Belwind

Bligh Bank, 46 km from Zeebrugge. Originally developed by evelop (Econcern). Current owners: Parkwind (41%), Sumitomo Corp (39%), Zeewind (20%).

Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record

2007’08’09’10’11’12’13’14’15’16’17’18’19’20’21’22’23’24’25’26View the source for Consent grantedConsent granted 5 Jun 2007 Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) — awarded to Belwind NVBelgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) Jun 2007 · auction recordView the source for Offshore constructionOffshore construction 2009 View the source for Final investment decisionFinal investment decision Jul 2009 View the source for First powerFirst power 2010 View the source for Commercial operationCommercial operation 2010 Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) — awarded to Belwind NV 2007-06 ORIGINATIONColruyt Group, Korys, ParticipatieMaatschappij Vlaanderen (PMV), SHV, Meewind, Rabo Project Equity — stake not disclosed 2009-07 JV FORMATIONSHV → Colruyt Group / Korys / PMV — 20.7% 2011-01 Colruyt Group / Korys / PMV → Parkwind — stake not disclosed · closed 2012-Q2 2012-Q1 MERGERParkwind → Sumitomo Corporation — 39.02% · closed 2014-10 2013-07 FARMDOWNParkwind (Virya Energy / Colruyt Group) → Parkwind (JERA) — 41.0% · closed 2023-07 2023-03 MERGERJERA, BP — stake not disclosed · closed 2025-08 2024-12 JV FORMATIONTransfer(s) not in Hafrok's record — shown as a gap, never guessed. UNRECORDEDTODAYBelwind NV Belwind NV Belwind NV not among today’s recorded owners — no sale recordedColruyt Group Colruyt Group Colruyt Group exited 2012-Q1Korys Korys Korys exited 2012-Q1ParticipatieMaatschappij Vlaanderen (PMV) ParticipatieMaatschappi… ParticipatieMaatschappi… exited 2009-07SHV SHV SHV exited 2011-01Meewind Meewind Meewind exited 2009-07Rabo Project Equity Rabo Project Equity Rabo Project Equity exited 2009-07PMV PMV PMV exited 2012-Q1Parkwind — 41% today · operator Parkwind Parkwind 41%Sumitomo Corporation — 39% today Sumitomo Corporation Sumitomo Corporation 39%JERA JERA JERA exited 2024-12BP BP BP exited 2024-12Zeewind — 20% today Zeewind Zeewind 20%Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) — awarded to Belwind NV Colruyt Group, Korys, ParticipatieMaatschappij Vlaanderen (PMV), SHV, Meewind, Rabo Project Equity — stake not disclosed SHV → Colruyt Group / Korys / PMV — 20.7% SHV → Colruyt Group / Korys / PMV — 20.7% SHV → Colruyt Group / Korys / PMV — 20.7% 20.7% → consortiumColruyt Group / Korys / PMV → Parkwind — stake not disclosed · closed 2012-Q2 Colruyt Group / Korys / PMV → Parkwind — stake not disclosed · closed 2012-Q2 Colruyt Group / Korys / PMV → Parkwind — stake not disclosed · closed 2012-Q2 Parkwind → Sumitomo Corporation — 39.02% · closed 2014-10 39.02%Parkwind (Virya Energy / Colruyt Group) → Parkwind (JERA) — 41.0% · closed 2023-07 JERA, BP — stake not disclosed · closed 2025-08 Transfer(s) not in Hafrok's record — shown as a gap, never guessed.
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2010-Q42010-Q4 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2010-Q4, unchanged)

Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day

171 MW contracted — concession
Concession · Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank)
Price€107/MWh ·Capacity171 MWAwardedJun 2007
Term20 yrs

Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers

Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing5455 turbines + 1 platform expected · 2 fewer than expected — a position the survey missed
Surveyed2026-09-01from 120 satellite passes
Built2009 → 2010offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass
Farm covered100%the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed54 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmedas counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortPort of Zeebrugge ·quay 1150 m · draft 13.5 m
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (54)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary
Satellite radar image over Belwind, 2026-09-07
Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationBelwind Offshore High Voltage Station (OHVS), Bligh Bank·owner Belwind NV, the phase-I project company; the Belwind/Parkwind platform passed to JERA Nex bp Parkwind with the 2023 acquisition of Parkwind by JERA. Belgium has no OFTO-style transmission transfer — Elia's grid begins onshore at Zeebrugge, so the OHVS stayed with the project company.
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
20102011201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023202420252026developer’s stated start 2010nowBelwind Offshore High Voltage Station (OHVS), Bligh BankBelwind Offshore High Voltage Sta…platform installed 2010platform installed 2010

Sources & verification

15/18 fields verified · rests on 11 sources (6 primary) · ◆ 6 documents held
VerifiedModelledSourcedInferredConventionUnverifiedNo source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator4
[1]
Belgian Offshore Platform2024
“Total installed capacity: 171 MW. 55 Vestas turbines plus 1 Haliade demonstration turbine. Foundation type: Monopile. Water depth: 15 to 37 m. Distance offshore: 46 km from shore. Surface area: 17 km2…”
supportsFirst powerCommercial operationCOD historyTurbinesModel+4 more
[4]
Korys (Colruyt family investment company)2014-10-20◆ October 2014, Parkwind deal closed · Kor…
“Parkwind will have 41% of the shares, Sumitomo Corporation 39% and Zeewind 20%. Sumitomo Corporation has acquired 39% of the shares in Belwind.”
supportsoperatorowner
[7]
Parkwind (JERA Nex bp Parkwind)2023-07-26◆ JERA Nex bp Parkwind | Acquisition of Pa…
“JERA completed the purchase of 100% of Parkwind NV's shares from Virya Energy. Today, Parkwind is Belgium's largest offshore wind platform which operates 4 offshore wind projects in Belgium, totaling …”
supportsBackground
[11]
RBINS / MUMM (Brabant, Degraer & Rumes, 2011 — Offshore wind farms in the Belgian part of the North Sea, ch. 2)2011◆ Microsoft Word - cover test front
supportsStatusConnection point
Financier1
[2]
European Investment Bank2009-07-24◆ Belgium: EUR 300 million loan for Belwin…
“The financing was closed on July 24, 2009 and will cover the construction and operation of the first phase of a 330 MW offshore wind farm situated at the Bligh Bank in the North Sea, 46 km off the coa…”
supportsFinal investment decisionOffshore constructionDistance from shore
Auction results1
[12]
RBINS / MUMM (Brabant, Degraer & Rumes, 2011 — Offshore wind farms in the Belgian part of the North Sea, ch. 2)2011◆ rbins-mumm-2011-belgian-owf-ch2
Table 1, "Overview of the dates when the projects were granted a domain concession and an environmental permit": C-Power 27/06/03 · Belwind 5/6/2007 · Eldepasco 15/5/2006 · Norther 5/10/2009 · Rentel …
supportsConcession · Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank)
Trade press5
[3]
CMS Law (secondary, cites FPS Economy / Royal Decree)2024◆ CMS Expert Guide - Offshore wind in Belg…
“Belwind Concession: Date: June 5, 2007. Location: Bligh Bank. Capacity: 171 MW (operational December 2010). Domain concessions enabling offshore wind farm construction and operation are governed by th…”
supportsConsentConsent granted
[5]
Norton Rose Fulbright (secondary, cites Royal Decree 16 July 2002)2024
“For installations with a financial close date before May 1, 2014 (including Belwind), the guaranteed minimum Green Energy Certificate (GEC) price is EUR 107/MWh for power generated by the first 216 MW…”
supportsMechanismStrike / priceDetail
[6]
EnSol (EPC contractor reference)2023
“Five strings of 33kV submarine cables connecting Belwind 1 turbines to OHVS. The voltage will be transformed to 150kV. 52km submarine cable. The wind farm is connected to the Belgian national grid of …”
supportsTotal capacityStatusConnection pointWater depthport
[8]
Global Energy Monitor2026-07-02
supportsCoordinates
[9]
DTU Wind Energy / World Bank (Global Wind Atlas)2026
supportsMean wind speed