Butendiek
Located 32km west of Sylt island.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
OBOWP Butendiek GmbH & Co. KG — 100% ◆
Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
288 MW ◆
Turbines
80 × 3.6 MW ◆
Model
Siemens Swt 3-6-120 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Offshore-Bürger-Windpark Butendiek GmbH & Co. KG · 2002 ◆
Water depth
17–22 m ◆
Distance from shore
32 km ◆
Wind speed
10.0 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
—
Grid
Secured · 2015-08 ◆
Connection
TenneT SylWin cluster (30 km sea cable to SylWin alpha … ◆
Schedule
FID
Feb 2013 ◆
COD
2015-Q3 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2002-12
Party of record at origination
- Awarded to
- Offshore-Bürger-Windpark Butendiek GmbH & Co. KG
- Holder
- Offshore-Bürger-Windpark Butendiek GmbH & Co. KG
- Basis
- permit / concession holder
BSH Genehmigungsbescheid N-5.2, 18 Dec 2002 — 'Auf den Antrag der Offshore-Bürger-Windpark Butendiek GmbH & Co. KG … werden Errichtung und Betrieb von 80 einzelnen Windenergieanlagen … genehmigt.' The citizens' SPV (today OWP Butendiek GmbH & Co. KG under wpd) held the site at origination.
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
Acquisition · 2007-04
Offshore-Bürger-Windpark Butendiek GmbH & Co. KG → Airtricity stake not disclosed
- Stake
- not disclosed
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2007-04
- Project stage
- early development
The project's own history page: "April 2007 — Airtricity/Scottish and Southern Energy acquire Butendiek. The project restarted negotiations with potential partners after significant improvements of the political and financial general conditions were established. Written 2026-08-19.
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Merger · 2008
Airtricity → SSE Renewables stake not disclosed
- Stake
- not disclosed
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2008
- Project stage
- early development
Corporate step, not a project-level trade: "In 2008 Airtricity was acquired by Scottish and Southern Energy" (project history page) — Butendiek passed to SSE with Airtricity, and SSE Renewables Germany Holdings GmbH is the seller in 2010. Not arm's-length at project level; no consideration. Written 2026-08-19.
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Acquisition · 2010-09-20
SSE Renewables → wpd 100%
- Stake
- 100%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2010-09-20
- Closed
- 2010-09
- Project stage
- early development
"Die wpd-Gruppe hat von der SSE Renewables Germany Holdings GmbH, Hamburg, 100% der Anteile an der Butendiek Offshore Windpark Holding GmbH, Hamburg, erworben" (wpd release, 20 Sep 2010; the project history page dates it September 2010). Price undisclosed. wpd then sold 90% at financial close in Feb 2013 (next row). Written 2026-08-19.
Evidence
- wpd AG — wpd übernimmt Offshore Windpark Butendiek von SSE Renewables : wpd.de ↗ 2010-09-20 ◆ held
- OWP Butendiek GmbH & Co. KG — History ↗ ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
JV entry · 2013-02
wpd → Marguerite Fund / Siemens Financial Services / Industriens Pension / PKA 90%
- Stake
- 90%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2013-02
- Project stage
- FID
wpd sold 90% at financial close. Ownership: Marguerite (~22.5%), Siemens FS (~22.5%), Industriens Pension (~22.5%), PKA (~22.5%), wpd retained ~10%. Total project cost ~EUR 1.3bn (equity + senior debt). Consideration undisclosed.
Evidence
- wpd.de ↗
- European Investment Bank — Germany: Butendiek: EUR 450m for offshore wind farm ↗ 2013-02 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
JV entry · 2013-12
Marguerite Fund → CDC Infrastructure 7.5%
- Stake
- 7.5%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2013-12
- Project stage
- under construction
CDC Infrastructure acquired ~7.5% from Marguerite Fund. Consideration undisclosed. Project was under construction.
Evidence
- cdcinfrastructure.com ↗
- marguerite.com — Marguerite acquires stake in the Butendiek offshore wind farm ↗ 2013-12 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
JV entry · 2014-01
wpd → ewz 4.9%
- Stake
- 4.9%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2014-01
- Project stage
- under construction
ewz (Elektrizitatswerk der Stadt Zurich) acquired ~4.9% indirect stake from wpd. Consideration undisclosed.
Evidence
- ewz.ch ↗
- offshoreWIND.biz — Swiss Utility Company to Participate in Butendiek OWF Development ↗ 2014-01 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2016-12
PKA → ITOCHU / CITIC Pacific 22.5%
- Stake
- 22.5%
- Consideration
- €134m
- Implied 100% value
- €596m
- Implied
- €2.07m / MW
- Announced
- 2016-12
- Closed
- 2017-03
- Project stage
- operational
PKA sold its ~22.5% stake to ITOCHU Corporation and CITIC Pacific for DKK 1bn (~EUR 134m at ~7.46 DKK/EUR). Implied 100% equity ~EUR 596m, ~EUR 2,068/MW.
Evidence
- itochu.co.jp ↗
- ITOCHU Corporation — ITOCHU Announces Its Participation in One of the Largest Offshore Wind Power Generation Projects in Germany - Press Releases ↗ 2016-12-20 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2023-01
Marguerite Pantheon → Greencoat Renewables 22.5%
- Stake
- 22.5%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2023-01
- Closed
- 2023-03
- Project stage
- operational
Greencoat Renewables acquired ~22.5% from Marguerite Pantheon infrastructure fund. Consideration undisclosed.
Evidence
- renewablesnow.com ↗
- marguerite.com — Marguerite Pantheon completes the sale of its stake in German offshore wind farm Butendiek ↗ 2023-01 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2023-10
Siemens Pension Trust → Greencoat Renewables 22.5%
- Stake
- 22.5%
- Consideration
- €168m
- Implied 100% value
- €747m
- Implied
- €2.59m / MW
- Announced
- 2023-10
- Closed
- 2023-12
- Project stage
- operational
Greencoat Renewables acquired ~22.5% from Siemens Pension Trust (successor to Siemens FS holding) for EUR 168m. Implied 100% equity ~EUR 747m, ~EUR 2,593/MW.
Evidence
- greencoat-renewables.com — News and media ↗ 2023-10 ◆ held
- offshoreWIND.biz — Greencoat Renewables to Take Another Slice of German Offshore Wind Farm ↗ 2023-10 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Secondary trade · 2023-11
ewz → Octopus Energy Generation 4.9%
- Stake
- 4.9%
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2023-11
- Closed
- 2024-01
- Project stage
- operational
Octopus Energy Generation acquired ewz's ~4.9% indirect stake. Consideration undisclosed.
Evidence
- octopusenergy.group ↗
- offshoreWIND.biz — Octopus Energy Forays Into German Offshore Wind Market with Butendiek Acquisition ↗ 2023-11 ◆ held
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2015-Q3→2015-Q3 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2015-Q3, unchanged)
Revenue & offtake the regime the project was built under
Offtake regime: EEG 2012 (initial tariff 15.0 ct/kWh)
RegimeEEG 2012 (initial tariff 15.0 ct/kWh)
A built project sells its power under the contract or support regime it was financed with; it is not expected to bid into new government offtake rounds. Where the record does not yet name that regime, the row says so rather than guessing.
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing81≈80 turbines + 2 platforms expected · 1 fewer than expected — a position the survey missed
Surveyed2026-09-01≈from 117 satellite passes
Built2014-04 → 2015-Q3offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, southbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed81 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortEsbjerg ◆·installation · quay 10000 m · crane 300 t · draft 15 m
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (81)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 2
Offshore substationUmspannwerk Butendiek·33/155 kV · owner OWP Butendiek GmbH & Co. KG (wind farm owner) — farm-owned, not TSO-owned
HVDC systemSylWin1·864 MW · ±320 kV · in service 2015-04 · shared with DanTysk, Sandbank
Converter supplierSiemens·SylWin1 · Nordic Yards (Warnowwerft, Rostock) · for TenneT
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
Sources & verification
16/18 fields verified · rests on 11 sources (15 primary) · ◆ 3 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator2
[1]
Bundesamt für Seeschifffahrt und Hydrographie (BSH)2002-12-18◆ Genehmigungsbescheid Offshore-Windpark B…
"Auf den Antrag der Offshore-Bürger-Windpark Butendiek GmbH & Co. KG [...] werden Errichtung und Betrieb von 80 einzelnen Windenergieanlagen (WEA) nach Maßgabe der folgenden Nebenbestimmungen [...] ge…
supportsoperatorConsentTurbinesCoordinatesConsent granted
[17]
Bundesnetzagentur — Marktstammdatenregister2026-08-23◆ Marktstammdatenregister (MaStR) offshore…
“Park row "Butendiek": 80 units, 288.0 MW gross, statuses {'In Betrieb': 80}, operators ['OWP Butendiek GmbH & Co. KG'], commissioned 2015-02-04..2015-08-03, planned None..None.”
supportsRegister entry
Operator6
[2]
[3]
[4]
[5]
[13]
Ballast Nedam2014
"first monopile was installed on the 1st of April 2014 [...] the 80th and last monopile was installed on the 22nd of July 2014 [...] 32 km West of the German Island Sylt [...] between 17 and 22 metres…
supportsOffshore constructionSite rightsFoundationWater depthDistance from shore+1 more
[14]
OWP Butendiek GmbH & Co. KG2025
“The grid connection of the Butendiek wind farm is part of Tennet's Sylwin cluster which has the capacity of 864 MW and connects three wind farms west of Sylt. [...] Butendiek's offshore substation is …”
supportsStatusConnection point
Financier1
[18]
Greencoat Renewables PLC2023-10-02◆ Further 22.5% investment in Butendiek of…
“an agreement to acquire an additional 22.5% stake in the Butendiek offshore wind farm ("Butendiek") from an affiliate of Siemens Pension Trust. [...] Greencoat Renewables expects to make the acquisiti…”
supports↳ parents
Trade press2
[15]
offshoreWIND.biz2015-02-05
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsFirst power
[16]