Oriel Wind Farm

Located 6-22 km off coast of Dundalk, County Louth. Ireland's most advanced Phase 1 project — originally conceived in the 2000s.

Delivery outlook modelled by Hafrok · calibrated on delivered projects

2034
expected year of commercial operation
The developer says 2028; Hafrok expects 2034 — 6 years later.
Chance of delivery
≈62% estimated chance this project reaches commercial operation
Early Development projects complete ≈61% of the time on Hafrok's record. A secured offtake contract lifts this one slightly; a market with a thinner delivery record and technical complexity pull a little the other way.
COD outlook
If it completes, when — Hafrok’s probability by year (teal) · the developer’s COD guidance, by date stated (ink)
20%40%60%80%100% 2033: 14.1% (conditional on completion) 2034: 28.0% (conditional on completion) 2035: 22.7% (conditional on completion) 2036: 14.6% (conditional on completion) 2037: 8.7% (conditional on completion) 2038: 5.1% (conditional on completion) 2039: 3.1% (conditional on completion) 2040: 1.8% (conditional on completion) 2041: 1.1% (conditional on completion) 2042: 0.7% (conditional on completion)2026now202820302032203428%EXPECTED2036203820402042 Developer-announced COD: 2028 ANNOUNCED 2028developer cod guidance2026-04-15: the developer guided 20292026-042029 2026-06-16: the developer guided 2028 — source [3] — click for it2026-062028 [3]
COD probability by year, conditional on completion
YearProbability
203314.1%
2034 (expected)28.0%
203522.7%
203614.6%
20378.7%
20385.1%
20393.1%
20401.8%
20411.1%
20420.7%
Developer COD guidance, by the date it was stated
StatedAnnounced COD
2026-04-152029
2026-06-162028
How Hafrok got this date
1
No dated milestone yet
Nothing is consented or financed with a date, so the estimate starts from today (2026), adds the time similar projects (in developing offshore-wind markets) took from consent to operation, plus an allowance for obtaining consent.
2
Earliest credible date
Typical consent-to-operation time plus allowances means commercial operation before 2034 is not credible.
3
Result
Expected commercial operation 2034, likely range 2034–2039 (the middle half of outcomes for similar projects). With no milestone to build from, the earliest credible date is the estimate, with a deliberately wide range.
4
Year-by-year chart
The bars spread that estimate across years using how similar projects actually slipped against their dates — more often late than early, which is why the bars lean right.
5
Chance of delivery — separate from timing
Start from the share of Early Development projects that went on to complete — ≈61%, measured on Hafrok's record of delivered and abandoned projects, with an allowance held back where that record cannot yet speak (projects still unresolved, changed market conditions). About three in four early-stage projects with a final outcome went on to operate — a record from an easier era. Most of today's early pipeline is still unresolved, so the estimate discounts it. Then adjust for this project's own evidence — offtake, market, size, technical complexity — to ≈62%, which rates it Prospective on Hafrok's four-step delivery scale (Delivering · Expected · Prospective · Fragile).

Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record

2024’25’26’27’28’29’30’31’32’33’34Developer-announced COD: 2028 announced COD 2028View the source for Consent appliedConsent applied May 2024 Commercial operation 2034 ·Hafrok expectedParkwind, ESB — stake not disclosed 2019-01 JV FORMATIONNo origination on record — who held the site before the first recorded deal is not known; shown as a gap, never guessed. UNRECORDEDVirya Energy → JERA — 100.0% · closed 2023-07 2023-03 ACQUISITIONTransfer(s) not in Hafrok's record — shown as a gap, never guessed. UNRECORDEDTODAYParkwind Parkwind Parkwind exited 2019-01ESB ESB ESB exited 2019-01Virya Energy Virya Energy Virya Energy exited 2023-03JERA JERA JERA exited 2023-03Oriel Windfarm Limited — 100% today · operator Oriel Windfarm Limited Oriel Windfarm Limited 100%Parkwind, ESB — stake not disclosed Virya Energy → JERA — 100.0% · closed 2023-07 100%
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The ▲ below the spine is the developer-announced COD. Ownership lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced COD: pulled forward -1.0 yr (first announced 2029) · the full guidance history is in the delivery chart above

Revenue & offtake route to market — open

No offtake secured — route to market open
The routes describe what exists in this market — not a prediction of which the project will take. Timing math for the auction gate lives in the delivery outlook above.
Next visible round · from the auction calendar
South Coast DMAP Area B (Lí Ban)
expected — · planned · the round’s published documents do not name this project
indicative

Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers

Installation not started
nothing to count yet: the satellite tracker begins when offshore construction does
Installation · on record
StageEarly Development
Offshore constructionnot started
Expected start of operation2028

Sources & verification

7/17 fields verified · rests on 8 sources (6 primary) · ◆ 7 documents held
VerifiedModelledSourcedInferredConventionUnverifiedNo source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator5
[1]
Minister for the Environment, Climate and Communications (Ireland)2022-12-23◆ 2022 MAC 001 Oriel
“Maritime Area Consent No. 2022-MAC-001. Holder: Oriel Windfarm Limited, Company Registration Number: 318186. Commencement Date: 23 December 2022. Permitted Maritime Usage: The construction and operati…”
supportsoperator
[2]
An Coimisiun Pleanala2024-05-24◆ 319799 | An Coimisiún Pleanála -
“Case 319799 (OA15.319799): Applicant - Oriel Windfarm Limited; application lodged 24/05/2024; further information submitted 15/01/2026; decision due 21/09/2026. Proposed development known as Oriel Win…”
supportsConsentSite rightsConsent applied
[3]
JERA Nex2024-05◆ Casibom Giriş 2026 | Casibom Güncel Resm…
“Oriel, which is being developed by JERA Nex through its wholly owned subsidiary Parkwind, and ESB ... 25 wind turbines, with a combined generating capacity of up to 375 megawatts (MW) ... Maritime Are…”
supportsCommercial operationCOD historyTurbinesUnit capacityTotal capacity
[7]
JERA Nex bp / Oriel Windfarm Limited2024-05◆ JERA Nex bp Oriel windfarm | Home
“The project is jointly developed by Parkwind NV and ESB. The Oriel windfarm will have a capacity of up to 375 MW and is located in the Irish Sea off the coast of County Louth, to the East of Dundalk B…”
supportsFoundationWater depthDistance from shoreCoordinates
[9]
JERA Nex2024-05◆ Casibom Giriş 2026 | Casibom Güncel Resm…
“Oriel, which is being developed by JERA Nex through its wholly owned subsidiary Parkwind, and ESB.”
supports↳ parents
Auction pipeline1
[10]
Government of Ireland (gov.ie)2024-05◆ govie-future-framework
Future Framework — plan-led DMAP auctions; South Coast DMAP sites beyond Tonn Nua to be brought to market.
supportsSouth Coast DMAP Area B (Lí Ban)
Trade press2
[5]
Commission for Regulation of Utilities (CRU)◆ Offshore Grid Connection | CRU.ie
“The CRU decided to extend the FCO validity period for Oriel Windfarm, North Irish Sea Array, Dublin Array, Codling Wind Park, and Arklow Bank Wind Park 2 by two years ... The new longstop date for the…”
supportsStatusConnection point
[8]
DTU Wind Energy / World Bank (Global Wind Atlas)2026
supportsMean wind speed