---
title: "Kincardine"
source: https://hafrok.com/projects/uk-kincardine/
identifier: uk-kincardine
updated: 2026-10-13
---

# Kincardine

Source: https://hafrok.com/projects/uk-kincardine/  
Data as of: 2026-10-13

World's first commercial-scale floating OWF. Principle Power WindFloat semi-submersible foundations. Array includes 5 × V164-9.5 MW + 1 × V80-2 MW pilot.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Country | United Kingdom |
| Sea basin | North Sea |
| Capacity | 50 MW |
| Turbines | 6 |
| Lifecycle stage | Operational |
| Owners | Kincardine Offshore Windfarm Ltd |
| Coordinates | 56.9973, -1.8738 |
| Commercial operation (announced) | 2021-10 |

## Milestones

- **Consent applied** — 2016-03-23 (achieved)
- **Consent granted** — 2017-03-07 (achieved)
- **First power** — 2018 (achieved)
- **Offshore construction** — 2018-08-16 (achieved)
- **Final investment decision** — 2020 (achieved)
- **Commercial operation** — 2021-10 (achieved)

## Offtake

Offtake regime on record


## Sources

Every figure above traces to one of these. Quoted passages are held but not republished; follow the link for the original wording.

- Marine Scotland, 2017-03-07 — https://marine.gov.scot/sites/default/files/00515044.pdf
- Principle Power, 2021-10-19 — https://www.principlepower.com/news/kowl-worlds-largest-floating-windfarm-fully-operational
- Statkraft, 2021-09 — https://www.statkraft.co.uk/newsroom/2021/statkraft-helps-worlds-largest-floating-wind-farm-find-its-customers/
- Cobra Group (ACS), 2019-01-11 — https://www.grupocobra.com/en/cobra-installs-the-first-turbine-of-what-will-become-the-largest-floating-technology-marine-wind-farm-in-the-world/
- The Courier (Dundee), 2018 — https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/business-environment/business/698841/video-this-huge-offshore-wind-turbine-has-been-assembled-at-the-port-of-dundee/
- unknown, date not stated — https://www.gem.wiki/Kincardine_Offshore_wind_farm
- offshoreWIND.biz, 2018-08-17 — https://www.offshorewind.biz/2018/08/17/first-kincardine-floating-wind-turbine-sets-off/
- offshoreWIND.biz, 2018-10-30 — https://www.offshorewind.biz/2018/10/30/cobra-announces-9-6mw-units-as-kincardine-floater-starts-delivering-power/
- DTU Wind Energy / World Bank (Global Wind Atlas), 2026 — https://globalwindatlas.info/
- Department for Energy Security and Net Zero, 2026-05-06 — https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/media/69fc56908cc72d2f863ea58d/REPD_publication_Q1_2026.csv
- National Energy System Operator (NESO), 2026-07-21 — https://api.neso.energy/dataset/cbd45e54-e6e2-4a38-99f1-8de6fd96d7c1/resource/17becbab-e3e8-473f-b303-3806f43a6a10/download/tec-register-21-july-2026.csv
- Scottish Government Marine Directorate (MD-LOT), 2026-08-23 — https://marine.gov.scot/?q=marine-projects
- Companies House, 2023-10-16 — https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/SC475345/filing-history/MzM5NTkxNjMyN2FkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0
- Companies House, date not stated — https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/SC475345/persons-with-significant-control

---

Hafrok · https://hafrok.com/projects/uk-kincardine/ · please cite the page you took a figure from.
