Norther
Belgian EEZ, ~23 km from Zeebrugge, near Dutch EEZ border. Shareholders: Elicio (50%), Eneco (25%), Diamond Generating Europe/Mitsubishi (25%).
Status
Operationallifecycle stage
Ownership
NNNorther NV — 100% ◆
Location
North Sea
Technology
Capacity
370 MW ◆
Turbines
44 × 8.4 MW ◆
Model
Mhi Vestas V164 8-4 ◆
Foundation
Monopile ◆
Site & conditions
Site rights
Seabed rights held ∴
Origination
Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) · 2009 ·
Water depth
16–33 m ◆
Distance from shore
23 km ◆
Wind speed
9.2 m/s @ 100 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake
Certificate ◆
Grid
Secured · 2019-Q1 ◆
Connection
Stevin substation, Zeebrugge (220 kV, Elia) ◆
Schedule
FID
Dec 2016 ◆
COD
May 2020 ◆
Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record
Origination · 2009-10
Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank)
- Awarded to
- Norther NV
- Basis
- integrated tender
From the auction results — the round that created the project.
JV entry · 2016-Q1
stake not disclosed
- Stake
- not disclosed
- Consideration
- not disclosed
- Announced
- 2016-Q1
- Closed
- 2016-12
- Project stage
- pre-FID
Norther NV formed as a 50/25/25 joint venture between Elicio NV (subsidiary of Nethys Group, 50%), Eneco (25%) and Diamond Generating Europe Ltd (DGE, 25%). DGE is a wholly owned UK-based subsidiary of Mitsubishi Corporation. Originally Elicio and Eneco held 50/50 before DGE acquired its 25% stake. EC approved the new ownership structure November 2016 (EU merger control clearance). Financial close achieved December 2016. Total project cost ~EUR 1.0-1.2bn (EUR ~1.0bn project finance package; JPY 150bn total investment reported by Mitsubishi, ~EUR 1.2bn at 2016 rates). Deal value for DGE stake entry not publicly disclosed.
Evidence
From Hafrok’s transactions record
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2019→2019→2020-05 · 3 recorded revisions · slipped +0.9 yr (first announced 2019)
Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day
370 MW contracted — concession
● Concession · Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank)
Price€124/MWh ·Capacity370 MWAwardedOct 2009Term20 yrs
Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers
Satellite installation tracker
counted from satellite radar images · a structure standing in the sea on a given date, not a turbine producing power · a guide, not a sourced fact
Installation · counted from satellite
Foundations44 of 44≈100% · first seen 2018-08-07 · 2 more than the record expects — a met mast, a platform not on the register, or a survey artefact
Turbines46 of 44≈105% · first seen 2018-08-22
Latest count2021-12-31from 891 satellite passes · 1 substation platform left out so the counts compare with the turbine number · the count has ended: the build is complete
Hafrok counts foundations and turbines from satellite radar images (≈): a structure is counted once it is seen standing in the sea, which is not the same as producing power. A structure first seen in the last 60 days is not yet confirmed, because on a single image a freshly set foundation and a ship holding position look alike. Substation platforms are left out so the counts compare with the number of turbines. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers; a supplier or contract appears only where a source states it — everything else reads “not recorded”, never guessed.
Structures standing over time · count
strong line = confirmed · light line = seen in the last 60 days, not yet confirmed · the chart counts every structure (44 turbines + 1 platform); the table counts turbines only
foundationsturbines up (a substation top being set in place counts here too)
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07≈Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass
Farm covered100%≈the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed47 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmed≈as counted on 2021-12-31 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortPort of Ostend ∅installation base
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (47)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary

Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationNorther OHVS·33/220 kV · in service 2019 · owner Norther NV (the wind farm project company — NOT Elia)
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
Sources & verification
16/18 fields verified · rests on 9 sources (3 primary) · ◆ 6 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator3
[1]
Belgian Offshore Platform2016-12-19◆ Belgium's largest offshore wind turbine …
“50% Elicio, 25% Eneco and 25% Diamond Generating Europe comprise the partnership responsible for developing and operating the wind park. Financial close date: 19 December 2016. The installation compri…”
supportsoperatorFinal investment decisionTurbinesModelUnit capacity+2 more
[3]
Green Giraffe Advisory2020-05-27◆ Norther reaches technical completion and…
“On 27th May 2020 the Norther offshore wind farm officially transitioned to its operational phase as it reached technical completion. Norther is owned by three shareholders: Elicio NV holds 50%, with E…”
supportsCommercial operationCOD history
[12]
Norther NV2026-08-23◆ Norther NV - Shareholders
“Elicio NV is a 50% shareholder, via its fully owned vehicle Elnu NV. Elicio, a 100% subsidiary of Nethys, is a Belgian developer and operator of offshore and onshore wind farms. ... Eneco is a 50% sha…”
supports↳ parent
Financier1
[10]
European Investment Bank2016-05-18
“By virtue of its technical characteristics the project would fall under Annex II of the Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) Directive (2011/92/EU, amended 2014/52/EU), where the national authorities…”
supportsConsentConsent granted
Auction results1
[13]
RBINS / MUMM (Brabant, Degraer & Rumes, 2011 — Offshore wind farms in the Belgian part of the North Sea, ch. 2)2011◆ rbins-mumm-2011-belgian-owf-ch2
Table 1, "Overview of the dates when the projects were granted a domain concession and an environmental permit": C-Power 27/06/03 · Belwind 5/6/2007 · Eldepasco 15/5/2006 · Norther 5/10/2009 · Rentel …
supportsConcession · Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank)
Trade press4
[2]
[5]
[8]
IEA (citing Belgian Royal Decree)2018-01◆ Green Certificate Scheme - Federal – Pol…
“LCOE = 138 EUR/MWh (129,80 EUR/MWh for installations covered by the domanial concession granted to Rentel SA/NV, 124,00 EUR/MWh for installations covered by the domanial concession granted to Norther …”
supportsMechanismDetail
[11]