Northwind

Lodewijkbank, 37 km from Zeebrugge. Originally developed by Eldepasco (Parkwind). Aspiravi Offshore acquired 70% March 2024; Sumitomo retained 30%.

Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record

2006’07’08’09’10’11’12’13’14’15’16’17’18’19’20’21’22’23’24’25’26View the source for Consent grantedConsent granted May 2006 Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) — awarded to Eldepasco NVBelgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) May 2006 · auction recordView the source for Final investment decisionFinal investment decision Jun 2012 View the source for Offshore constructionOffshore construction 2013 View the source for Commercial operationCommercial operation 2014-Q2 Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) — awarded to Eldepasco NV 2006-05 ORIGINATIONTransfer(s) not in Hafrok's record — shown as a gap, never guessed. UNRECORDEDColruyt Group / Korys / PMV → Parkwind — stake not disclosed · closed 2012-Q2 2012-Q1 MERGERParkwind → Sumitomo Corporation — 30.0% · closed 2014-10 2013-07 FARMDOWNParkwind (Virya Energy / Colruyt Group) → Parkwind (JERA) — 30.0% · closed 2023-07 2023-03 MERGERParkwind (JERA) → Aspiravi Offshore — 30.0% 2024-03 DIVESTMENTTransfer(s) not in Hafrok's record — shown as a gap, never guessed. UNRECORDEDTODAYEldepasco NV Eldepasco NV Eldepasco NV not among today’s recorded owners — no sale recordedColruyt Group Colruyt Group Colruyt Group exited 2012-Q1Korys Korys Korys exited 2012-Q1PMV PMV PMV exited 2012-Q1Parkwind (Virya Energy / Colruyt Group) Parkwind Parkwind exited 2024-03Sumitomo Corporation Sumitomo Corporation Sumitomo Corporation exited 2013-07Aspiravi Offshore Aspiravi Offshore Aspiravi Offshore exited 2024-03Northwind NV — 100% today · operator Northwind NV Northwind NV 100%Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank) — awarded to Eldepasco NV Transfer(s) not in Hafrok's record — shown as a gap, never guessed. Transfer(s) not in Hafrok's record — shown as a gap, never guessed. Transfer(s) not in Hafrok's record — shown as a gap, never guessed. Colruyt Group / Korys / PMV → Parkwind — stake not disclosed · closed 2012-Q2 Colruyt Group / Korys / PMV → Parkwind — stake not disclosed · closed 2012-Q2 Colruyt Group / Korys / PMV → Parkwind — stake not disclosed · closed 2012-Q2 Parkwind → Sumitomo Corporation — 30.0% · closed 2014-10 30%Parkwind (Virya Energy / Colruyt Group) → Parkwind (JERA) — 30.0% · closed 2023-07 Parkwind (JERA) → Aspiravi Offshore — 30.0% 30%Transfer(s) not in Hafrok's record — shown as a gap, never guessed.
Dashed tick marks today (9 Sep 2026). The teal diamond on the spine is origination — the seabed award or round that created the project. Every other ownership event lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced-COD history: 2014-Q22014-Q2 · 2 recorded revisions · held (announced 2014-Q2, unchanged)

Revenue & offtake contract duration and price levels · money of the day

216 MW contracted — concession
Concession · Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank)
Price€107/MWh ·Capacity216 MWAwardedMay 2006
Term20 yrs

Installation how the build is going · from satellite counts and Hafrok’s registers

Satellite survey
the farm as it stands, counted from satellite radar images · built before the count began, so there is no build to chart
Satellite survey
Structures standing7072 turbines + 1 platform expected · 3 fewer than expected — a position the survey missed
Surveyed2026-09-01from 120 satellite passes
Built2013 → 2014-Q2offshore construction to start of operation, from the record
Hafrok counts the structures standing in the sea from satellite radar images (≈) and reads the count against the turbines and platforms on record. The farm was built before this count began, so the images show it complete; they cannot date its construction. Rows marked with a dot (·) come from Hafrok’s own registers.
Satellite image
Image taken2026-09-07Copernicus Sentinel-1 radar satellite, northbound pass
Farm covered100%the whole farm lies inside the image
Structures ringed70 confirmed · 0 not yet confirmedas counted on 2026-09-01 · the image is newer than the count, so a bright spot without a ring may be a structure not yet counted
Construction ports
PortPort of Ostend installation base
Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2026, processed by ESA and by Microsoft Planetary Computer.
Latest satellite radar image · 2026-09-07
a radar picture, not a photograph: the sea is dark, steel is bright · black is beyond the edge of the image
confirmed structure (70)seen recently, not yet confirmed (0)probably a substation platform (a larger structure than a turbine; the register above has the facts)farm boundary
Satellite radar image over Northwind, 2026-09-07
Grid connection
from Hafrok’s substation, converter and cable registers
Offshore platforms · 1
Offshore substationNorthwind OHVS·220 kV · in service 2014 · owner Northwind (the wind farm project company — NOT Elia)
Grid connection · ready in time?
when each part of the grid connection is due, against the start date the developer states (black line) · a bar spans the whole year, quarter or month the source gives
installed or in serviceexpected deliveryearlier date that was later moved
2014201520162017201820192020202120222023202420252026developer’s stated start 2014-Q2nowNorthwind OHVSNorthwind OHVSin service 2014in service 2014

Sources & verification

17/18 fields verified · rests on 13 sources (3 primary) · ◆ 6 documents held
VerifiedModelledSourcedInferredConventionUnverifiedNo source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Operator2
[1]
Aspiravi2024-03-19◆ Aspiravi Offshore acquires 70% of shares…
“Aspiravi Offshore acquires 70% of shares in offshore wind farm Northwind. Aspiravi Offshore, which was already the main shareholder with 40% of the shares of Northwind, was able to exercise its pre-em…”
supportsoperator↳ parent
[8]
JERA Nex bp Parkwind2024
“Northwind: 216 MW, 72 turbines, 37 km from shore in the Belgian North Sea, operational since 2014. Since March 2024, Northwind has been jointly owned by Aspiravi Offshore and Sumitomo Corporation. Par…”
supportsTurbinesTotal capacityDistance from shore
Financier1
[3]
European Investment Bank2012-06-27◆ Belgium: EUR 333 million for Northwind o…
“Northwind NV announced the formal financial close with all key stakeholders and banks on 27 June 2012. The EIB has approved EUR 333 million in non-recourse project finance loans for the construction o…”
supportsFinal investment decisionTotal capacityDistance from shore
Auction results1
[14]
RBINS / MUMM (Brabant, Degraer & Rumes, 2011 — Offshore wind farms in the Belgian part of the North Sea, ch. 2)2011◆ rbins-mumm-2011-belgian-owf-ch2
Table 1, "Overview of the dates when the projects were granted a domain concession and an environmental permit": C-Power 27/06/03 · Belwind 5/6/2007 · Eldepasco 15/5/2006 · Norther 5/10/2009 · Rentel …
supportsConcession · Belgian offshore wind zone — domain concessions (Thornton Bank–Bligh Bank)
Trade press9
[4]
Offshore Wind Biz2012-06-29
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacityDistance from shore
[5]
Offshore Wind Biz2013-08-21
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsOffshore constructionFoundationWater depthinstallation base
[6]
Energy Solutions B.V.2014
“72 wind turbines from manufacturer Vestas (type V112), total output 216 MW (72 × 3 MW each). Turbines installed on monopole foundations in waters between 16–29 metres deep. Situated approximately 37 k…”
supportsTurbinesModelUnit capacityFoundationStatus+4 more
[7]
Belgian Offshore Platform2024
“Northwind: 216 MW, 72 (3MW) turbines, water depth 16–29 m, 37 km from shore, 14.5 km², operational since 2014. The third project of the Belgian North Sea and the second Parkwind project.”
supportsTurbinesUnit capacityTotal capacityWater depthDistance from shore
[9]
CMS Law2024◆ CMS Expert Guide - Offshore wind in Belg…
“Offshore wind farms with financial close prior to 1 May 2014 can sell their Green Certificates to the TSO at a fixed minimum price of EUR 107 per MWh for the electricity that is generated from the fir…”
supportsMechanismDetail
[10]
International Energy Agency2024◆ Green Certificate Scheme - Federal – Pol…
“EUR 107/MWh for offshore wind energy (for installations with a financial close before 1/5/2014) for the first 216 MW per concession. The scheme operates through green certificates issued by the federa…”
supportsMechanismDetail
[11]
Offshore Energy2014-11
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsBackground
[12]
CMS Law2024◆ CMS Expert Guide - Offshore wind in Belg…
“NORTHWIND [...] Domain concession date: 15 May 2006 [...] Capacity: 216 MW [...] Start of operation: May 2014 ... The table below provides an overview of domain concessions for offshore wind farms tha…”
supportsConsentCommercial operationCOD historyConsent granted
[13]
DTU Wind Energy / World Bank (Global Wind Atlas)2026
supportsMean wind speed