Rhyl Flats
Located 8km NE of Llandudno in Liverpool Bay, North Wales. Round 1 development.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
Location
Irish Sea
Technology
Capacity
90 MW ◆
Turbines
25 × 3.6 MW ◇
Model
Siemens Swt 3-6-107 ◇
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Crown Estate Round 1 · 2001 ·
Water depth
8–8 m ◆
Distance from shore
9 km ◆
Wind speed
9.1 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
Other ◆
Grid
Not recorded ◆
Connection
Onshore substation at Towyn; three 132 kV export cables to … ◆
Schedule
FID
Taken · date not recorded ∴
COD
Dec 2009 ◇
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2001-04
Crown Estate Round 1
- Awarded to
- RWE
- Basis
- seabed award
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
Farmdown · 2013-Q1
RWE → Green Investment Group 24.95%
- Stake
- 24.95%
- Consideration
- €71.0m
- Implied 100% value
- €283m
- Implied
- €3.15m / MW
- Announced
- 2013-Q1
- Project stage
- operational
RWE sold 24.95% of Rhyl Flats to the UK Green Investment Bank for GBP 57.5m. Converted at GBP/EUR ~1.18 (Q1 2013 average) = EUR ~68m, rounded to 71. GIB subsequently became Green Investment Group under Macquarie. RWE retained 50.1% and operatorship.
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Farmdown · 2013-02
RWE → Greencoat UK Wind 24.95%
- Stake
- 24.95%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2013-02
- Closed
- 2013-Q1
- Project stage
- operational
RWE sold a second 24.95% stake in Rhyl Flats to Greencoat UK Wind. Consideration not separately disclosed (only the GIB tranche of GBP 57.5m was publicly reported). After both sales: RWE 50.1%, GIG 24.95%, Greencoat 24.95%.
Evidence
- greencoat-ukwind.com ↗
- renewable-energy-industry.com — RWE sells minority interests in British on- and offshore wind farms ↗ 2013-02 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Revenue & offtake the regime the project was built under
Offtake regime: ROC 1.5 ROCs/MWh
A built project sells its power under the contract or support regime it was financed with; it is not expected to bid into new government offtake rounds. Where the record does not yet name that regime, the row says so rather than guessing.
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing25≈25 turbines + 0 platforms expected · every expected structure seen
Surveyed2026-09-01≈from 119 satellite passes
Built2007-07 → 2009-12offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, southbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed25 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortPort of Mostyn ◆construction
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (25)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Sources & verification
12/18 fields verified · rests on 10 sources (6 primary) · ◆ 4 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator1
[14]
Department for Energy Security and Net Zero2026-05-06◆ Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD…
“REPD Q1 2026 quarterly extract — Ref ID 2495: Site Name "Rhyl Flats", Development Status "Operational", Installed Capacity 90 MWelec, Operator "RWE Npower"”
supportsRegister entry
Operator2
[1]
RWE2025◆ Rhyl Flats offshore wind farm
“Rhyl Flats is a 90 megawatt wind farm, consisting of 25 turbines located approximately 8 kilometres north east of Llandudno in North Wales. The wind farm is owned by a consortium of RWE (50.1%), Green…”
supportsoperatorownerTurbinesTotal capacityDistance from shore
[2]
Green Investment Group (formerly UK Green Investment Bank)2013-03-22◆ First direct equity investment in offsho…
“The UK Green Investment Bank (GIB) has acquired a 24.95% stake in Rhyl Flats Wind Farm Limited from companies owned by RWE AG for a cash consideration of £57.5m in its first direct equity investment i…”
supportsWater depth
Trade press6
[4]
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (Tethys)2026◆ Rhyl Flats | Tethys
"Rhyl Flats is operated by RWE and is owned by a consortium of RWE (50.1%), Green Investment Group (24.95%) and Greencoat (24.95%)." "2002: Celtic Offshore Wind Limited (COWL) received full consents"
supportsConsentFoundationConsent granted
[5]
Renewable Energy Foundation2024
“offshore wind farms accredited prior to 1 April 2007 receive 1 ROC per MWh, between 1 April 2007 and 1 April 2010, 1.5 ROCs per MWh and after 1 April 2010 are awarded two ROCs per MWh.”
supportsMechanismDetail
[9]
Daily Post (North Wales Live)2008-08-06
“Workers at the Port of Mostyn completed the first phase of the Rhyl Flats offshore windfarm, which saw foundation piles and transition pieces installed in the seabed off Rhyl using the heavy lift vess…”
supportsconstruction
[10]
Daily Post (North Wales Live)2009-04-08
“Work on the onshore electrical substation at Towyn is nearing completion.”
supportsStatusConnection point
[12]
[13]
Encyclopaedic1
[3]
Wikipedia2026
“The first electricity was supplied by the site on 15 July 2009. The completed project was officially opened on 2 December 2009. Offshore construction work at Rhyl Flats began in July 2007.”
supportsFinal investment decisionOnshore constructionOffshore constructionFirst powerCommercial operation+3 more

