Egmond aan Zee (OWEZ)
Located 10-18 km off Egmond aan Zee coast, North Holland. Originally NoordzeeWind JV (Shell 50% / Nuon 50%). Shell acquired 100% in March 2021.
Technology
Capacity
108 MW ◆
Turbines
36 × 3 MW ◆
Model
Vestas V90 3-0 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Water depth
13–17 m ≈
Distance from shore
14 km ◆
Wind speed
9.3 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
Other ◆
Grid
No agreement ◆
Connection
Wijk aan Zee (onshore substation; three 34 kV submarine export … ◆
Schedule
FID
2005 ◆
COD
2007 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
JV formation · 2004-Q4
Shell · Vattenfall stake not disclosed
- Stake
- not disclosed
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2004-Q4
- Closed
- 2006-Q1
- Project stage
- consented
NoordzeeWind joint venture (Shell 50%, Vattenfall 50%) formed to develop and construct the first Dutch commercial offshore wind farm. Construction commenced 2006; the 36 x Vestas V90-3 MW wind farm achieved commercial operation in October 2007. No financial consideration for JV formation. The partnership included a long-term O&M and research collaboration agreement.
Evidence
- tethys.pnnl.gov — Egmond aan Zee Offshore Wind Farm (OWEZ) ↗ 2004-Q4 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Acquisition · 2021-03
Vattenfall → Shell 50%
- Stake
- 50%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2021-03
- Project stage
- operational
Shell acquired Vattenfall's 50% stake in NoordzeeWind BV (operator of OWEZ), giving Shell 100% ownership. Announced 30 March 2021. Deal concluded after more than 20 years of partnership between the two companies. Deal value not disclosed. Shell subsequently secured a corporate PPA with Google enabling an operational life extension permit from the Dutch government (original planned decommission 2027 extended to 2031).
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). Ownership lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Revenue & offtake the regime the project was built under
Offtake regime on record
A built project sells its power under the contract or support regime it was financed with; it is not expected to bid into new government offtake rounds. Where the record does not yet name that regime, the row says so rather than guessing.
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing36≈36 turbines + 1 platform expected · 1 fewer than expected — a position the survey missed
Surveyed2026-08-31≈from 119 satellite passes
Built2006-04 → 2007offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-06≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, southbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed36 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-08-31 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortIJmuiden ◆·marshalling · quay 580 m · draft 12.5 m
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-06
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (36)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationMeetmast Egmond aan Zee (OWEZ met mast)·owner NoordzeeWind, the farm's operator (Shell and Nuon/Vattenfall at the time of the decree; Shell sole owner since 2021). The decree calls the mast the operator's: "de exploitant ... heeft ... de windturbines en een meetmast geplaatst".
Sources & verification
13/18 fields verified · rests on 10 sources (6 primary) · ◆ 4 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator2
[5]
[6]
Noordzeeloket (RWS / Ministry of Infrastructure and Water Management)
“36 wind turbines at 3 MW each. Total output: 108 MW. Commissioned: 2007. Operating until: 2031. Off the coast of North Holland. Surface area: 27 km². The electricity is brought to land near Wijk aan Z…”
supportsTurbinesUnit capacityTotal capacityStatusConnection point
Trade press8
[1]
[2]
[3]
[4]
EgmondOnline.nl◆ The Egmond aan Zee Offshore Wind Farm | …
“In spring 2002, NoordzeeWind was selected as the winning party and in July of that year, NoordzeeWind signed the concession agreement with the government for the realization of the park. At the end of…”
supportsFinal investment decisionFirst power
[9]
[10]
[11]
windfair.net2006-04-21
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOffshore constructionSite rights
[12]
