Formosa 2

Located 4-10 km off Miaoli County, adjacent to Formosa 1. Macquarie GIG sold 26% to Synera May 2025.

Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record

2020’21’22’23’24’25’26View the source for Final investment decisionFinal investment decision 29 Oct 2019 View the source for Onshore constructionOnshore construction 11 Nov 2019 View the source for Offshore constructionOffshore construction 2020 View the source for First powerFirst power Mar 2023 View the source for Commercial operationCommercial operation 2023-Q3 No origination on record — who held the site before the first recorded deal is not known; shown as a gap, never guessed. UNRECORDEDSwancor Holding → Stonepeak — stake not disclosed 2019-08 Macquarie → JERA — 49.0% 2019-10 JV ENTRYMacquarie → Synera (Stonepeak) — 26.0% · €224m · closed 2025-05 2025-01 DIVESTMENTTODAYSwancor Holding Swancor Holding Swancor Holding exited 2019-08Stonepeak Stonepeak Stonepeak exited 2019-08Macquarie Macquarie Macquarie exited 2025-01JERA Nex bp — 49% today JERA JERA 49%Synera Renewable Energy — 51% today · operator Synera Synera 51%Swancor Holding → Stonepeak — stake not disclosed Macquarie → JERA — 49.0% 49%Macquarie → Synera (Stonepeak) — 26.0% · €224m · closed 2025-05 26%
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). Ownership lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.

Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day

378 MW contracted — feed-in tariff
Feed-in tariff · Taiwan 2018 Offshore Wind Capacity Allocation — Selection (遴選)
Priceprice undisclosed ·Capacity378 MWAwardedApr 2018
Term20 yrs

Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers

Installation complete
not yet surveyed by satellite; the built farm can be, on request
Installation · on record
StageOperational
In operation since2023-Q3
Offshore construction2020 → 2023-Q3

Sources & verification

4/14 fields verified · rests on 12 sources (2 primary) · ◆ 2 documents held
VerifiedModelledSourcedInferredConventionUnverifiedNo source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator4
[3]
JERA2023
“All 47 turbines were installed in January 2023 and have been connected to the grid since March 2023, supplying power to approximately 380,000 households per year. ... JERA announces that its second of…”
supportsFirst powerCommercial operationTurbinesTotal capacityStatus+1 more
[7]
Macquarie Green Investment Group (GIG)2019-10-29
“Macquarie's Green Investment Group announced the successful financial close for Taiwan's Formosa 2 offshore wind farm.”
supportsFinal investment decision
[8]
Formosa 2 Offshore Wind Farm (project site)2019-11-11
“The Formosa 2 Offshore Wind Farm held a groundbreaking ceremony in Miaoli County to mark the beginning of onshore construction. ... Spring 2020 marked the start of offshore work, with Jan De Nul handl…”
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore constructionSite rights
[11]
JERA Co., Inc.2025-08-04
"JERA and bp have completed the formation of JERA Nex bp, a new standalone, equally owned joint venture," with the transaction completed on August 1, 2025. The JV is "50:50-owned" by JERA and bp.
supports↳ parent
Auction results1
[12]
Conventus Law2026-06-22◆ tw-selection-2018-tw-2018-bond
Taiwan 2018 grid allocation: Stage-1 NT$4m/MW + Stage-2 NT$2m/MW performance bond; establishment permit before end-2019
supportsFeed-in tariff · Taiwan 2018 Offshore Wind Capacity Allocation — Selection (遴選)
Trade press6
[2]
offshoreWIND.biz2025-05◆ Synera Takes Majority Ownership of Formo…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsoperatorownerModelUnit capacity
[4]
GEM2026
supportsCoordinates
[5]
GEBCO Compilation Group2020
supportsWater depth
[6]
offshoreWIND.biz2018-12-12
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsMechanismDetail
[9]
Power Technology (GlobalData)
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsConsent
[10]
DTU Wind Energy / World Bank (Global Wind Atlas)2026
supportsMean wind speed
Unverified import1
[1]
unknown
supportsTurbinesTotal capacityWater depthCoordinates