Lynn and Inner Dowsing
Two adjacent offshore wind farms off the Lincolnshire coast, England: Lynn (27 turbines) and Inner Dowsing (27 turbines), located 5 km offshore from Skegness.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
GIGreen Investment Group — 60.75% ◆
MAMacquarie Asset Management — 39.25% ◆
Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
194 MW ◆
Turbines
54 × 3.6 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Swt 3-6-107 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Crown Estate Round 1 · 2001 ·
Water depth
7–12 m ≈
Distance from shore
5 km ◆
Wind speed
9.3 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
Certificate ∅
Grid
Secured · 2009 ◆
Connection
Middlemarsh onshore substation, west of Skegness (33kV) ◆
Schedule
FID
2007 ∅
COD
Mar 2009 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2001-04
Crown Estate Round 1
- Awarded to
- Centrica
- Basis
- seabed award
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
Farmdown · 2009-Q3
Centrica → EIG Global Energy Partners 50%
- Stake
- 50%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2009-Q3
- Closed
- 2009-Q4
- Project stage
- operational
Centrica sold a 50% stake in Lynn and Inner Dowsing (plus the 26 MW onshore Glens of Foudland wind farm) to TCW/EIG Global Energy Partners for GBP 84m combined. Converted at GBP/EUR 1.12 (2009). Farm had just been commissioned (March 2009).
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Divestment · 2016-02
Centrica / EIG Global Energy Partners → Green Investment Group / BlackRock 100%
- Stake
- 100%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2016-02
- Closed
- 2016-Q1
- Project stage
- operational
Centrica (50%) and EIG (50%) jointly sold L&ID plus Glens of Foudland (combined enterprise value GBP 423m) to GIB Offshore Wind Fund (60.75%) and BlackRock (39.25%). Net proceeds to Centrica after debt ~GBP 115m.
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Acquisition · 2024-07
BlackRock → Macquarie 39.25%
- Stake
- 39.25%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2024-07
- Closed
- 2024-Q4
- Project stage
- operational
Macquarie Asset Management (via GIG REF2 and a Private Wealth fund) agreed to acquire BlackRock's remaining 39.25% stake, giving Macquarie 100% ownership. Consideration not disclosed.
Evidence
- Macquarie Asset Management — Macquarie Asset Management agrees to acquire additional stake in Lynn and inner Dowsing offshore wind farms | Macquarie Group ↗ 2024-07-17 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Revenue & offtake the regime the project was built under
Offtake regime: Renewables Obligation Certificate (RO)
RegimeRenewables Obligation Certificate (RO)
Instrumentgreen certificates
A built project sells its power under the contract or support regime it was financed with; it is not expected to bid into new government offtake rounds. Where the record does not yet name that regime, the row says so rather than guessing.
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing54≈54 turbines + 0 platforms expected · every expected structure seen
Surveyed2026-09-01≈from 118 satellite passes
Built2007 → 2009-03offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed54 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortGrimsby Renewables Operations Base ◆o and m
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (54)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Sources & verification
14/18 fields verified · rests on 12 sources (9 primary) · ◆ 7 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator4
[1]
UK Government (Transport and Works Act 1992)2003-10-29◆ The Lynn Offshore Wind Farm Order 2003 (…
"The Lynn Offshore Wind Farm Order 2003 ... Made 29th October 2003 ... Coming into force 19th November 2003 ... authorises AMEC Offshore Wind Power Limited to construct, operate and maintain an offsho…
supportsConsentConsent granted
[2]
UK Government (Transport and Works Act 1992)2003-10-29◆ The Inner Dowsing Offshore Wind Farm Ord…
“The Inner Dowsing Offshore Wind Farm Order 2003 ... Made 29th October 2003 ... Coming into force 19th November 2003 ... authorises Offshore Wind Power (Site No. 1) Limited to construct, operate and ma…”
supportsBackground
[8]
UK Government (Electricity Act 1989)2009-08-27◆ The Electricity (Exemption from the Requ…
“The Electricity (Exemption from the Requirement for a Generation Licence) (Lynn and Inner Dowsing) (England and Wales) Order 2009 ... grants exemption to Centrica (IDW) Limited and Centrica (LW) Limit…”
supportsBackground
[13]
Department for Energy Security and Net Zero2026-05-06◆ Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD…
“REPD Q1 2026 quarterly extract — Ref ID 2491: Site Name "Inner Dowsing", Development Status "Operational", Installed Capacity 97.2 MWelec, Operator "XceCo"; Ref ID 2493: Site Name "Lynn", Development …”
supportsRegister entry
Operator4
[3]
GLID Wind Farms (operated by XceCo Ltd on behalf of Macquarie Asset Management)2025◆ GLID | Harnessing Natural Energy
"5 km off the east coast of England by the town of Skegness in Lincolnshire ... 54 total Siemens 3.6-107 turbines (27 per project) ... total generating capacity of 194.4 MW (97.2 MW per project) ... e…
supportsCommercial operationTurbinesModelUnit capacityTotal capacity+6 more
[4]
XceCo Ltd2025
“Connected at 33 kV to the Middlemarsh onshore substation situated west of Skegness. Lynn and Inner Dowsing are operated out of the Grimsby Renewables Operations Base.”
supportso and m
[6]
Green Investment Group (formerly UK Green Investment Bank)2016-02-05◆ GLID Wind Farms acquired by the UK Green…
“The UK Green Investment Bank Offshore Wind Fund and associated parallel funds and funds managed by BlackRock acquired GLID Wind Farms TopCo Limited (GLID) from Centrica and EIG Global Energy Partners …”
supportsBackground
[7]
Macquarie Asset Management2024-07-17◆ Macquarie Asset Management agrees to acq…
“Macquarie Asset Management ... intends to acquire an additional 39.25 per cent stake in the Lynn and Inner Dowsing offshore wind farms from funds managed by BlackRock ... This transaction ... will inc…”
supportsowner
Trade press4
[5]
Power Technology (GlobalData)2024
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOffshore constructionTurbinesModelUnit capacityFoundation
[10]
[11]
Windpower Monthly2009-03-01
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFirst power
[12]