C-Power
Thornton Bank, ~30 km off the West Flanders coast.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
325 MW ◆
Turbines
54 × 6.15 MW ◆
Model
Senvion 6 2m126 ◆
Foundation
GBS+Jacket ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) · 2003 ·
Water depth
12–27 m ◆
Distance from shore
30 km ◆
Wind speed
9.3 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
Certificate ◆
Grid
Secured · 2013-09 ◆
Connection
Sas Slijkens high-voltage substation, Bredene (150 kV, Elia) ◆
Schedule
FID
2007 ◆
COD
Sep 2013 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2003-06
Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank)
- Awarded to
- C-Power NV
- Basis
- integrated tender
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
JV entry · 2009-05
Socofe / Ecotech Finance / EDF Energies Nouvelles / DEME / Nutsbedrijven Houdstermaatschappij → RWE Innogy 26.72%
- Stake
- 26.72%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2009-05
- Project stage
- under construction
RWE Innogy acquired a 26.72% stake in C-Power (Thornton Bank), becoming the largest single shareholder. Assembled from two tranches: 20.22% purchased from Socofe and Ecotech Finance, plus a further 6.5% from EDF Energies Nouvelles, Nutsbedrijven Houdstermaatschappij and DEME. Thornton Bank Phase I (6 x REpower 5M turbines, 30 MW) was already installed; Phases II and III (54 total turbines, 325 MW) were completed by September 2013. Deal value not disclosed.
Evidence
- modernpowersystems.com — RWE buys share in Thornton Bank ↗ 2009-05 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2011-12
EDF Energies Nouvelles → Marguerite Fund 9.14%
- Stake
- 9.14%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2011-12
- Project stage
- under construction
Marguerite Fund (European infrastructure fund backed by EIB and national promotion banks) acquired approximately 9.1% of C-Power by purchasing 49.9% of EDF Energies Nouvelles' then-18.3% stake. The resulting stake was later described as ~10% (rounding). This was Marguerite Fund's inaugural investment. C-Power at the time was progressing through Phases II and III construction. Deal value undisclosed.
Evidence
- marguerite.com — The Marguerite Fund completes first investment to acquire stake in C-Power’s Thornton Bank Offshore Wind Project ↗ 2011-12 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2017-08
Marguerite Fund → Marguerite Pantheon (Pantheon) 10%
- Stake
- 10%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2017-08
- Closed
- 2017-12
- Project stage
- operational
Marguerite Fund sold a portfolio of five European infrastructure assets to Pantheon via a GP-led secondary. The five assets comprised: C-Power (Belgium), Butendiek offshore wind (Germany), Autovia del Arlanzon shadow-toll road (Spain), and two French solar PV plants (Toul-Rosieres 2, Massangis 1). The acquisition vehicle was Marguerite Pantheon SCSp, wholly owned by Pantheon- managed funds and accounts. C-Power stake was ~10%. No per-asset deal value disclosed; portfolio-level price undisclosed.
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2024-02
Marguerite Pantheon (Pantheon) → Existing C-Power co-shareholders 10%
- Stake
- 10%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2024-02
- Project stage
- operational
Marguerite Pantheon SCSp sold its 10% stake in C-Power (Thornton Bank) to existing co-shareholders. Transaction signed and closed on 2 February 2024. Buyers were the remaining C-Power consortium shareholders (RWE, SRIW, Nuhma, DEME and others) in proportions not publicly disclosed. Deal value undisclosed. Post-transaction, Marguerite fully exited Belgian offshore wind.
Evidence
- marguerite.com — Marguerite Pantheon sells stake in Belgian offshore wind farm C-Power ↗ 2024-02 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2013-Q3→2013-09 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2013-Q3, unchanged)
Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day
325 MW contracted — concession
● Concession · Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank)
Price€107/MWh ·Capacity325 MWAwardedJun 2003Term20 yrs
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing12≈54 turbines + 1 platform expected · 43 fewer than expected — small or closely spaced early turbines fall below the radar threshold or merge into one return
Surveyed2026-09-01≈from 120 satellite passes
Built2013-09offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed12 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (12)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationC-Power Offshore Transformer Station (OTS)·33/150 kV · in service 2013 · owner C-Power (the wind farm project company — NOT Elia)
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
Sources & verification
15/19 fields verified · rests on 13 sources (6 primary) · ◆ 5 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator4
[1]
[2]
[3]
[9]
SOCOFE2024-02-15
“la part détenue par C-POWER HOLDCO en C-POWER est passée de 53,9% à 63,3% [...] l'Allemand RWE (pour 26,7%) [...] du Français EDF (10%) [...] DEME CONCESSION WIND et NUHMA en ont profité pour transfér…”
supportsowneroperator
Auction results1
[16]
RBINS / MUMM (Brabant, Degraer & Rumes, 2011 — Offshore wind farms in the Belgian part of the North Sea, ch. 2)2011◆ rbins-mumm-2011-belgian-owf-ch2
Table 1, "Overview of the dates when the projects were granted a domain concession and an environmental permit": C-Power 27/06/03 · Belwind 5/6/2007 · Eldepasco 15/5/2006 · Norther 5/10/2009 · Rentel …
supportsConcession · Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank)
Trade press8
[4]
[5]
[6]
[8]
CMS Law2024-01-01◆ CMS Expert Guide - Offshore wind in Belg…
“Offshore wind farms with financial close prior to 1 May 2014 can sell their Green Certificates to the TSO at a fixed minimum price of EUR 107 per MWh for the electricity that is generated from the fir…”
supportsMechanismDetail
[11]
[12]
Power Technology
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsCommercial operation
[13]
offshoreWIND.biz2013-09-18
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsCommercial operation
[14]

