Beatrice
Scotland's largest and deepest fixed-bottom offshore wind farm at commissioning. Outer Moray Firth, approximately 13.5km off the Caithness coast.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
SSE Renewables — 40% ◆RRRed Rock Power Limited — 25% ◆
INThe Renewables Infrastructure Group — 17.5% ◆
Equitix — 17.5% ◆Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
588 MW ◆
Turbines
84 × 7 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Swt 7-0-154 ◆
Foundation
Jacket ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Water depth
35–56 m ◆
Distance from shore
13.5 km ◆
Wind speed
9.9 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
CfD · FIDeR · £140/MWh ◆
Grid
Secured · 2019-06 ◆
Connection
HVAC 220kV to Blackhillock Substation (400kV) near Keith, … ◆
Schedule
FID
May 2016 ◆
COD
2019-Q2 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Farmdown · 2014-11
SSE Renewables → CIP 25%
- Stake
- 25%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2014-11
- Project stage
- consented
CIP acquired 25% from SSE on behalf of Copenhagen Infrastructure I and II funds (12.5% each). Deal value undisclosed. Project had Section 36 consent (2014) but was pre-CfD and pre-FID. Capacity planned at ~664 MW, later revised to 588 MW. SSE retained 50%, Repsol 25%.
Evidence
- offshoreWIND.biz — Copenhagen Infrastructure Partners Invests in Beatrice Offshore Wind Farm ↗ 2014-11 ◆ held
- SSE plc — SSE plc Annual Report 2015 ↗ 2015 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Farmdown · 2016-01
SSE Renewables → CIP 10%
- Stake
- 10%
- Consideration
- €42.0m
- Implied 100% value
- €420m
- Implied
- €0.71m / MW
- Announced
- 2016-01
- Project stage
- consented
CIP acquired additional 10% from SSE, raising CIP's total stake to 35%. Deal value undisclosed. Transaction preceded FID (Mar 2016) and financial close (May 2016). Ownership after: SSE 40%, CIP 35%, Repsol 25%. Project secured Investment Contract (CfD precursor) at GBP 140/MWh. GBP 20.3m recognised gain is NOT the price. FX: GBP/EUR 0.7546 @ 2016-01 (ECB monthly avg) -> EUR 42.0m; implied 100% EUR 420m (pre-FID price point, Jan 2016).
Evidence
- offshoreWIND.biz — CIP Hikes Beatrice Stake ↗ 2016-01 ◆ held
- SSE plc — SSE plc Annual Report 2017 ↗ 2017 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Portfolio sale · 2016-02
Repsol → SDIC Power (Red Rock Power) 25%
- Stake
- 25%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2016-02
- Closed
- 2016-05
- Project stage
- consented
Repsol sold entire UK offshore wind portfolio to SDIC Power for EUR 238m. Portfolio comprised 100% of Inch Cape plus 25% of Beatrice — individual asset valuations not disclosed. SDIC Power operates in UK via subsidiary Red Rock Power. Beatrice was pre-FID (FID May 2016).
Evidence
- repsol.com — Repsol sells its offshore wind power business in the United Kingdom for 238 million euros ↗ 2016-02 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Divestment · 2021-01
CIP → TRIG / Equitix 35%
- Stake
- 35%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2021-01
- Closed
- 2021-03
- Project stage
- operational
CIP divested entire 35% stake — split equally between TRIG (17.5%) and Equitix (17.5%). Deal value not disclosed. Analysts estimated TRIG's 17.5% at GBP 280-300m, implying project equity valuation ~GBP 1.6-1.7bn (EUR 1.9-2.0bn at GBP/EUR ~1.17). Project fully operational since Jul 2019. CfD at GBP 140/MWh (inflation-linked). Ownership after: SSE 40%, Red Rock Power 25%, TRIG 17.5%, Equitix 17.5%.
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). Ownership lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2019→2019→2019-05 · 3 recorded revisions · held (announced 2019, unchanged)
Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day
664 MW contracted — investment contract
● Investment contract · FID Enabling for Renewables (FIDeR) investment contracts
Price£140/MWh ·Basis2012 real · CPI-indexed
Capacity664 MWAwardedApr 2014Term15 yrs · delivery 2018/19
Money-of-the-day values computed by Hafrok from the United Kingdom CPI index, 2012 real base — actual to 2026-07, then an assumed +2.0%/yr (central-bank target). Investment contract terms run 15 years from start of generation in the contracted delivery year.
Contract price over time · £/MWh
solid = actual CPI indexation · dashed = assumed +2.0%/yr
Investment contract · FID Enabling for Renewables (FIDeR) investment contracts
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing84≈84 turbines + 1 platform expected · 1 fewer than expected — a position the survey missed
Surveyed2026-09-01≈from 92 satellite passes
Built2017-04 → 2019-Q2offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, southbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed84 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortNigg Energy Park ◆assembly marshalling
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (84)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationBeatrice offshore transformer modules (2, described collectively)·in service 2019 · owner TC Beatrice OFTO Ltd (Transmission Capital Partners); built by Beatrice Offshore Windfarm Ltd
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
Sources & verification
17/18 fields verified · rests on 16 sources (11 primary) · ◆ 8 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator3
[1]
Marine Scotland2014-03-19◆ Section 36 Consent - Construction and Op…
“Licence granted: 2014-03-19. Application type: Renewables - Wind under Section 36 and 36A of the Electricity Act 1989. Applicant: Beatrice Offshore Windfarm Limited. Location: Moray Firth. Status: Pos…”
supportsConsentDistance from shoreCoordinatesConsent granted
[17]
Department for Energy Security and Net Zero2026-05-06◆ Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD…
“REPD Q1 2026 quarterly extract — Ref ID 2521: Site Name "Beatrice", Development Status "Operational", Installed Capacity 588 MWelec, Operator "Scottish & Southern Energy (SSE) / Repsol / CIP"”
supportsRegister entry
[19]
Scottish Government Marine Directorate (MD-LOT)2026-08-23◆ Scottish MD-LOT marine projects register…
“Register row "Beatrice Offshore Windfarm" (key ml/beatrice-offshore-windfarm): Application stage "Post-consent", type "Renewables - Wind".”
supportsRegister entry
Operator6
[2]
SSE Renewables2026-06-04◆ Beatrice | SSE Renewables
“Beatrice is operated by SSE Renewables on behalf of a joint venture partnership between SSE Renewables (40%), Red Rock Power Limited (25%), The Renewables Infrastructure Group (17.5%) and Equitix (17.…”
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore constructionSite rightsTurbinesUnit capacity+2 more
[3]
Beatrice Offshore Windfarm Limited2026-06-04
“588MW from 84 Siemens Gamesa 7MW wind turbine generators. 86 jacket substructures up to 81m tall. Approximately 13.5km off the Caithness coast in the Outer Moray Firth. Electricity transmits via subse…”
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacityTotal capacityFoundation+2 more
[5]
Red Rock Power2019-07-29
“[Access-restricted: URL now returns HTTP 403 at audit. Retained as corroboration; commercial_operation re-pointed to power-technology-beatrice-project.]”
supportsBackground
[9]
National Audit Office2014-06◆ Early contracts for renewable electricit…
“Administrative strike prices by commissioning date (2012 GBP/MWh) - Offshore wind: 2017-18 140; 2018-19 140. FIDeR strikes are CPI-indexed. ... Description | Technology | Expected commissioning date a…”
supportsMechanismStrike / priceDetail
[16]
Beatrice Offshore Windfarm Limited (BOWL)2019-05-15◆ Offshore construction complete
“The last of 84 offshore wind turbines was commissioned today which has been completed on time and under budget after three years of construction. The final 7MW Siemens Gamesa turbine was installed in …”
supportsCOD history
[18]
National Energy System Operator (NESO)2026-07-21◆ NESO Transmission Entry Capacity (TEC) R…
“NESO TEC Register, edition 21 July 2026 - PRO-000025: "Beatrice Wind Farm", Status "Built", MW Connected 588, Effective From n/a, Customer "BEATRICE OFFSHORE WINDFARM LIMITED"”
supportsRegister entry
Auction results1
[20]
Low Carbon Contracts Company (LCCC)2026-07-31◆ lccc-portfolio-status-2026-07
Investment Contract units, all 'Live (Post-FIC)': INV-BUR-001 Burbo Bank Extension; INV-DUD-001/002/003 Dudgeon; INV-WAL-001/002 Walney Extension; INV-BEA-001/002 Beatrice; INV-HOR-001/002/003 Hornsea…
supportsInvestment contract · FID Enabling for Renewables (FIDeR) investment contracts
Trade press6
[4]
NS Energy Business2018-07-23
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFirst powerFoundationDistance from shore
[6]
Offshore Wind Biz2016-05-23
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFinal investment decision
[8]
Transmission Investment2026-06-04
“Two 220/33kV Offshore Transformer Modules step up the voltage from 33kV for transmission at 220kV. Blackhillock substation near Keith in Moray serves as the grid connection point to the 400kV transmis…”
supportsStatusConnection point
[10]
Power Technology2026-06-04
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsCommercial operationModelUnit capacityFoundationWater depth+1 more
[11]
Power Technology2026
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsoperatorowner
[14]