Rentel
Belgian EEZ, ~34 km from Zeebrugge. O&M at Port of Ostend.
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
RNRentel NV — 100% ◆
Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
309 MW ◆
Turbines
42 ◆
Model
Siemens Swt 7-0-154 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) · 2009 ·
Water depth
22–36 m ◆
Distance from shore
34 km ◆
Wind speed
9.3 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
Certificate ◆
Grid
Secured · 2019 ◆
Connection
Elia Modular Offshore Grid (MOG) to Stevin substation, … ◆
Schedule
FID
Oct 2016 ◆
COD
2018-Q4 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2009-06
Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank)
- Awarded to
- Rentel NV
- Basis
- integrated tender
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
JV formation · 2016-Q3
Aspiravi Offshore · DEME Concessions Wind · Elicio · Green Offshore · Power@Sea · Socofe · SRIW Environnement · Z-Kracht stake not disclosed
- Stake
- not disclosed
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2016-Q3
- Closed
- 2016-10
- Project stage
- pre-FID
Rentel NV formed as a consortium of eight Belgian companies via the Otary group, each holding 12.5%: Aspiravi Offshore, DEME Concessions Wind, Elicio (Electrawinds Offshore), Green Offshore (Rent-A-Port Energy), Power@Sea, Socofe, SRIW Environnement, and Z-Kracht. Project achieved financial close October 2016 for EUR 1.1bn total investment. Financed by 8 shareholders plus EIB and 8 commercial banks (AG Insurance, ASN Bank, Belfius, ING, KBC, KfW IPEX-Bank, Rabobank, Societe Generale). This entry records the JV formation / financial close milestone; no external stake sale took place.
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2018-Q4→2018-Q4 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2018-Q4, unchanged)
Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day
309 MW contracted — concession
● Concession · Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank)
Price€129.8/MWh ·Capacity309 MWAwardedJun 2009Term20 yrs
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing42≈42 turbines + 1 platform expected · 1 fewer than expected — a position the survey missed
Surveyed2026-09-01≈from 120 satellite passes
Built2017-04 → 2018-Q4offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed42 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortPort of Ostend ◆installation and om
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (42)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationMOG / Modular Offshore Grid·220 kV · in service 2019 · owner Elia (Belgian TSO) · also serves Northwester 2, SeaMade (Seastar 252 MW + Mermaid 235 MW)
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
Sources & verification
16/17 fields verified · rests on 13 sources (10 primary) · ◆ 4 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator10
[1]
[2]
[3]
[4]
[5]
Belgian Offshore Platform2025
“Rentel: 309 MW, 42 turbines, monopile foundations, water depth 22 to 36 meters, distance from shore 34 km, surface area 22.72 km2. The Rentel turbines are operational and produce green energy since 20…”
supportsCommercial operationWater depthDistance from shore
[8]
[9]
[10]
[11]
[12]
Jan De Nul
“Building works started early 2018. Later that year, production started to supply green power to approximately 300,000 Belgian households every year.”
supportsFirst power
Auction results1
[14]
RBINS / MUMM (Brabant, Degraer & Rumes, 2011 — Offshore wind farms in the Belgian part of the North Sea, ch. 2)2011◆ rbins-mumm-2011-belgian-owf-ch2
Table 1, "Overview of the dates when the projects were granted a domain concession and an environmental permit": C-Power 27/06/03 · Belwind 5/6/2007 · Eldepasco 15/5/2006 · Norther 5/10/2009 · Rentel …
supportsConcession · Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank)
Trade press2
[7]
CMS Law2024◆ CMS Expert Guide - Offshore wind in Belg…
“Rentel received its domain concession on June 4, 2009 for an area between Thornton Bank and Lodewijk Bank, with a capacity of 309 MW. The Green Certificate scheme provides support for 20 years. For Re…”
supportsoperatorConsentMechanismDetailConsent granted
[13]