Changfang-Xidao
Two adjacent sites: Changfang (off Fangyuan) and Xidao (off Wangong), Changhua County. Copenhagen Offshore Partners (COP) led development for CIP.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
Location
Taiwan Strait
Technology
Capacity
600 MW ◇
Turbines
62 ◇
Model
Vestas V174 9-5 ◇
Foundation
Jacket ◇
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Water depth
36–45 m ≈
Distance from shore
11 km ◇
Wind speed
10.1 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
PPA ◇
Grid
Not recorded ◆
Connection
Changhua County onshore substation (Taipower grid) ◆
Schedule
FID
Taken · date not recorded ∴
COD
2024 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Farmdown · 2020-01
CIP → Taiwan Life Insurance / TransGlobe Life Insurance stake not disclosed
- Stake
- not disclosed
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2020-01
- Closed
- 2020-02
- Project stage
- pre-FID
In February 2020, Copenhagen Infrastructure Partners (CIP), through its funds Copenhagen Infrastructure II (CI-II) and Copenhagen Infrastructure III (CI-III), agreed to sell a minority stake in the 595 MW Changfang and Xidao (CFXD) offshore wind farm to a consortium of Taiwan Life Insurance (a wholly-owned subsidiary of CTBC Financial Holding Company) and TransGlobe Life Insurance. Taiwan Life and TransGlobe Life co-invested through a jointly established holding company. This was the first direct investment by Taiwanese life insurance companies in a domestic offshore wind project — a landmark for Taiwan's offshore wind capital market. The announcement coincided with the project's financial close: CIP raised a USD 3 billion (NT$90 billion) project financing facility from a consortium of banks and ECAs in February 2020. The exact percentage of the stake sold to the insurers was not publicly disclosed; multiple sources describe it as a "minority" stake. Combined post-transaction structure: CI-II + CI-III majority (~62.5%), Taiwan Life + TransGlobe (minority, percentage undisclosed), and later GPSC 25% (see next record). Data confidence: LOW — stake percentage and deal value both undisclosed.
Evidence
- cipartners.dk — Copenhagen Infrastructure Partners - Building value that matters ↗ 2020-02 ◆ held
- nsenergybusiness.com ↗
- infrastructureinvestor.com — Taiwanese life insurers buy into CIP's offshore wind project ↗ 2020-02 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Farmdown · 2021-07
CIP → GPSC (Global Power Synergy Public Company) 25%
- Stake
- 25%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2021-07
- Closed
- 2022-09
- Project stage
- under construction
On 14 July 2021, Global Renewable Power Company Limited (GRSC), a wholly-owned subsidiary of Global Power Synergy Public Company Limited (GPSC, a Thailand PTT Group energy company), entered into a share purchase agreement with CIP (via CI-II and CI-III funds) to acquire 25% of the 595 MW Changfang-Xidao offshore wind farm. The transaction completed on 26 September 2022, making GPSC the latest institutional investor in CFXD. The total investment commitment (equity + debt funded capex for 25% share) was approximately USD 500 million through project completion. Note that "approximately USD 500 million" is the total capital commitment, not the equity transfer price — it includes GPSC's share of project construction costs. Post-transaction: CIP (CI-II + CI-III) ~62.5%, GPSC 25%, Taiwan Life + TransGlobe (remaining minority ~12.5%). White & Case advised CIP on the divestment. Linklaters advised GPSC on the acquisition. Net renewable energy capacity addition for GPSC: 149 MW (25% of 595 MW). Data confidence: MEDIUM — stake percentage confirmed; deal value as total commitment (USD 500m) includes capex; equity stub value not disclosed separately.
Evidence
- gpscgroup.com — Press Releases | Global Power Synergy Public Company Limited (GPSC) ↗ 2021-07 ◆ held
- linklaters.com — News and Deals ↗ 2021-07 ◆ held
- whitecase.com — White & Case Advises Copenhagen Infrastructure Partners on 25 Percent Divestment in CFXD Offshore Wind Farm in Taiwan ↗ 2021-07 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). Ownership lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day
600 MW contracted — feed-in tariff
● Feed-in tariff · Taiwan 2018 Offshore Wind Capacity Allocation — Selection (遴選)
Priceprice undisclosed ·Capacity600 MWAwardedApr 2018Term20 yrs
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Installation complete
not yet surveyed by satellite; the built farm can be, on request
Installation · on record
StageOperational
In operation since2024
Sources & verification
4/15 fields verified · rests on 9 sources · ◆ 1 document held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Auction results1
[9]
Conventus Law2026-06-22◆ tw-selection-2018-tw-2018-bond
Taiwan 2018 grid allocation: Stage-1 NT$4m/MW + Stage-2 NT$2m/MW performance bond; establishment permit before end-2019
supportsFeed-in tariff · Taiwan 2018 Offshore Wind Capacity Allocation — Selection (遴選)
Trade press7
[2]
offshoreWIND.biz2024-05-22
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsoperatorowner
[3]
Copenhagen Offshore Partners2024
“entering the construction phase in early 2020 just before the COVID-19 pandemic hit the world”
supportsConstruction startSite rightsTurbinesModelTotal capacity+2 more
[4]
GEM2026
“Changfang And Xidao Offshore wind farm (彰芳離岸風場, CIP彰芳暨西島離岸風場 600MW, 彰化西島離岸風力發電計畫, 彰芳一期, 彰芳二期) is an operating wind farm in Fangyuan Town, Changhua County, Taiwan.”
supportsConsentFinal investment decisionCommercial operationStatusConnection point+1 more
[5]
[6]
Power Technology2024
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsMechanismDetail
[7]
offshoreWIND.biz2022-11-15
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFirst power
[8]
Unverified import1
[1]
