Neart na Gaoithe
Located in the Outer Firth of Forth, east of Fife Ness. Originally 75 turbines, reduced to 54 with larger turbines.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
EUEDF Renewables UK — 50% ◇
ESB — 50% ◇Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
450 MW ◆
Turbines
54 × 8 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Gamesa SG 8-0-167 DD ◆
Foundation
Jacket ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Water depth
40–60 m ◆
Distance from shore
15.5 km ◆
Wind speed
9.6 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
CfD · AR1 · £114.39/MWh ◆
Grid
Secured ◆
Connection
Crystal Rig wind farm, Lammermuir Hills (400kV onshore … ◆
Schedule
FID
Nov 2019 ◆
COD
Jul 2025 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Acquisition · 2018-05
Mainstream Renewable Power → EDF Renewables 100%
- Stake
- 100%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2018-05
- Project stage
- consented
EDF Renewables acquired 100% of Neart na Gaoithe from Mainstream Renewable Power following a competitive bidding process. Deal value undisclosed. Project had Section 36 consent and CfD (GBP 114.39/MWh in 2012 prices, ~EUR 140/MWh indexed). Total project investment estimated at ~GBP 1.8bn (~EUR 2bn). 54 turbines, 450 MW, located 15 km off Fife Ness in the Firth of Forth. Mainstream had developed the project from inception. Converted context only at GBP/EUR ~1.13 (2018).
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Farmdown · 2019-11
EDF Renewables → ESB 50%
- Stake
- 50%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2019-11
- Project stage
- FID
ESB (Electricity Supply Board, Ireland) acquired 50% from EDF Renewables, creating a 50/50 JV. Deal value undisclosed. Announced 28 Nov 2019, coinciding with financial close and construction launch. Total project investment ~GBP 1.8bn. EDF Renewables raised ~GBP 2bn in project finance debt from 25 financial institutions. Offshore construction commenced Jun 2020, full commissioning achieved Jul 2025. ESB's entry aligned with its "Brighter Future" strategy to build low-carbon generation portfolio. CfD at GBP 114.39/MWh (2012 prices).
Evidence
- globenewswire.com — The EDF Group launches the construction of Neart na Gaoithe ↗ 2019-11 ◆ held
- EDF SA — EDF Universal Registration Document 2019 ↗ 2020-03-13 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). Ownership lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2019→2023→2024→2025→2025-07 · 5 recorded revisions · slipped +6.0 yr (first announced 2019)
Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day
CfD-backed offtake
● CfD · AR1
Price£114.39/MWh ·Basis2012 real · CPI-indexed
Capacity448 MWAwardedFeb 2015Term15 yrs · delivery 2018/19
Money-of-the-day values computed by Hafrok from the United Kingdom CPI index, 2012 real base — actual to 2026-07, then an assumed +2.0%/yr (central-bank target). Cfd terms run 15 years from start of generation in the contracted delivery year.
Contract price over time · £/MWh
solid = actual CPI indexation · dashed = assumed +2.0%/yr
CfD · AR1
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite installation tracker
counted from satellite radar images · a structure standing in the sea on a given date, not a turbine producing power · a guide, not a sourced fact
Installation · counted from satellite
Foundations53 of 54≈98% · first seen 2020-03-06
Turbinesnone yet≈0 of 54
Latest count2026-09-01from 1106 satellite passes · 2 substation platforms left out so the counts compare with the turbine number · anything first seen in the last 60 days is not yet confirmed
Hafrok counts foundations and turbines from satellite radar images (≈): a structure is counted once it is seen standing in the sea, which is not the same as producing power. A structure first seen in the last 60 days is not yet confirmed, because on a single image a freshly set foundation and a ship holding position look alike. Substation platforms are left out so the counts compare with the number of turbines. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers; a supplier or contract appears only where a source states it — everything else reads “not recorded”, never guessed.
Structures standing over time · count
strong line = confirmed · light line = seen in the last 60 days, not yet confirmed · the chart counts every structure (54 turbines + 2 platforms); the table counts turbines only
foundationsturbines up (a substation top being set in place counts here too)
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, southbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed55 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortPort of Dundee ◆turbine installation
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (55)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 2
Offshore substationNnG South OSS (OSS-S)·220/66 kV · in service 2024 · owner Neart na Gaoithe Offshore Wind Ltd (EDF Renewables UK / ESB 50:50); Equitix named Ofgem preferred bidder for the OFTO 2025-10-14, transfer not completed
Offshore substationNnG North OSS (OSS-N)·220/66 kV · owner Neart na Gaoithe Offshore Wind Ltd (EDF Renewables UK / ESB 50:50); Equitix named Ofgem preferred bidder for the OFTO 2025-10-14, transfer not completed
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
Sources & verification
14/18 fields verified · rests on 14 sources (8 primary) · ◆ 9 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator4
[1]
Marine Scotland2018-12-03◆ Section 36 Consent - Construction and Op…
“Section 36 consent under the Electricity Act 1989 for construction and operation of offshore windfarm and transmission works (Revised Design). Applicant: Neart na Gaoithe Offshore Wind Limited. Consen…”
supportsConsentDistance from shoreConsent granted
[5]
DECC2015-02-26◆ CfD Allocation Round 1 results (Official…
“Neart Na Gaoithe, 448 MW, strike price GBP 114.39/MWh (2012 prices), delivery year 2018-19. Allocation Round One results, February 2015. ... [CfD contract delivery-year window, not a developer complet…”
supportsMechanismStrike / priceDetailCfD · AR1
[13]
Department for Energy Security and Net Zero2026-05-06◆ Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD…
“REPD Q1 2026 quarterly extract — Ref ID 2522: Site Name "Neart na Gaoithe", Development Status "Operational", Installed Capacity 450 MWelec, Operator "EDF Renewables Power"”
supportsRegister entry
[15]
Scottish Government Marine Directorate (MD-LOT)2026-08-23◆ Scottish MD-LOT marine projects register…
“Register row "Neart na Gaoithe Offshore Wind Farm" (key ml/neart-na-gaoithe-offshore-wind-farm): Application stage "Post-consent", type "Renewables - Wind". Register row "Neart na Gaoithe Offshore Win…”
supportsRegister entry
Operator4
[2]
EDF Energy2019-11-28◆ Neart na Gaoithe wind farm construction …
“Construction of the Neart na Gaoithe (NnG) offshore wind farm is now underway following confirmation from EDF Renewables that financial close for the project has been achieved. EDF Renewables is also …”
supportsFinal investment decisionTurbinesUnit capacityTotal capacity
[7]
ESB2025-07-25◆ Scotland’s First Minister marks the comp…
“Scotland's First Minister John Swinney visited Eyemouth on 24 July 2025 to formally mark the completion of the fully operational 450 MW Neart na Gaoithe (NnG) offshore wind farm. The project is jointl…”
supportsCommercial operationCOD historyTurbinesUnit capacityTotal capacity+3 more
[9]
[14]
National Energy System Operator (NESO)2026-07-21◆ NESO Transmission Entry Capacity (TEC) R…
“NESO TEC Register, edition 21 July 2026 - PRO-000273: "Neart Na Gaoithe Offshore Wind Farm", Status "Built", MW Connected 448, Effective From n/a, Customer "NEART NA GAOITHE OFFSHORE WIND LIMITED"”
supportsRegister entry
OEM1
[3]
Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy2019-11-28◆ Siemens Gamesa celebrates ‘the Strength …
“Siemens Gamesa will supply 54 units of the Siemens Gamesa SG 8.0-167 DD platform to the 448 MW Neart na Gaoithe (NnG) offshore wind power project. 81 meter-long B81 blades produced on the re-modelled …”
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacity
Trade press4
[4]
[6]
offshoreWIND.biz2024-10-18◆ First Power Flows from 450 MW Neart na G…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFirst powerTurbinesUnit capacityTotal capacityStatus+3 more
[8]
[11]
Encyclopaedic1
[10]