---
title: "Green Volt"
source: https://hafrok.com/projects/uk-green-volt/
identifier: uk-green-volt
updated: 2026-10-13
---

# Green Volt

Source: https://hafrok.com/projects/uk-green-volt/  
Data as of: 2026-10-13

INTOG TOG category. Off Aberdeenshire coast. Will provide power to offshore oil & gas platforms and UK grid. Reduce emissions by 1Mt CO2/yr.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Country | United Kingdom |
| Sea basin | North Sea |
| Capacity | 560 MW |
| Turbines | 35 |
| Lifecycle stage | Advanced Development |
| Owners | Flotation Energy · Vårgrønn |
| Coordinates | 57.8846, -0.6977 |
| Commercial operation (announced) | 2029 |
| Commercial operation (Hafrok's expected year) | 2029 (range 2028–2031) |
| Chance of delivery | Expected (weight 0.808) |

## Milestones

- **Consent applied** — 2023-01-20 (achieved)
- **Consent granted** — 2024-04-19 (achieved)
- **Commercial operation** — 2029 (expected)

## Offtake

CfD-backed offtake

- **CfD · AR6** — £139.93/MWh · 2012 real · CPI-indexed · awarded 2024-09 · 15-year term

## Sources

Every figure above traces to one of these. Quoted passages are held but not republished; follow the link for the original wording.

- unknown, date not stated — https://greenvoltoffshorewind.com/
- unknown, date not stated — https://www.offshorewindscotland.org.uk/news/2024/april/22/green-volt-largest-commercial-floating-wind-farm-receives-planning-consent/
- NESO, 2026-06-12 — https://api.neso.energy/dataset/cbd45e54-e6e2-4a38-99f1-8de6fd96d7c1/resource/17becbab-e3e8-473f-b303-3806f43a6a10/download/tec-register-12-june-2026.csv
- Marine Scotland, 2024-04-19 — https://www.marine.gov.scot/ml/section-36-consent-green-volt-offshore-windfarm-east-aberdeenshire-coast
- DESNZ, 2024-09-03 — https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/media/66d6ad7c6eb664e57141db4b/Contracts_for_Difference_Allocation_Round_6_results.pdf
- Offshore Wind Scotland, 2024-04-22 — https://www.offshorewindscotland.org.uk/news/2024/april/22/green-volt-largest-commercial-floating-wind-farm-receives-planning-consent/
- Flotation Energy, 2024-12-16 — https://flotationenergy.com/vargronn-and-flotation-energy-award-feed-contracts-advancing-pioneering-green-volt-floating-wind-project/
- Green Volt, 2025 — https://greenvoltoffshorewind.com/project-overview/
- Wikipedia, 2026 — https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Green_Volt_offshore_wind_farm
- Global Energy Monitor, 2026-07-02 — https://www.gem.wiki/Green_Volt_floating_offshore_wind_farm
- GEBCO Compilation Group, 2020 — https://www.gebco.net/data_and_products/gridded_bathymetry_data/
- Crown Estate Scotland (open data, ArcGIS), 2026-04-17 — https://services3.arcgis.com/nGV4jiurzcahJ9LV/arcgis/rest/services/
- DTU Wind Energy / World Bank (Global Wind Atlas), 2026 — https://globalwindatlas.info/
- Department for Energy Security and Net Zero, 2026-05-06 — https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/media/69fc56908cc72d2f863ea58d/REPD_publication_Q1_2026.csv
- National Energy System Operator (NESO), 2026-07-21 — https://api.neso.energy/dataset/cbd45e54-e6e2-4a38-99f1-8de6fd96d7c1/resource/17becbab-e3e8-473f-b303-3806f43a6a10/download/tec-register-21-july-2026.csv
- Scottish Government Marine Directorate (MD-LOT), 2026-08-23 — https://marine.gov.scot/?q=marine-projects
- reNEWS, 2026-09-09 — https://www.renews.biz/offshore-wind/podcast-how-kincardine-is-paving-the-way-for-green-volt/
- DESNZ (gov.uk), 2024-09 — https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/media/66d6ad7c6eb664e57141db4b/Contracts_for_Difference_Allocation_Round_6_results.pdf

---

Hafrok · https://hafrok.com/projects/uk-green-volt/ · please cite the page you took a figure from.
