Akita Port Offshore Wind Farm
Akita Offshore Wind Corporation (AOW) consortium: Marubeni, JERA, RWE.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
AOAkita Offshore Wind Corporation — 100% ◇
Location
Sea of Japan (East Sea)
Technology
Capacity
55 MW ◇
Turbines
13 × 4.2 MW ◆
Model
Vestas V117 4-2 ◆
Foundation
—
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Water depth
3–14 m ≈
Wind speed
7.1 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
PPA ◇
Grid
Not recorded ◆
Connection
Grid connection secured ◆
Schedule
FID
Taken · date not recorded ∴
COD
2023 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
JV formation · 2015-02
Marubeni · Obayashi Corporation · Tohoku Electric Power · Cosmo Eco Power · Kansai Electric Power · Chubu Electric Power · The Akita Bank · Ohmori Co. · Sawakigumi Corporation · Kyowa Oil · Katokensetsu · Kanpu · Sankyo stake not disclosed
- Stake
- not disclosed
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2015-02
- Closed
- 2020-02
- Project stage
- early development
Marubeni was selected as the potential main owner and operator of the Akita Port offshore wind project via Akita Prefecture's public competitive selection process on 5 February 2015. Marubeni established Akita Offshore Wind Corporation (AOW) as a special purpose company with a consortium of co-investors. The FID to formally proceed was reached in February 2020. The consortium comprises Marubeni (10%), Obayashi Corporation (10%), Tohoku Electric Power (10%), Cosmo Eco Power (10%), Kansai Electric Power (10%), Chubu Electric Power (10%), The Akita Bank (10%), Ohmori Co. (10%), Sawakigumi Corporation, Kyowa Oil, Katokensetsu, Kanpu, and Sankyo (each ~2.5%). Thirteen Japanese entities hold the 100% equity. The project operates under Japan's FIT scheme. The Akita Port farm (55 MW, 13 turbines, Vestas V117-4.2MW) commenced commercial operations on 31 January 2023, making it Japan's first large-scale commercial offshore wind farm (alongside Noshiro Port). Note: this is a pre-Marine Energy Act FIT project; distinct from the Round 1/2/3 auction framework. Capacity is 55 MW per public records; also reported as part of an 83 MW combined Akita Port + Noshiro Port FIT award. Akita Port alone = 55 MW; Noshiro Port = 84 MW.
Evidence
- aow.co.jp — OUR PROJECT/Akita Offshore Wind Corporation (AOW) ↗ 2015-02 ◆ held
- Marubeni Corporation — Commencement of Commercial Operation of the Offshore Wind Farm Project at Akita Port and Noshiro Port in Akita Prefecture ↗ 2022-12-22 ◆ held
- marubeni.com — Commencement of full-scale Commercial Operation for Offshore Wind Farm Project at Akita Port and Noshiro Port in Akita Prefecture ↗ 2015-02 ◆ held
- offshoreWIND.biz — Japan's First Commercial-Scale Offshore Wind Farm Fully Up and Running ↗ 2015-02 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). Ownership lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Revenue & offtake the regime the project was built under
Offtake regime: Japan FIT (20-year PPA with Tohoku Electric)
A built project sells its power under the contract or support regime it was financed with; it is not expected to bid into new government offtake rounds. Where the record does not yet name that regime, the row says so rather than guessing.
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Installation complete
not yet surveyed by satellite; the built farm can be, on request
Installation · on record
StageOperational
In operation since2023
Sources & verification
7/14 fields verified · rests on 8 sources (2 primary) · ◆ 1 document held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator2
[3]
Akita Offshore Wind Corporation
“Marubeni Corporation, OBAYASHI CLEAN ENERGY CORPORATION, Tohoku Electric Power Co.,Inc., Cosmo Eco Power Co., Ltd., The Kansai Electric Power Co., Inc., Chubu Electric Power Co., Inc., The Akita Bank,…”
supports↳ parents
[4]
OEM1
[9]
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries (MHI Vestas Offshore Wind A/S order announcement)2020-03-19
“MHIヴェスタス(MHI Vestas Offshore Wind A/S)は、秋田県で進められている洋上風力発電所プロジェクト向けに、ロータ直径117m 単機出力4,200kWの洋上風力発電設備(V117-4.2MW)33基を正式に受注しました。同社の日本国内における初の正式受注となり、秋田港内に建設される「秋田洋上風力発電所」に13基、能代港内の「能代洋上風力発電所」に20基を納入する計画です…”
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacity
Trade press4
[5]
Global Energy Monitor (GEM.wiki)2026-07-02
“Akita Port (Marubeni) Offshore wind farm (たち秋田洋上風力発電) is an operating wind farm in Akita Port, Akita Prefecture, Japan.”
supportsConsentFinal investment decisionCommercial operationSite rightsStatus+2 more
[6]
[7]
Power Technology2023
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsTotal capacityMechanismDetail
[8]
Unverified import1
[1]
unknown◆ OUR PROJECT/Akita Offshore Wind Corporat…
supportsTotal capacityWater depthCoordinates