Utsira Nord (Area 2 - Harald Harfagre)

Located off Utsira island, near Haugesund, in the Norwegian Channel. Deep water (185-280m) requires floating foundations.

Status
Early Developmentlifecycle stage
ProspectiveHafrok completion outlook
Ownership
HHHarald Hårfagre AS — 100% 
Location
Norway
North Sea
Technology
Capacity 500 MW  Turbines 30  Foundation Floating 
Site & conditions
Site rights Seabed rights held 
Origination Utsira Nord (floating) — area allocation · 2025 ·
Water depth 250–270 m  Distance from shore 15 km  Wind speed 10.2 m/s @ 150 m 
Revenue & grid
Offtake Other 
Grid
Schedule
FID Not taken
COD · announced 2030 
COD · Hafrok 2035 expected

Delivery outlook modelled by Hafrok · calibrated on delivered projects

2035
expected year of commercial operation
The developer says 2030; Hafrok expects 2035 — 5 years later.
Chance of delivery
≈54% estimated chance this project reaches commercial operation
Early Development projects complete ≈61% of the time on Hafrok's record. This one sits well below that: a market with a thinner delivery record, its size and technical complexity. A secured offtake contract helps only slightly.
COD outlook
If it completes, when — Hafrok’s probability by year (teal) · the developer’s COD guidance, by date stated (ink)
20%40%60%80%100% 2034: 14.1% (conditional on completion) 2035: 28.0% (conditional on completion) 2036: 22.7% (conditional on completion) 2037: 14.6% (conditional on completion) 2038: 8.7% (conditional on completion) 2039: 5.1% (conditional on completion) 2040: 3.1% (conditional on completion) 2041: 1.8% (conditional on completion) 2042: 1.1% (conditional on completion) 2043: 0.7% (conditional on completion)2026now2028203020322034203528%EXPECTED2036203820402042 Developer-announced COD: 2030 ANNOUNCED 2030developer cod guidance2026-04-15: the developer guided 20342026-042034 2026-06-16: the developer guided 2030 — source [1] — click for it2026-062030 [1]
COD probability by year, conditional on completion
YearProbability
203414.1%
2035 (expected)28.0%
203622.7%
203714.6%
20388.7%
20395.1%
20403.1%
20411.8%
20421.1%
20430.7%
Developer COD guidance, by the date it was stated
StatedAnnounced COD
2026-04-152034
2026-06-162030
How Hafrok got this date
1
No dated milestone yet
Nothing is consented or financed with a date, so the estimate starts from today (2026), adds the time similar projects (floating, in developing offshore-wind markets) took from consent to operation, plus an allowance for obtaining consent.
2
Earliest credible date
Typical consent-to-operation time plus allowances means commercial operation before 2035 is not credible.
3
Result
Expected commercial operation 2035, likely range 2035–2041 (the middle half of outcomes for similar projects). With no milestone to build from, the earliest credible date is the estimate, with a deliberately wide range.
4
Year-by-year chart
The bars spread that estimate across years using how similar projects actually slipped against their dates — more often late than early, which is why the bars lean right.
5
Chance of delivery — separate from timing
Start from the share of Early Development projects that went on to complete — ≈61%, measured on Hafrok's record of delivered and abandoned projects, with an allowance held back where that record cannot yet speak (projects still unresolved, changed market conditions). About three in four early-stage projects with a final outcome went on to operate — a record from an easier era. Most of today's early pipeline is still unresolved, so the estimate discounts it. Then adjust for this project's own evidence — offtake, market, size, technical complexity — to ≈54%, which rates it Prospective on Hafrok's four-step delivery scale (Delivering · Expected · Prospective · Fragile).

Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record

2026’27’28’29’30’31’32’33’34’35Developer-announced COD: 2030 announced COD 2030Utsira Nord (floating) — area allocation — awarded to Harald Hårfagre AS (Deep Wind Offshore + EDF Renouvelables)Utsira Nord (floating) — area allocation Dec 2025 · auction recordCommercial operation 2035 ·Hafrok expectedUtsira Nord (floating) — area allocation — awarded to Harald Hårfagre AS (Deep Wind Offshore + EDF Renouvelables) 2025-12 ORIGINATIONDeep Wind Offshore, EDF Renewables — stake not disclosed · closed 2025-12 2021-Q4 JV FORMATIONTODAYHarald Hårfagre AS — 100% today · operator Harald Hårfagre AS Harald Hårfagre AS 100%Deep Wind Offshore Deep Wind Offshore Deep Wind Offshore exited 2021-Q4EDF Renewables EDF Renewables EDF Renewables exited 2021-Q4Utsira Nord (floating) — area allocation — awarded to Harald Hårfagre AS (Deep Wind Offshore + EDF Renouvelables) Deep Wind Offshore, EDF Renewables — stake not disclosed · closed 2025-12
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The ▲ below the spine is the developer-announced COD. The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced COD: pulled forward -4.0 yr (first announced 2034) · the full guidance history is in the delivery chart above

Revenue & offtake route to market — open

No offtake secured — route to market open

State aid competition (NOK 35bn max, 2025 value); one of the two Utsira Nord consortia will win support based on requiring the least state aid. Eligibility triggered by submission of konsesjon application. Auction expected following consenting phase (likely 2028-2029); no offtake contracted yet.

The routes describe what exists in this market — not a prediction of which the project will take. Timing math for the auction gate lives in the delivery outlook above.
Next visible round · from the auction calendar
Utsira Nord state-support competition
expected — · planned · the round names this project
indicative

Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers

Installation not started
nothing to count yet: the satellite tracker begins when offshore construction does
Installation · on record
StageEarly Development
Offshore constructionnot started
Expected start of operation2030
Construction ports
PortHaugesund

Sources & verification

1/13 fields verified · rests on 8 sources (1 primary) · ◆ 5 documents held
VerifiedModelledSourcedInferredConventionUnverifiedNo source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator3
[1]
Deep Wind Offshore2026-06◆ Utsira Nord - Deep Wind Offshore
“Harald Harfagre consortium awarded its preferred area at Utsira Nord, project area two [...] 500 MW floating offshore wind farm at Utsira Nord in the Norwegian North Sea comprising about 30 floating w…”
supportsCommercial operationCOD historyTurbinesTotal capacityFoundation+1 more
[6]
Brønnøysund Register Centre (Enhetsregisteret)2026-08-22◆ Enhetsregisteret extract - Harald Harfag…
“HARALD HÅRFAGRE AS, organisasjonsnummer 927823667, aksjeselskap registered 2021-09-28, forretningsadresse c/o Deep Wind Offshore AS, Øvregata 124, Haugesund; næringskode 35.122 Produksjon av elektrisi…”
supportsoperator
[7]
Deep Wind Offshore2025-12-11◆ Deep Wind Offshore and EDF power solutio…
“Deep Wind Offshore and EDF power solutions awarded site at Utsira Nord (December 11, 2025). "The award highlights the strength of the partnership between EDF power solutions and Deep Wind Offshore." W…”
supports↳ parents
Auction pipeline1
[8]
Norwegian Ministry of Energy (regjeringen.no)2026◆ regjeringen-utsira-nord
Utsira Nord — two-stage model; state-aid auction (lowest support wins, ~500 MW, NOK 35bn cap) follows the area allocation after a maturation phase.
supportsUtsira Nord state-support competition
Trade press4
[2]
offshoreWIND.biz2025-12-12◆ Norway's Two Floating Wind Tender Applic…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsMechanismDetailOfftake history
[3]
Windtech International2025-12-12
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsConsent
[4]
Offshore Magazine2023-09
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsTurbinesWater depthDistance from shore
[5]
DTU Wind Energy / World Bank (Global Wind Atlas)2026
supportsMean wind speed