built project sells its power under the contract or support regime it was financed with; it is not expected to bid into new government offtake rounds. Where the record does not yet name that regime, the row says so rather than guessing.
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing50≈50 turbines + 0 platforms expected · every expected structure seen
Surveyed2026-09-01≈from 120 satellite passes
Built2016-04 → 2017-05offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed50 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortPort of Ostend ◆installation
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (50)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Sources & verification
17/18 fields verified · rests on 10 sources (6 primary) · ◆ 3 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator5
[1]
Sumitomo Corporation2015-10◆ Sumitomo, Parkwind, and Meewind Secure F…
“Sumitomo Corporation: 39.02% ... 165 MW total production capacity ... 50 wind turbines rated at 3.3 MW each ... North Sea, approximately 45 km north of Belgian coast ... water depth: approximately 30 …”
supportsTurbinesUnit capacityTotal capacityDistance from shore
[2]
[6]
FPS Economy (Belgian Federal Public Service)2024-01-01
“Operational since May 2017 ... Contains 50 turbines, each rated at 3.3 MW ... Total capacity: 165 MW ... Water depth: up to 37 meters ... Distance from coast: 46-52 km ... Foundation type: Monopile”
supportsCommercial operationCOD history
[10]
Nobelwind NV annual work report, hosted by MUMM (Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences, OD Nature)2023-06-12
“The Bligh Bank offshore wind park zone is the initially Belwind concession zone, which has been split up into two separate concessions namely the Belwind and Nobelwind concession. In line with the Roy…”
supportsConsentConsent granted
[12]
Sumitomo Corporation2026-07-03◆ Sumitomo Corporation exits Belgian offsh…
“Sumitomo Corporation ... has decided to sell its equity stakes in three offshore wind power projects off the coast of Belgium: Northwind (joined in 2013), Nobelwind (joined in 2014), and Northwester 2…”
supportsowner
Trade press5
[3]
[4]
[7]
[9]
Power Technology2024
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsowner
[11]