Global Tech I
Located 140km NW of Bremerhaven. One of Germany's deepest and most remote OWFs.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
GCGlobaleye Capital AG — 26% ◆
Stadtwerke München — 24.9% ◇ENEntega — 24.9% ◇
AIAxpo International — 24.1% ◆
Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
400 MW ◆
Turbines
80 × 5 MW ◆
Model
Adwen M5000 116 ◆
Foundation
Tripod ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Water depth
39–41 m ◆
Distance from shore
140 km ◆
Wind speed
10.0 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
FiT ◆
Grid
Secured · 2015-09 ◇
Connection
TenneT BorWin2 HVDC (plus-minus 300 kV; BorWin Beta offshore … ◇
Schedule
FID
Jul 2011 ◆
COD
Sep 2015 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
JV formation · 2012-01
Windreich AG · Norderland Projekt · Stadtwerke München · HSE (ENTEGA) · EGL (Axpo) · Esportes Offshore · FC Windenergy · GTU I GmbH stake not disclosed
- Stake
- not disclosed
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2012-01
- Closed
- 2013-06
- Project stage
- early development
Global Tech I developed by consortium including Windreich AG, Norderland Projekt, Stadtwerke München, HSE (ENTEGA), EGL (Axpo), Esportes Offshore, FC Windenergy, GTU I GmbH. No single M&A transaction; consortium evolved through development. Financial close with EUR 500m EIB financing (2011). Constructed 2012; commissioned 2015.
Evidence
- European Investment Bank — Germany: EUR 500m for Global Tech I offshore wind farm ↗ 2011-07-07 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2022-11
Seven minority shareholders → GE Ventures AG 26%
- Stake
- 26%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2022-11
- Closed
- 2022-12
- Project stage
- operational
GE Ventures AG (Liechtenstein-based, unrelated to GE OEM) acquired 26% consolidated stake from seven sellers via two acquisition vehicles. Deal value undisclosed. Post-transaction: Stadtwerke München ~24.9%, ENTEGA ~24.9%, Axpo ~24.1%, GE Ventures 26%.
Evidence
- Offshore Wind Biz — GE Ventures Acquires Stake in Global Tech I Offshore Wind Farm ↗ 2022-12-15 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). Ownership lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2015-Q3→2015-09 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2015-Q3, unchanged)
Revenue & offtake the regime the project was built under
Offtake regime on record
RegimeEEG Stauchungsmodell: initial tariff 19.4 ct/kWh (194 EUR/MWh) under the accelerated EEG offshore wind tariff scheme. Global Tech I commissioned September 2015 under EEG 2012 Stauchungsmodell provisions.
InstrumentFiT
A built project sells its power under the contract or support regime it was financed with; it is not expected to bid into new government offtake rounds. Where the record does not yet name that regime, the row says so rather than guessing.
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing81≈80 turbines + 2 platforms expected · 1 fewer than expected — a position the survey missed
Surveyed2026-08-31≈from 115 satellite passes
Built2012-09 → 2015-09offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-06≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, southbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed81 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-08-31 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortBremerhaven ◆·assembly and staging · quay 4930 m · draft 12.8 m
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-06
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (81)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 2
Offshore substationGlobal Tech I Umspannplattform (combined transformer and accommodation platform)·155/33 kV · in service 2013 · owner Global Tech I Offshore Wind GmbH (wind farm owner; farm-owned platform)
HVDC systemBorWin3·900 MW · ±320 kV · in service 2019-08 · shared with EnBW Hohe See
Converter supplierSiemens (HVDC PLUS); Petrofac EPCI·BorWin3 · Drydocks World, Dubai, UAE · for TenneT
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
Sources & verification
14/18 fields verified · rests on 12 sources (5 primary) · ◆ 9 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator2
[1]
Bundesamt fuer Seeschifffahrt und Hydrographie (BSH)2006-05◆ Genehmigungsbescheid Offshore-Windpark G…
“Hamburg, den 24.05.2006 — Auf den Antrag der Firma Nordsee Windpower GmbH & Co. KG, 26556 Westerholt [...] werden Errichtung und Betrieb von 80 Windenergieanlagen (WEA) einschliesslich Nebenanlagen [.…”
supportsConsentTurbinesWater depthConsent granted
[12]
Bundesnetzagentur — Marktstammdatenregister2026-08-23◆ Marktstammdatenregister (MaStR) offshore…
“Park row "Global Tech I": 80 units, 400.0 MW gross, statuses {'In Betrieb': 80}, operators ['Global Tech I Offshore Wind GmbH'], commissioned 2014-09-06..2015-07-27, planned None..None.”
supportsRegister entry
Operator2
[5]
Axpo2015-09-02◆ Swiss offshore wind farm Global Tech I i…
“With 80 5-megawatt wind turbines and a total capacity of 400 megawatts, GTI is the largest offshore wind farm to go on grid this year. Axpo has a 24.1% share in this wind farm, making GTI the first of…”
supportsco-ownerCommercial operationCOD historyTurbinesUnit capacity+2 more
[7]
Global Tech I Offshore Wind GmbH2025◆ Our Story - Global Tech I Offshore Wind …
“Mit den Stadtwerken Muenchen (SWM), der Entega AG (vormals HEAG) und der Axpo Holding AG beteiligen sich drei Energieversorger als Gesellschafter. Seit 2022 gehoert die Globaleye Capital AG zum Kreis …”
supportsco-ownerFoundationMechanismDetail
Financier1
[2]
European Investment Bank (EIB)2011-07◆ Germany: EUR 500m for Global Tech I offs…
“July 7, 2011 — the finance contract for the Global Tech I project in Hamburg was signed. [...] EUR 500 million contributed by the EIB of approximately EUR 1 billion external borrowing requirement. 16 …”
supportsFinal investment decisionTurbinesTotal capacity
Trade press6
[3]
Offshore Wind Biz2012-09◆ Germany: First Tripod Foundations Head t…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOnshore constructionOffshore constructionSite rightsFoundationassembly and staging
[4]
Offshore Wind Biz2015-09-02◆ Global Tech I Officially Turned On | Off…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFirst powerCommercial operationTurbinesTotal capacityDistance from shore
[6]
Offshore Wind Biz2022-12-15◆ GE Ventures Acquires Stake in Global Tec…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacityTotal capacity
[8]
Power Technology (GlobalData)2024-10-14◆ Power plant profile: Global Tech 1, Germ…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsco-owner
[10]
[11]
Encyclopaedic1
[9]
Wikipedia2024
“HVDC BorWin2 is a high voltage direct current (HVDC) link [...] DC voltage plus-minus 300 kV [...] Each of the two 300 kV cables linking BorWin Beta to the onshore substation has a total length of 200…”
supportsStatusConnection point