---
title: "Salamander"
source: https://hafrok.com/projects/uk-salamander/
identifier: uk-salamander
updated: 2026-10-13
---

# Salamander

Source: https://hafrok.com/projects/uk-salamander/  
Data as of: 2026-10-13

Test & Demonstration. 35km off Peterhead. 6-7 WTGs on Deepsea Star semi-submersible foundations. Odfjell acquired Ørsted's 80% stake August 2025.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Country | United Kingdom |
| Sea basin | North Sea |
| Capacity | 100 MW |
| Turbines | 7 |
| Lifecycle stage | Advanced Development |
| Owners | Odfjell Oceanwind · Simply Blue Group · Subsea7 |
| Coordinates | 57.5196, -1.6885 |
| Commercial operation (announced) | 2030 |
| Commercial operation (Hafrok's expected year) | 2030 (range 2029–2032) |
| Chance of delivery | Expected (weight 0.745) |

## Milestones

- **Consent applied** — 2024-04-26 (achieved)
- **Consent granted** — 2025-07-24 (achieved)
- **Commercial operation** — 2030 (expected)

## Offtake

No offtake secured — route to market open


## Sources

Every figure above traces to one of these. Quoted passages are held but not republished; follow the link for the original wording.

- unknown, date not stated — https://salamanderfloatingwind.com/
- unknown, date not stated — https://renews.biz/107389/floating-wind-lands-1925mw-in-cfd7/
- NESO, 2026-06-12 — https://api.neso.energy/dataset/cbd45e54-e6e2-4a38-99f1-8de6fd96d7c1/resource/17becbab-e3e8-473f-b303-3806f43a6a10/download/tec-register-12-june-2026.csv
- Marine Scotland, 2025-07-24 — https://marine.gov.scot/?q=ml/section-36-consent-construction-and-operation-generating-station-and-offshore-transmission
- Offshore Wind Scotland, 2025-07-24 — https://www.offshorewindscotland.org.uk/news/2025/july/24/salamander-floating-wind-project-consented-by-scottish-ministers/
- Offshore Wind Biz, 2025-08-26 — https://www.offshorewind.biz/2025/08/26/odfjell-oceanwind-acquires-orsteds-majority-share-in-scottish-floating-wind-project/
- Ørsted A/S, 2023-02 — https://cdn.orsted.com/-/media/2022-annual-report/orsted-annual-report-2022.pdf
- offshoreWIND.biz, 2025-08 — https://www.offshorewind.biz/2025/08/26/odfjell-oceanwind-acquires-orsteds-majority-share-in-scottish-floating-wind-project/
- offshoreWIND.biz, 2025 — https://www.offshorewind.biz/2025/07/24/scottish-govt-grants-go-ahead-for-100-mw-salamander-floating-wind-farm/
- Salamander (developer), 2025 — https://salamanderfloatingwind.com/faqs/
- Global Energy Monitor, 2026-07-02 — https://www.gem.wiki/Salamander_Floating_Offshore_wind_farm
- GEBCO Compilation Group, 2020 — https://www.gebco.net/data_and_products/gridded_bathymetry_data/
- DTU Wind Energy / World Bank (Global Wind Atlas), 2026 — https://globalwindatlas.info/
- Department for Energy Security and Net Zero, 2026-05-06 — https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/media/69fc56908cc72d2f863ea58d/REPD_publication_Q1_2026.csv
- National Energy System Operator (NESO), 2026-07-21 — https://api.neso.energy/dataset/cbd45e54-e6e2-4a38-99f1-8de6fd96d7c1/resource/17becbab-e3e8-473f-b303-3806f43a6a10/download/tec-register-21-july-2026.csv
- Scottish Government Marine Directorate (MD-LOT), 2026-08-23 — https://marine.gov.scot/?q=marine-projects
- DESNZ (gov.uk), 2026 — https://www.gov.uk/government/collections/contracts-for-difference-cfd-allocation-round-8

---

Hafrok · https://hafrok.com/projects/uk-salamander/ · please cite the page you took a figure from.
