Triton Knoll
Located off Lincolnshire coast. 857 MW capacity.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
857 MW ◆
Turbines
90 × 9.5 MW ◆
Model
Mhi Vestas V164 9-5 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◇
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Crown Estate Round 2 · 2003 ·
Water depth
18–24 m ◇
Distance from shore
33 km ◆
Wind speed
10.3 m/s @ 150 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
CfD · AR2 ◆
Grid
Connected ◆
Connection
Grid connection secured. Bicker Fen 400kV substation, … ◆
Schedule
FID
2018 ◆
COD
2022-Q1 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2003-12
Crown Estate Round 2
- Awarded to
- RWE / J-Power / Kansai
- Basis
- seabed award
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
JV entry · 2015-02
RWE → Statkraft 50%
- Stake
- 50%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2015-02
- Project stage
- consented
Statkraft acquired 50% from RWE Innogy in a 50/50 development partnership. Deal value undisclosed. Project had DCO consent (Jul 2013) but no CfD award yet. Capacity planned at up to 900 MW at this stage.
Evidence
- renewable-energy-industry.com — RWE Innogy and Statkraft agree partnership deal for Triton Knoll Offshore Wind Farm ↗ 2015-02 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Acquisition · 2017-10
Statkraft → innogy 50%
- Stake
- 50%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2017-10
- Project stage
- pre-FID
innogy acquired Statkraft's 50%, becoming sole owner. Deal value undisclosed. Statkraft had announced in late 2015 it would exit offshore wind. Project had just won CfD AR2 at GBP 74.75/MWh (Sep 2017).
Evidence
- tritonknoll.co.uk — innogy acquires Statkraft’s 50 per cent share in Triton Knoll offshore wind project ↗ 2017-10 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Farmdown · 2018-08
innogy → J-Power 25%
- Stake
- 25%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2018-08
- Project stage
- FID
Part of combined 41% farmdown to J-Power (25%) and Kansai Electric (16%). Official deal value undisclosed. Market sources reported combined Japanese commitment of "almost GBP 1bn", but this includes equity + shareholder loans + EPC commitment, not separable. Total project cost ~GBP 2bn with ~GBP 1.75bn debt from 15-bank consortium. Financial close 31 Aug 2018. innogy retained 59%. The 'around £2 billion' total (incl. £1.75bn bank consortium) is project investment, not stake price.
Evidence
- news.innogy.com — innogy finds new partners for its Triton Knoll Offshore Wind Farm ↗ 2018-08 ◆ held
- RWE — RWE — RWE annual report 2018 ↗ 2018 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Farmdown · 2018-08
innogy → Kansai Electric Power 16%
- Stake
- 16%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2018-08
- Project stage
- FID
Part of combined 41% farmdown to J-Power (25%) and Kansai Electric (16%). Official deal value undisclosed. Kansai invested via subsidiary KPIC Netherlands B.V. First Japanese utility investment in overseas offshore wind. See J-Power entry for total commitment details.
Evidence
- news.innogy.com — innogy finds new partners for its Triton Knoll Offshore Wind Farm ↗ 2018-08 ◆ held
- RWE — RWE — RWE annual report 2018 ↗ 2018 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2022→2022-Q1→2022-Q1→2022-01 · 4 recorded revisions · pulled forward -0.5 yr (first announced 2022)
Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day
CfD-backed offtake
● CfD · AR2
Price£74.75/MWh ·Basis2012 real · CPI-indexed
Capacity860 MWAwardedSep 2017Term15 yrs · delivery 2021/22
Money-of-the-day values computed by Hafrok from the United Kingdom CPI index, 2012 real base — actual to 2026-07, then an assumed +2.0%/yr (central-bank target). Cfd terms run 15 years from start of generation in the contracted delivery year.
Contract price over time · £/MWh
solid = actual CPI indexation · dashed = assumed +2.0%/yr
CfD · AR2
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite installation tracker
counted from satellite radar images · a structure standing in the sea on a given date, not a turbine producing power · a guide, not a sourced fact
Installation · counted from satellite
Foundations90 of 90≈100% · first seen 2020-01-22
Turbines90 of 90≈100% · first seen 2020-04-13
Latest count2023-12-30from 645 satellite passes · 2 substation platforms left out so the counts compare with the turbine number · the count has ended: the build is complete
Hafrok counts foundations and turbines from satellite radar images (≈): a structure is counted once it is seen standing in the sea, which is not the same as producing power. A structure first seen in the last 60 days is not yet confirmed, because on a single image a freshly set foundation and a ship holding position look alike. Substation platforms are left out so the counts compare with the number of turbines. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers; a supplier or contract appears only where a source states it — everything else reads “not recorded”, never guessed.
Structures standing over time · count
strong line = confirmed · light line = seen in the last 60 days, not yet confirmed · the chart counts every structure (90 turbines + 2 platforms); the table counts turbines only
foundationsturbines up (a substation top being set in place counts here too)
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass · 1 newer pass skipped because the satellite’s track only caught part of the farm (the best of them 0%)
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed92 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2023-12-30 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortAble Seaton Port ◆Marshalling / turbine installation
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (92)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 2
Offshore substationTriton Knoll OSP West·owner Triton Knoll OFTO (see notes); built by RWE-led Triton Knoll Offshore Wind Farm Ltd
Offshore substationTriton Knoll OSP East·owner Triton Knoll OFTO (see notes); built by RWE-led Triton Knoll Offshore Wind Farm Ltd
Sources & verification
14/18 fields verified · rests on 15 sources (13 primary) · ◆ 10 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator4
[5]
Planning Inspectorate2013-07-11◆ Triton Knoll Offshore Wind Farm - Projec…
“This project is at the post-decision stage.
This application was granted on 11 July 2013.”
supportsConsent
[6]
UK Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy (BEIS)2017-09-11◆ CfD Allocation Round 2 results
“Triton Knoll Offshore Wind Farm | Triton Knoll Offshore Wind Farm Limited | Offshore Wind | 860.00 [MW capacity] | 74.75 [strike price, 2012 prices] | 2021/22 [delivery year] | England ... footnote 1:…”
supportsMechanismDetail
[8]
UK Statutory Instruments (legislation.gov.uk)2022◆ The Triton Knoll Offshore Wind Farm (Tra…
supportsCoordinates
[16]
Department for Energy Security and Net Zero2026-05-06◆ Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD…
“REPD Q1 2026 quarterly extract — Ref ID 2532: Site Name "Triton Knoll", Development Status "Operational", Installed Capacity 857 MWelec, Operator "Innogy"”
supportsRegister entry
Operator6
[1]
RWE◆ Offshore Wind Farm Triton Knoll
“owned by RWE (59%), J-Power (25%) and Kansai Electric Power (16%). Offshore work began January 2020; commissioning completed January 2022. ... Offshore construction commenced in January 2020, 20 miles…”
supportsOnshore constructionCommercial operationTurbinesModelUnit capacity+2 more
[2]
RWE2021-03-01◆ Triton Knoll Offshore Wind Farm generate…
“Triton Knoll offshore wind farm generated first power on 1 March 2021. ... Triton Knoll Offshore Wind Farm generates first power ... RWE has taken a significant step towards achieving full power at it…”
supportsFirst powerMarshalling / turbine installation
[4]
RWE2022-01-13◆ RWE announces further milestone for Trit…
“Triton Knoll turbines commissioned on time, with full operations expected Q1 2022 ... Standing at 164 meters tall, full operations of the 90 turbines are expected in the first quarter of 2022.”
supportsStatusConnection point
[9]
[15]
RWE AG2023-12-05◆ Triton Knoll Offshore Wind Farm: Sale of…
“Construction of Triton Knoll was completed in April 2021 and all turbines were fully commissioned in January 2022. The power output of Triton Knoll is 857 megawatts (MW)”
supportsCOD history
[17]
National Energy System Operator (NESO)2026-07-21◆ NESO Transmission Entry Capacity (TEC) R…
“NESO TEC Register, edition 21 July 2026 - PRO-000193: "Triton Knoll Offshore Wind Farm", Status "Built", MW Connected 824, Effective From n/a, Customer "TRITON KNOLL OFFSHORE WIND FARM LIMITED"”
supportsRegister entry
Auction results1
[18]
BEIS (gov.uk)2017-09◆ cfd-ar2-results-2017
Triton Knoll Offshore Wind Farm — Offshore Wind 860.00 MW, GBP 74.75, 2021/22; Hornsea Project 2 (Breesea Limited) — 1,386.00 MW, GBP 57.50, 2022/23; Moray Offshore Windfarm (East) — 950.00 MW, GBP 57…
supportsCfD · AR2
Trade press4
[10]
Power Technology
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsWater depth
[11]
NS Energy2022
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsoperatorowner
[12]
offshoreWIND.biz2018-08-31
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFinal investment decision
[13]
