North Irish Sea Array (NISA)

Located off coast of Dublin, Meath and Louth, 13-22 km from shore.

Status
Advanced Developmentlifecycle stage
ExpectedHafrok completion outlook
Ownership
Statkraft — 50% 
CICopenhagen Infrastructure Partners — 50% 
Location
Ireland
Irish Sea
Technology
Capacity 500 MW 
Turbines
Foundation
Site & conditions
Site rights Seabed rights held 
Origination ORESS 1 (Ireland's first offshore auction) · 2023 ·
Water depth 37–61 m  Wind speed 10.1 m/s @ 150 m 
Revenue & grid
Offtake CfD  Grid Offered  Connection Belcamp Substation (EirGrid specified; FCO issued Q4 2024 per … 
Schedule
FID Not taken
COD · Hafrok 2031 expected

Delivery outlook modelled by Hafrok · calibrated on delivered projects

2031
expected year of commercial operation
Chance of delivery
≈79% estimated chance this project reaches commercial operation
Advanced Development projects complete ≈75% of the time on Hafrok's record. A secured offtake contract lifts this one above that; a market with a thinner delivery record, its size and technical complexity pull the other way.
COD outlook
If it completes, when — Hafrok’s probability by year (teal)
20%40%60%80%100% 2030: 14.1% (conditional on completion) 2031: 28.0% (conditional on completion) 2032: 22.7% (conditional on completion) 2033: 14.6% (conditional on completion) 2034: 8.7% (conditional on completion) 2035: 5.1% (conditional on completion) 2036: 3.1% (conditional on completion) 2037: 1.8% (conditional on completion) 2038: 1.1% (conditional on completion) 2039: 0.7% (conditional on completion)2026now20282030203128%EXPECTED2032203420362038
COD probability by year, conditional on completion
YearProbability
203014.1%
2031 (expected)28.0%
203222.7%
203314.6%
20348.7%
20355.1%
20363.1%
20371.8%
20381.1%
20390.7%
How Hafrok got this date
1
Starting point: the last dated milestone
Consent granted in 2026. From there Hafrok adds how long similar projects (in developing offshore-wind markets) took to reach commercial operation, measured on projects that have delivered.
2
Typical timing
Starting point plus the typical remaining time gives a middle estimate of 2031; the faster quarter of similar projects would be done by 2029, the slower quarter not until 2031.
3
Result
Expected commercial operation 2031, likely range 2029–2031 (the middle half of outcomes for similar projects). The typical time from consent is used.
4
Year-by-year chart
The bars spread that estimate across years using how similar projects actually slipped against their dates — more often late than early, which is why the bars lean right.
5
Chance of delivery — separate from timing
Start from the share of Advanced Development projects that went on to complete — ≈75%, measured on Hafrok's record of delivered and abandoned projects, with an allowance held back where that record cannot yet speak (projects still unresolved, changed market conditions). Consented projects have historically completed at very high rates, but the 2023–25 downturn showed consented-but-unfinanced projects can still fail — the estimate holds back for the offtake and financing gates still ahead. Then adjust for this project's own evidence — offtake, market, size, technical complexity — to ≈79%, which rates it Expected on Hafrok's four-step delivery scale (Delivering · Expected · Prospective · Fragile).

Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record

2024’25’26’27’28’29’30’31ORESS 1 (Ireland's first offshore auction) — awarded to Statkraft + Copenhagen Infrastructure PartnersORESS 1 (Ireland's first offshore auction) Jun 2023 · auction recordView the source for Consent appliedConsent applied 7 Jun 2024 Commercial operation 2031 ·Hafrok expectedORESS 1 (Ireland's first offshore auction) — awarded to Statkraft + Copenhagen Infrastructure Partners 2023-06 ORIGINATION — stake not disclosed 2023-01 JV ENTRYTransfer(s) not in Hafrok's record — shown as a gap, never guessed. UNRECORDEDTODAYStatkraft — 50% today · operator Statkraft Statkraft 50%Copenhagen Infrastructure Partners — 50% today CIP CIP 50%ORESS 1 (Ireland's first offshore auction) — awarded to Statkraft + Copenhagen Infrastructure Partners Transfer(s) not in Hafrok's record — shown as a gap, never guessed.
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.

Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers

Installation not started
nothing to count yet: the satellite tracker begins when offshore construction does
Installation · on record
StageAdvanced Development
Offshore constructionnot started
Expected start of operationnot stated

Sources & verification

4/11 fields verified · rests on 8 sources (6 primary) · ◆ 3 documents held
VerifiedModelledSourcedInferredConventionUnverifiedNo source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator1
[10]
Department of the Environment, Climate and Communications (DECC)2024◆ 5612b93e F616 4881 8194 250656f0cea1
“Issue Full Phase 1 Connection Offers (including merchant projects) Q4 2024.”
supportsStatusConnection point
Operator2
[5]
EirGrid2023-06-14◆ ORESS 1 Final Auction Results (OR1FAR)
“ORESS1-0312 North Irish Sea Array Windfarm Limited North Irish Sea Array (NISA) 500 [MW]”
supportsTotal capacityMechanismDetail
[8]
An Coimisiún Pleanála2024-06-07◆ 319866 | An Coimisiún Pleanála -
“Applicant: North Irish Sea Array Windfarm Ltd.”
supportsConsentConsent applied
Trade press4
[11]
offshoreWIND.biz2023-01
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsoperatorowner
[12]
Global Energy Monitor2026
supportsTotal capacityCoordinates
[13]
GEBCO Compilation Group2020
supportsWater depth
[14]
DTU Wind Energy / World Bank (Global Wind Atlas)2026
supportsMean wind speed
Unverified import1
[1]
unknown
supportsTotal capacityWater depthCoordinates